Union Of India And Ors. vs 684783 Ex Hfo Brij Kishor Tripathi

Court
Delhi High Court
Case type
Writ Petition Civil
Decided on
01-04-2026
<div> <i> </i><br /> $~74 <br /> * <b>IN THE HIGH COURT OF DELHI AT NEW DELHI</b> <br /> % <i>Date of Decision: 01.04.2026 </i><br /> + W.P.(C) 4187/2026 <br /> UNION OF INDIA AND ORS. .....Petitioners <br /> Through: Ms. Arunima Dwivedi CGSC with <br /> Ms. Swati Jhunjhunwala, Ms. <br /> Monalisha Pradhan, Advs. Sgt Padam <br /> Charan IAF. <br /> <br /> versus <br /> <br /> 684783 EX HFO BRIJ KISHOR TRIPATHI .....Respondent <br /> Through: Mr. Manoj Kr. Gupta, Ms. Esha <br /> Mehrotra and Ms. Devangana <br /> Sharma, Advs. <br /> <br /> <b>CORAM:</b> <br /> <b>HON&#x27;BLE MR. JUSTICE V. KAMESWAR RAO</b> <br /> <b>HON&#x27;BLE MS. JUSTICE MANMEET PRITAM SINGH ARORA </b><br /> <br /> <b>MANMEET PRITAM SINGH ARORA, J. (</b> <b><i>ORAL</i></b> <b>)</b> <br /> <br /> <b>CM APPL. 20450/2026 </b><br /> 1. Exemption is allowed, subject to all just exceptions. <br /> 2. The application stands disposed of. <br /> <b>W.P.(C) 4187/2026 &amp; CM APPL. 20449/2026 </b><br /> <br /> 3. This is a writ petition filed under Article 226 of the Constitution of <br /> India against the order dated 11.04.2023 [‘impugned order’] passed by the <br /> Armed Forces Tribunal Principal Bench, New Delhi [‘Tribunal’] in Original <br /> Application [‘O.A.’] No. 1265 of 2021 titled as <b>(684783) EX HFO Brij </b><br /> <b>Kishor Tripathi v. Union of India and Ors.,</b> whereby the Respondent has <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:MOHIT<br /> Signing<br /> Date:07.04.2026 17:58<br /> <i>W.P. (C) 4187/2026 </i> <i>Page 1 of 9 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <i> </i><br /> been granted the benefit of the disability element of pension for Primary <br /> Hypertension and Diabetes Mellitus Type-2 compositely assessed, by <br /> Release Medical Board [‘RMB’] at 40% rounded off to 50% for life, from <br /> the date of his discharge. <b> </b><br /> 4. The facts giving rise to the present petition are that the Respondent, <br /> who was enrolled in the Indian Air Force [‘IAF’] on 18.06.1983, was <br /> discharged in low medical category [‘LMC’] A4G4 (P) after rendering a <br /> total of 37 years of regular service. <br /> 5. The RMB held on 01.10.2019 assessed the disabilities, i.e., (i) <br /> Primary Hypertension at 30% for life and (ii) Diabetes Mellitus Type-2 at <br /> 20%, compositely assessed at 40% for life. <br /> The RMB opined that since Primary Hypertension was ‘onset in the <br /> peace station’, i.e., Chhabua and Diabetes Mellitus Type-2 was ‘a metabolic <br /> disease’ and the ‘onset of the disease’ in the peace station, i.e., Thane. <br /> Therefore, it held that the aforesaid disabilities are neither attributable to nor <br /> aggravated [‘NANA’] by the military service. <br /> 6. The Respondent’s claim of disability pension was rejected by the <br /> Petitioners vide letter dated 31.03.2020, as the disability was held to be <br /> NANA. Thereafter, the Respondent preferred a First Appeal on 23.10.2020, <br /> which was rejected. <br /> 7. Pursuant thereto, the Respondent filed O.A. No. 1265 of 2021 before <br /> the Tribunal for the grant of disability element of pension. <br /> Vide the impugned order, the Tribunal, after referring to the <br /> judgments of the Supreme Court in <b>Dharamvir Singh v. Union of India </b><br /> <b>1</b> <b>2</b><br /> <b>and Ors</b> . <b> </b> and <b>Union of India v. Ram Avtar</b> allowed the O.A. and granted <br /> <br /> 1<br /> 2013 (7) SCC 361 <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:MOHIT<br /> Signing<br /> Date:07.04.2026 17:58<br /> <i>W.P. (C) 4187/2026 </i> <i>Page 2 of 9 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <i> </i><br /> the relief of disability pension to the Respondent. <br /> 8. The submission made by the learned counsel for the Petitioners is that <br /> the reliance placed by the Tribunal on the judgment of <b>Dharamvir Singh v. </b><br /> <b>Union of </b> India <b> and Ors</b> . (supra) is totally misplaced as in the said case the <br /> Supreme Court was concerned with the Entitlement