Union Of India And Ors vs Gp Capt Rajesh Kumar Singh Jadon (Retd)

Court
Delhi High Court
Case type
Writ Petition Civil
Decided on
23-03-2026
<div> <br /> <br /> $~77 <br /> * <b>IN THE HIGH COURT OF DELHI AT NEW DELHI</b> <br /> <br /> % <i>Date of Decision : 23.03.2026 </i><br /> <br /> + W.P.(C) 3690/2026 CM APPL. 17969/2026 CM APPL. 17970/2026 <br /> UNION OF INDIA AND ORS .....Petitioners <br /> Through: Dr. Monika Arora, CGSC, Mr. <br /> Subhrodeep Saha, Mr. Prabhat <br /> Kumar, Ms. Anamika and Mr. <br /> Abhinav Verma, Advocates <br /> <br /> versus <br /> <br /> GP CAPT RAJESH KUMAR SINGH JADON (RETD) <br /> .....Respondent <br /> Through: None <br /> <b>CORAM:</b> <br /> <b>HON&#x27;BLE MR. JUSTICE V. KAMESWAR RAO</b> <br /> <b>HON&#x27;BLE MS. JUSTICE MANMEET PRITAM SINGH ARORA</b> <br /> <br /> <b>MANMEET PRITAM SINGH ARORA, J. (</b> <b><i>ORAL</i></b> <b>)</b> <br /> <br /> 1. This is a writ petition filed under Article 226 of the Constitution of <br /> India against the order dated 05.01.2024 [‘impugned order’] passed by the <br /> Armed Forces Tribunal Principal Bench, New Delhi [‘Tribunal’] in Original <br /> Application [‘O.A.’] No. 2276 of 2022 titled as <b>GP Capt Rajesh Kumar </b><br /> <b>Singh Jadon (Retd.) v. Union of India &amp; Ors.,</b> wherein the Respondent <br /> has been granted the benefit of the disability element of pension for Primary <br /> Hypertension (Old) Z09 assessed at 30%, rounded off to 50% for life, from <br /> the date of his retirement from the service. <b> </b><br /> 2. The facts giving rise to the present petition are that the Respondent <br /> who was enrolled in the Indian Air Force [‘IAF’] on 12.09.1988, was <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:MOHIT<br /> Signing<br /> Date:27.03.2026 19:20<br /> <i>W.P. (C) 3690/2026 Page 1 of 8 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <br /> <br /> 1<br /> discharged from service on 31.07.2021 in LMC A4G3 (P). <br /> 3. The Release Medical Board [‘RMB’] held on 12.02.2021 assessed the <br /> disabilities i.e., (i) Primary Hypertension (Old) Z09 at 30% for life and (ii) <br /> Type II DM (Old) Z09 at 20% for life, compositely assessed at 40% for life. <br /> RMB opined that since the diseases were caused due to lifestyle <br /> disorder and the onset of the diseases were at a time when the Respondent <br /> was serving at the peace station, i.e., in Kanpur, the aforesaid disabilities are <br /> neither attributable to nor aggravated [‘NANA’] by the military service, as <br /> per the Para 43 of GMO 2008 for the disease of Primary Hypertension, and <br /> as per Para 26 of GMO 2008 for the disease of Type II DM (Old) Z09. <br /> 4. The Respondent’s claim of disability pension was rejected by the <br /> Petitioner vide letter dated 21.07.2022, as the disability was held to be <br /> NANA. <br /> 5. The Respondent filed an O.A. No. 2276 of 2022 before the Tribunal <br /> for the grant of disability element of pension. Pertinently, in the proceedings <br /> before the Tribunal, the Respondent claimed for disability element of <br /> pension <i>qua</i> one ailment, i.e., Primary Hypertension (Old) Z09 and gave up <br /> his claim for the other ailment Type II DM (Old) Z09. <br /> 6. By the impugned order, the Tribunal after referring to the judgments <br /> <b>2</b><br /> of the Supreme Court in <b>Dharamvir Singh v. Union of India and Ors</b> . <b> </b><br /> <b>3</b><br /> and <b>Union of India v. Ram Avtar</b> allowed the O.A. and granted the relief <br /> of disability pension to the Respondent. <br /> 7. The submission made by the learned counsel for the Petitioners is that <br /> the reliance placed by the Tribunal on the judgment of <b>Dharamvir Singh v. </b><br /> <br /> 1<br /> Low medical category <br /> 2<br /> 2013 (7) SCC 361 <br /> 3<br /> 2014 SCC OnLine SC 1761 <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:MOHIT<br /> Signing<br /> Date:27.03.2026 19:20<br /> <i>W.P. (C) 3690/2026 Page 2 of 8 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <b>Union of India and Ors</b> . (supra) is totally misplaced as in the said case the <br /> Supreme Court was concerned with the Entitlement Rules for Casualty <br /> Pensionary Awards, 1982 [‘Entitlement Rules, 1982’], whereas the case of <br /> the Respondent needs to be considered under the Entitlement Rules for <br /> Casualty Pensionary Awards to Armed Forces Personnel, 2008 [‘Entitlement <br /> Rules, 2008’]. <br /> <br /> 7.1. She contends that the Tribunal has overlooked the Entitlement Rules, <br /> 2008, which govern attributability and aggravation and no longer permit a <br /> blanket presumption in favour of the claimant/officer; and since the RMB <br /> has opined the disease to be NANA, the Tribunal could not have presumed a <br /> causal connection between the disease and the service. She states in the facts <br /> of this case, Respondent was discharged from services in the year 2021 and <br /> therefore, the Respondent would be governed by Entitlement Rules, 2008. <br /> She states that the impugned order incorrectly applies the presumption under <br /> the repealed Entitlement Rules, 1982, ignoring the amended regime under <br /> Entitlement Rules, 2008. She states that the Entitlement Rules, 2008, have <br /> done away with the general presumption to be drawn to ascertain the <br /> principle of ‘attributable to or aggravated by military service’. <br /> 8. We have heard the learned counsel for the petitioner and perused the <br /> record. Since the Respondent was discharged from service on 31.07.2021, <br /> his claim would be governed with the Entitlement Rules 2008. <br /> 9. In another petition, i.e., W.P.