The New India Assurance Company Ltd vs M/S Kapoor Diesels Garage Pvt Ltd
- Court
- Delhi High Court
- Case type
- Regular First Appeal
- Decided on
- 30-03-2026
<div> <br /> <br /> <br /> * <b>IN THE HIGH COURT OF DELHI AT NEW DELHI</b> <br /> <b><i>th</i></b><br /> % <b><i> </i></b> <b><i> </i></b> <b><i> </i></b> <b><i> </i></b> <b><i> </i></b> <b><i> </i></b> <b><i> Reserved on: 19</i></b> <b><i> January, 2026 </i></b><br /> <b><i>th</i></b><br /> <b><i> Pronounced on: 30</i></b> <b><i> March, 2026 </i></b><br /> + <b>RFA 131/2023, CM APPL. 8138/2023 & CM APPL. 8140-</b><br /> <b>8141/2023 </b><br /> <br /> <b>THE NEW INDIA ASSURANCE COMPANY LTD </b><br /> Core-2, 10th Floor, Scope Minar, <br /> Laxmi Nagar, District Centre <br /> Delhi, <br /> .....Appellant <br /> Through: Mr. J.P.N. Shahi and Mr. Divyanshu <br /> Kumar, Advocates <br /> <br /> versus <br /> <br /> <b>M/S KAPOOR DIESELS GARAGE PVT LTD </b><br /> R/O:- Village Nangli Poona, G.T. <br /> Karnal Road, Nangli Poona, Delhi:-36 <br /> .....Respondent <br /> Through: Mr. Daljeet Singh, Advocate <br /> <br /> <b>CORAM:</b> <br /> <b>HON'BLE MS. JUSTICE NEENA BANSAL KRISHNA </b><br /> <b>J U D G M E N T </b><br /> <b>NEENA BANSAL KRISHNA, J. </b><br /> <b>1.</b> <b> </b> Regular First Appeal under Section 96 of the Code of Civil <br /> Procedure, 1908 <i>(hereinafter referred to as ‘CPC’)</i> has been filed against <br /> the judgment and decree dated 02.07.2022 whereby the Ld. District Judge <br /> has decreed the Suit of the Respondent/Plaintiff for Rs.13,77,500/- along <br /> with interest @ 12% p.a. The Respondent/Plaintiff had filed CS No. <br /> 972/2017 for recovery of Rs.13,77,500/- along with interest. <br /> <b><i>RFA 131/2023 Page 1 of 11 </i></b><br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:VIKAS<br /> ARORA<br /> Signing Date:30.03.2026<br /> 19:27:30<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <b> </b><br /> <b>2.</b> The <b><i>brief facts</i></b> as narrated in the plaint, are that the Plaintiff was in <br /> business of transport, for the last many years. It was the owner of Tata LPT <br /> Truck bearing No. HR-38S-9314, for which it took the Insurance Policy <br /> effective from 16.09.2013 to 15.09.2014, from the Defendant/Appellant <br /> Insurance Company. However, unfortunately, the truck met with an accident <br /> on 11.07.2014 in which not only was the vehicle completely damaged, but <br /> its driver Salmu also died. <i>FIR No. 0104/2014</i> was registered at P.S. <br /> Turuvanur (Jogi), Karnataka. The intimation about the accident, was duly <br /> conveyed to the Head Office of the Defendant/Appellant. <br /> <b>3.</b> <b> </b> The investigators of the Insurance Company met the representative of <br /> the Plaintiff and had telephonic discussion about the accident. Thereafter, all <br /> the documents required by the Insurance Company were duly submitted by <br /> Plaintiff and all the formalities were completed. As per the Letter dated <br /> 10.08.2015 of the Defendant Insurance Company, Plaintiff surrendered the <br /> Registration Certificate to the TRO and STA Letter dated 01.12.2015 was <br /> submitted to the Defendant Company. <br /> <b>4.</b> <b> </b> The Insurance Company sent the Letter dated 29.01.2016, stating that <br /> <i>the driving license of the driver who drove the vehicle</i> , <b><i> was found to be </i></b><br /> <b><i>fake</i></b> , in terms of the Circular issued by the concerned Transport Authority. <br /> The vehicle was thus, being driven by a person who had no valid license <br /> which was in violation of the policy terms and conditions and rejected the <br /> claim of the Plaintiff. <br /> <b>5.</b> <b> </b> The Plaintiff explained that the driving license No. <br /> 6737/TV/MKG/Prof of the driver Mr. Salmu, deceased, who drove the <br /> vehicle, was verified on 23.04.2015 by the Plaintiff from the Competent <br /> <b><i>RFA 131/2023 Page 2 of 11 </i></b><br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:VIKAS<br /> ARORA<br /> Signing Date:30.03.2026<br /> 19:27:30<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> Authority and it was found that the driving license had been issued to him <br /> from 08.01.2014 to 13.01.2016, which covered the date of accident. Since <br /> the accident took place on 11.07.2014, the driver was authorized to drive the <br /> HTV on the date of accident. <br /> <b>6.</b> <b> </b> The Plaintiff asserted that it is a settled law that in case of the accident <br /> claim of the vehicle, if the premium has been duly received by the Insurance <br /> Company, it cannot for any reason, reject the claim. The Defendant in <br /> blatant violation of the provisions of Insurance Policy, on fictitious and <br /> legally untenable grounds, rejected the claim. <br /> <b>7.