Rules for Casualty <br /> Pensionary Awards, 1982 [‘Entitlement Rules, 1982’], whereas the case of <br /> the Respondent needs to be considered under the Entitlement Rules for <br /> Casualty Pensionary Awards to Armed Forces Personnel, 2008 [‘Entitlement <br /> Rules, 2008’]. <br /> 8.1. She contends that the Tribunal has overlooked the Entitlement Rules, <br /> 2008, which govern attributability and aggravation and no longer permit a <br /> blanket presumption in favour of the claimant/officer; and since the RMB <br /> has opined the diseases to be NANA, the Tribunal could not have presumed <br /> a causal connection between the diseases and the service. <br /> 8.2. She states in the facts of this case that the Respondent was discharged <br /> on 31.08.2020, and therefore, the Respondent would be governed by the <br /> Entitlement Rules, 2008. <br /> 8.3. She states that the impugned order incorrectly applies the presumption <br /> under the repealed Entitlement Rules, 1982, ignoring the amended regime <br /> under Entitlement Rules, 2008. She states that the Entitlement Rules, 2008, <br /> have done away with the general presumption to be drawn to ascertain the <br /> principle of ‘attributable to or aggravated by military service’. <br /> 8.4. She has handed over a copy of the RMB, which is directed to be taken <br /> on record. <br /> 9. We have heard the learned counsel for the Petitioners and perused the <br /> <br /> 2<br /> 2014 SCC OnLine SC 1761 <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:MOHIT<br /> Signing<br /> Date:07.04.2026 17:58<br /> <i>W.P. (C) 4187/2026 </i> <i>Page 3 of 9 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <i> </i><br /> record. Since the Respondent was discharged from service on 31.08.2020, <br /> his claim would be governed by the Entitlement Rules 2008. <br /> 10. In another petition, i.e., W.P.(C) 88/2026 titled <b> Union of India v. </b><br /> <b>781466 Ex. SGT Krishna Kumar Dwivedi</b> , decided by this Bench on <br /> 06.01.2026, our attention was drawn to the authoritative judgments of the <br /> coordinate Benches of this Court passed in W.P.(C) 3545/2025 titled <b>Union </b><br /> <b>3</b><br /> <b>of India v. Ex. Sub Gawas Anil Madso</b> and W.P.(C) 140/2024 titled <br /> <b>Union of India vs. Col. Balbir Singh (Retd.</b> ) <b>and other connected </b><br /> <b>4</b><br /> <b>matters</b> <b>,</b> which have conclusively held that even under Entitlement Rules, <br /> 2008 an officer, who suffers from a disease at the time of his release and <br /> applies for disability pension within fifteen [15] years from release of <br /> service, is ordinarily entitled to disability pension and he does not have any <br /> onus to prove the said entitlement. The said judgments emphatically hold <br /> that even under the Entitlement Rules, 2008, the onus to prove a causal <br /> connection between the disability and military service is not on the officer <br /> but on the administration. The Entitlement Rules, 2008, however, <br /> contemplate that in the event the Medical Board concludes that the disease, <br /> though contracted during the tenure of military service, was NANA by <br /> military service, it would have to give cogent reasons and identify the cause, <br /> other than military service, to which the ailment or disability can be <br /> attributed. The said judgments hold that a bald statement in the report of the <br /> Medical Board opining ‘onset in peace station’ would not be sufficient for <br /> the military department to deny the claim of disability pension; and rejected <br /> the opinions of the Medical Board. The said judgments hold that the burden <br /> to prove the disentitlement of pension therefore remains on the military <br /> <br /> 3<br /> 2025: DHC: 2021-DB <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:MOHIT<br /> Signing<br /> Date:07.04.2026 17:58<br /> <i>W.P. (C) 4187/2026 </i> <i>Page 4 of 9 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <i> </i><br /> department even under the Entitlement Rules, 2008, and emphasise the <br /> significance of the Medical Board giving specific reasons to justify their <br /> opinion for