(C) 88/2026 titled <b> Union of India v. </b><br /> <b>781466 Ex. SGT Krishna Kumar Dwivedi</b> , decided by this Bench on <br /> 06.01.2026, our attention was drawn to the authoritative judgments of the <br /> coordinate Benches of this Court passed in W.P.(C) 3545/2025 titled <b>Union </b><br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:MOHIT<br /> Signing<br /> Date:27.03.2026 19:20<br /> <i>W.P. (C) 3690/2026 Page 3 of 8 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <b>4</b><br /> <b>of India v. Ex. Sub Gawas Anil Madso</b> and W.P.(C) 140/2024 titled <br /> <b>Union of India vs. Col. Balbir Singh (Retd.</b> ) <b>and other connected </b><br /> <b>5</b><br /> <b>matters</b> <b>,</b> which have conclusively held that even under Entitlement Rules, <br /> 2008 an officer, who suffers from a disease at the time of his release and <br /> applies for disability pension within 15 years from release of service, is <br /> ordinarily entitled to disability pension and he does not have any onus to <br /> prove the said entitlement. The said judgments emphatically hold that even <br /> under the Entitlement Rules, 2008, the onus to prove a causal connection <br /> between the disability and military service is not on the officer but on the <br /> administration. The Entitlement Rules, 2008, however, contemplate that in <br /> the event the Medical Board concludes that the disease, though contracted <br /> during the tenure of military service, was NANA by military service, it <br /> would have to give cogent reasons and identify the cause, other than military <br /> service, to which the ailment or disability can be attributed. The said <br /> judgments hold that a bald statement in the report of the Medical Board <br /> opining ‘onset in peace station’ or ‘lifestyle disorder’ would not be sufficient <br /> for the military department to deny the claim of disability pension; and <br /> rejected the opinions of the Medical Board. The said judgments hold that the <br /> burden to prove the disentitlement of pension therefore remains on the <br /> military department even under the Entitlement Rules, 2008; and emphasise <br /> on the significance of the Medical Board giving specific reasons to justify <br /> their opinion for denial of this beneficial provision to the officer. <br /> 10. On the issue of establishing causal connection of the disease with <br /> factors <i>other</i> than military service, we also note that the Supreme Court in <br /> <br /> 4<br /> 2025: DHC: 2021-DB <br /> 5<br /> 2025: DHC: 5082-DB <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:MOHIT<br /> Signing<br /> Date:27.03.2026 19:20<br /> <i>W.P. (C) 3690/2026 Page 4 of 8 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <b>6</b><br /> its recent judgment in the case of <b>Bijender Singh vs. Union of India</b> <b> </b> has <br /> reiterated that it is incumbent upon the Medical Board to furnish reasons for <br /> opining that a disease is NANA and the burden to prove the causal <br /> connection (as other than military service) is on the Military Establishment. <b> </b><br /> The character of reasons to be recorded by the Medical Board has <br /> been succinctly explained by the Supreme Court in another recent decision <br /> <b>7</b><br /> of <b>Rajumon T.M. v. Union of India</b> <b>.</b> The Supreme Court held that merely <br /> stating an opinion, such as ‘Constitutional Personality Disorder’ without <br /> giving reasons or causative factors to support such an opinion, is an <br /> unreasoned medical opinion and thus invalid. The Supreme Court explained <br /> that the said opinion of the Medical Board was merely a conclusion and <br /> would not qualify as a reasoned opinion for holding the disease/disability to <br /> be NANA. <br /> 11. In this background of settled law holding that the onus to prove <br /> disentitlement remains on military establishment even vis-à-vis Entitlement <br /> Rules, 2008 regime and the Medical Board must give cogent reasons for <br /> denying attributability and aggravation of the disease, we have examined the <br /> facts of this case. <br /> 12. The Respondent was enrolled in the IAF on 12.09.1988 and the <br /> disease Primary Hypertension (Old) Z09 was discovered in the year 2001 <br /> [after 13 years of service], while he was serving and therefore, the disease <br /> has indisputably arisen during his military service. <br /> 13. The Petitioners have raised the issue of non-entitlement of the <br /> disability element of the pension, on the ground that RMB has held that the <br /> <br /> 6<br /> 2025 SCC OnLine SC 895 at paragraphs 45.1, 