denial of this beneficial provision to the officer. <br /> 11. On the issue of establishing a causal connection of the disease with <br /> factors <i>other</i> than military service, we also note that the Supreme Court in <br /> <b>5</b><br /> its recent judgment in the case of <b>Bijender Singh vs. Union of India</b> <b> </b> has <br /> reiterated that it is incumbent upon the Medical Board to furnish reasons for <br /> opining that a disease is NANA and the burden to prove the causal <br /> connection [as other than military service] is on the Military Establishment. <b> </b><br /> The requirement of reasons to be recorded by the Medical Board has <br /> been succinctly explained by the Supreme Court in another recent decision <br /> <b>6</b><br /> of <b>Rajumon T.M. v. Union of India</b> <b>.</b> The Supreme Court held that merely <br /> stating an opinion, such as ‘Constitutional Personality Disorder’, without <br /> giving reasons or causative factors to support such an opinion, is an <br /> unreasoned medical opinion and thus invalid. The Supreme Court explained <br /> that the said opinion of the Medical Board was merely a conclusion and <br /> would not qualify as a reasoned opinion for holding the disease/disability to <br /> be NANA. <br /> 12. In this background of settled law holding that the onus to prove <br /> disentitlement remains on the military establishment even vis-à-vis the <br /> Entitlement Rules, 2008 regime and the Medical Board must give cogent <br /> reasons for denying attributability and aggravation of the disease, we have <br /> examined the facts of this case. <br /> 13. The Respondent was enrolled in the IAF on 18.06.1983, and the <br /> <br /> 4<br /> 2025: DHC: 5082-DB <br /> 5<br /> 2025 SCC OnLine SC 895 [Paragraphs 45.1, 46 and 47] <br /> 6<br /> 2025 SCC OnLine SC 1064 [Paragraphs 25, 26, 32 and 36] <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:MOHIT<br /> Signing<br /> Date:07.04.2026 17:58<br /> <i>W.P. (C) 4187/2026 </i> <i>Page 5 of 9 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <i> </i><br /> disease Primary Hypertension was discovered in the year 2006 [after 23 <br /> years of service], and Diabetes Mellitus Type-2 was discovered in 2014 <br /> [after 31 years of service], while he was serving and therefore, the diseases <br /> have indisputably arisen during his military service. <br /> 14. The Petitioners have raised the issue of non-entitlement of the <br /> disability element of the pension, on the ground that RMB has held that the <br /> disease(s) is NANA by the military service. The opinion rendered by the <br /> RMB is extracted as under: - <br /> <br /> <br /> The RMB has classified the disease(s) as NANA, on the common <br /> ground that their onset occurred in a peace area and for diabetes it is <br /> additionally stated that the same is a metabolic disease, and hence, the <br /> diseases were not attributable to any stress or exigency of military service. <br /> 15. The reason ‘onset of peace’ have been specifically rejected by the <br /> <b>7</b><br /> coordinate Bench of this Court in <b>Col. Balbir Singh (Retd.)</b> (supra) in the <br /> context of the Entitlement Rules, 2008, while similarly granting disability <br /> <br /> 7<br /> At paragraph nos. 66 to 74 <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:MOHIT<br /> Signing<br /> Date:07.04.2026 17:58<br /> <i>W.P. (C) 4187/2026 </i> <i>Page 6 of 9 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <i> </i><br /> pension to the officer suffering therein from Primary Hypertension. The said <br /> reason has been expressly held to be an invalid ground for denying <br /> attributability to the military service. The Division Bench in the said <br /> decision, after taking note of Regulation 423(a) of the Regulations for the <br /> Medical Services of the Armed Forces, 2010, held that the fact that the <br /> disability occurred in normal peace conditions is immaterial and by itself is <br /> not sufficient to deny disability pension to the officer. <br /> The ground ‘onset in peace’ is thus an invalid ground and cannot be <br /> relied upon by the petitioner to opine NANA. <br /> 16. Additionally, with regard to the reasoning of the RMB in opining the <br /> disease Diabetes Mellitus Type-2 as a metabolic disease, the Medical Board <br /> has failed to enlist the causative factors that lead to the conclusion that the <br /> disease is a metabolic disease and not caused by military service. The <br /> opinion ‘metabolic disease’ in the absence of the causative factors is not <br /> sufficient to deny attributability as held in <b>Union of India v. Ex. Sub </b><br /> <b>8</b><br /> <b>Gawas Anil Madso</b> <b> </b> (supra). <br /> It is pertinent to note that the RMB herein categorically recorded in <br /> response to question no. 2 (a) and (b) at page 8 of the RMB, that the <br /> disability is not attributable or aggravated to the officer’s own negligence or <br /> misconduct. Thus, the conclusion in the RMB that the disease is ‘metabolic <br /> disease’ is therefore contradictory and bereft of reasons, required from the <br /> Medical Board. <br /> 17. No other ground has been cited in the RMB report of the Respondent <br /> for opining NANA. <br /> In these facts, since no other causal connection has been found to <br /> <br /> 8<br /> At paragraph nos. 82 to 84.<br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:MOHIT<br /> Signing<br /> Date:07.04.2026 17:58<br /> <i>W.P. (C) 4187/2026 </i> <i>Page 7 of 9 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <i> </i><br /> exist by the RMB, for the disease(s), we agree with the Tribunal that the <br /> claim of disability pension has been wrongly rejected by the Military <br /> establishment, and the officer has been rightly held entitled to disability <br /> pension as it is attributable to/or aggravated by the military services. <br /> 18. In view of the aforesaid findings, the Petitioners’ challenge to the <br /> grant of disability element of pension to the Respondent is without any <br /> merit. The Respondent has been rightly held to be entitled to the disability <br /> pension under the Entitlement Rules, 2008, by the Tribunal in the impugned <br /> order. <br /> 19. We also note that in exercise of the certiorari jurisdiction of this Court <br /> over the decision of the Tribunal, the limited parameters of the jurisdiction <br /> 9<br /> are delineated in the judgment of <b>Syed Yakoob v. K.S. Radhakrishnan</b> . <br /> We have examined the impugned order within the said parameters and find <br /> no ground to interfere with the impugned order. <br /> 20. Additionally, we note that the impugned order is dated 11.04.2023, <br /> and the petition has been filed after more than three [3] years, without any <br /> explanation for such a delay. The Petitioners were obligated to comply with <br /> the impugned order of the Tribunal within three [3] months, and it appears <br /> from the record that the Petitioners have not complied with the said order. <br /> The Petitioners ought to have approached this Court immediately and cannot <br /> elect to sleep over compliance with the impugned order of the Tribunal. <br /> Such conduct of the Petitioners shows abject disregard for the legal process. <br /> We hold that the filing of this petition is also grossly barred by delay and <br /> laches, and ought to be dismissed on this ground alone. Nevertheless, we <br /> have decided the petition on merits to avoid any further delay by the <br /> <br /> 9<br /> 1963 SCC OnLine SC 24 [Paragraph 7 and 8] <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:MOHIT<br /> Signing<br /> Date:07.04.2026 17:58<br /> <i>W.P. (C) 4187/2026 </i> <i>Page 8 of 9 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <i> </i><br /> Petitioners in complying with the impugned order. <br /> 21. We therefore find no merit in this petition; the petition is dismissed. <br /> Pending application[s] if any is disposed of. No costs. <br /> <b> </b><br /> <b> </b><br /> <b>MANMEET PRITAM SINGH ARORA, J </b><br /> <b> </b><br /> <b> </b><br /> <b>V. KAMESWAR RAO, J </b><br /> <b>APRIL 1, 2026/aa </b><br /> <b> </b><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:MOHIT<br /> Signing<br /> Date:07.04.2026 17:58<br /> <i>W.P. (C) 4187/2026 </i> <i>Page 9 of 9 </i><br /> </div>