46 and 47 <br /> 7<br /> 2025 SCC OnLine SC 1064 at paragraphs 25, 26, 32 and 36 <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:MOHIT<br /> Signing<br /> Date:27.03.2026 19:20<br /> <i>W.P. (C) 3690/2026 Page 5 of 8 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <br /> <br /> disease is NANA by the military service. The opinion rendered by the RMB <br /> is extracted as under: - <br /> <br /> The RMB has classified the disease as NANA, on the ground that it is <br /> a lifestyle-related disorder, its onset occurred in a peace area, and it was not <br /> attributable to any stress or exigency of military service. <br /> 14. These very reasons have been specifically rejected by the coordinate <br /> <b>8</b><br /> Bench of this Court in <b>Col. Balbir Singh (Retd.)</b> (supra) in the context of <br /> Entitlement Rules, 2008 while similarly granting disability pension to the <br /> officer suffering therein from Primary Hypertension. The said reasons have <br /> been held to be invalid grounds for denying attributability to the military <br /> service. <br /> The Division Bench in the said decision after taking note of <br /> Regulation 423(a) of the Regulations for the Medical Services of the Armed <br /> Forces, 2010 held that the fact that the disability occurred in normal peace <br /> conditions is immaterial and by itself is not sufficient to deny disability <br /> pension to the officer. <br /> The ground ‘onset in peace station’ is thus, an invalid ground and <br /> <br /> 8<br /> At paragraph nos. 66 to 74 <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:MOHIT<br /> Signing<br /> Date:27.03.2026 19:20<br /> <i>W.P. (C) 3690/2026 Page 6 of 8 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <br /> <br /> cannot be relied upon by the petitioner to justify NANA. <br /> <b>9</b><br /> The Division Bench in <b>Col. Balbir Singh (Retd.)</b> (supra) also held <br /> that a mere statement by the RMB that a disease is a ‘lifestyle disorder’ <br /> cannot be a sufficient reason to deny the grant of disability pension and <br /> accordingly, rejected the stand of the authorities opining NANA. <br /> We note that no causative factors have been enlisted in the report <br /> dated 12.02.2021 by the RMB for concluding that the disease is a ‘lifestyle <br /> disorder’. In fact, the RMB herein categorically records in response to the <br /> question no. 2 (a) and (b) at internal page 8, that the disability is not <br /> attributable or aggravated to the officer’s own negligence or misconduct. <br /> Thus, conclusion in the RMB that the disease is a ‘lifestyle disorder’ is <br /> therefore contradictory and bereft of reasons, required from the Medical <br /> Board. <br /> 15. No other ground has been cited in the RMB report of the Respondent <br /> for opining NANA. <br /> In these facts, since no other causal connection has been found to <br /> exist by the RMB, for the disease, we agree with the Tribunal that the claim <br /> of disability pension has been wrongly rejected by the Military <br /> establishment, and the officer has been rightly held entitled to disability <br /> pension as it is attributable to/or aggravated by the military services. <br /> 16. In view of the aforesaid findings, the Petitioners’ challenge to the <br /> grant of disability element of pension to the Respondent, is without any <br /> merits. The Respondent has been rightly held to be entitled to the disability <br /> pension under the Entitlement Rules, 2008 by the Tribunal in the impugned <br /> order. <br /> <br /> 9<br /> At paragraph no. 71 <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:MOHIT<br /> Signing<br /> Date:27.03.2026 19:20<br /> <i>W.P. (C) 3690/2026 Page 7 of 8 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <br /> <br /> 17. Additionally, we note that the impugned order is dated 05.01.2024 <br /> and the petition has been filed after more than 2 years, without any <br /> explanation for such a delay. The Petitioner was obliged to comply with the <br /> impugned order of the Tribunal within four [4] months and it appears from <br /> the record that the Petitioner has not complied with the said order. The <br /> Petitioners ought to have approached this Court immediately and cannot <br /> elect to sleep over compliance of the impugned order of the Tribunal. Such <br /> conduct of the Petitioners show abject disregard for the legal process. We <br /> hold that filing of this petition is also grossly barred by delay and laches, and <br /> ought to be dismissed on this ground alone. Nevertheless, we have decided <br /> the petition on merits to avoid any further delay by the Petitioners in <br /> complying with the impugned order. <br /> 18. We therefore find no merit in this petition; the petition is dismissed. <br /> No costs. <br /> <b> </b><br /> <b> </b><br /> <b>MANMEET PRITAM SINGH ARORA, J </b><br /> <b> </b><br /> <b> </b><br /> <b>V. KAMESWAR RAO, J </b><br /> <b>MARCH 23, 2026/AJ </b><br /> <b> </b><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:MOHIT<br /> Signing<br /> Date:27.03.2026 19:20<br /> <i>W.P. (C) 3690/2026 Page 8 of 8 </i><br /> </div>