</b> <b> </b> The Plaintiff claimed that the total loss claim was Rs.13,77,500/-, <br /> which was legally recoverable from the Insurance Company. <b><i>Hence, the </i></b><br /> <b><i>Suit was filed for recovery of Rs.13,77,500/- along with interest @ 9% p.a. </i></b><br /> <b>8.</b> <b> </b> The Defendant/Appellant in its <b><i>Written Statement</i></b> took the <br /> <i>preliminary objection</i> that the claim of the Plaintiff was rightly repudiated in <br /> respect of insured vehicle, on account of violation of terms and conditions of <br /> the Insurance Policy, qua the truck involved in the accident. The Plaintiff <br /> had allowed its driver who had no valid legal driving license, to drive the <br /> vehicle. Consequently, the Insurance Company had no other option, but to <br /> reject the claim. It was asserted that the Suit did not disclose any cause of <br /> action and the Suit was liable to be rejected. <br /> <b>9.</b> <b> </b> Insofar as the <b>merits of the case</b> were concerned, it was admitted <br /> that the Insurance Policy valid from 16.09.2013 to 15.09.2014, had been <br /> issued in respect of the truck, in favor of Plaintiff. The Plaintiff had accepted <br /> the terms of the Insurance Policy. Admittedly, at the time of accident, the <br /> <b><i>RFA 131/2023 Page 3 of 11 </i></b><br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:VIKAS<br /> ARORA<br /> Signing Date:30.03.2026<br /> 19:27:30<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> truck was being driven by driver Salmu, about which intimation was given <br /> to the Insurance Company. <br /> <b>10.</b> <b> </b> The Surveyor, i.e. Raman Kumar of the Company was appointed, to <br /> assess the loss. It submitted its Report along with the Claim Form and the <br /> document, submitted by the Plaintiff. <br /> <b>11.</b> <b> </b> The Defendant thereafter, on examination of the document <br /> submitted by the Plaintiff to the Surveyor, found that driver Salmu was <br /> holding the <i>Driving License issued by Nagaland Transport Authority</i> , even <br /> though the driver was not the resident of Nagaland. As per the Circular <br /> dated 01.08.2014 effective from 30.10.2009 of Transport Commissioner, <br /> RTO Nagaland, Kohima, all the driving licenses which had been issued on <br /> booklet, were to be discontinued after the introduction of <i>Smart Card</i> . <br /> <b>12.</b> <b> </b> The driving license of Salmu was in the form of a booklet, which is <br /> not genuine after 30.10.2009. The Booklet had been issued on 14.01.2010, <br /> i.e. after 30.10.2009 and the Driving License was not as per the requisite <br /> format. The driving license was, therefore, fake. Since the driver was not <br /> having a valid and effective driving license at the time of alleged accident <br /> and because the driver was under 20 years of age and was not eligible to <br /> drive a transport vehicle in the public place, <i>the insurance claim was </i><br /> <i>rejected on account of breach of terms and condition of the Insurance </i><br /> <i>Policy.</i> <br /> <b>13.</b> <b> </b> <b>On merits,</b> the defence as stated above, was reiterated and it was <br /> submitted that the Suit was without any merit. <br /> <b>14.</b> <b> </b> The <b><i>issues on the pleadings</i></b> were framed on 06.02.2019, as under:- <br /> <b><i>RFA 131/2023 Page 4 of 11 </i></b><br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:VIKAS<br /> ARORA<br /> Signing Date:30.03.2026<br /> 19:27:30<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <i> </i><br /> <i>(1)</i> <i>Whether the plaintiff is entitled to get a decree </i><br /> <i>of recovery of an amount of Rs.13,77,500/- </i><br /> <i>against the Defendant as prayed for? OPP </i><br /> <i>(2)</i> <i> </i> <i>Whether the plaintiff is entitled to get pendent </i><br /> <i>lite and future interest thereupon? </i><br /> <i>(3)</i> <i> </i> <i>Whether the plaintiff had violated the terms </i><br /> <i>and conditions of the insurance policy qua </i><br /> <i>vehicle No. HR-38S-9314? OPD </i><br /> <i>(4) </i> <i>Relief. </i><br /> <br /> <b>15.</b> <b> </b> The Plaintiff in support of its case, examined <b><i>PW1 Shri Vikas </i></b><br /> <b><i>Khanna, its authorised representative</i></b> who proved the Insurance Policy as <br /> Mark A. <br /> <b>16.</b> <b> </b> The Insurance Company examined <b><i>DW1 Ms. Prabha Malhotra, the </i></b><br /> <b><i>authorised representative,</i></b> who reiterated the defence as taken in the Written <br /> Statement. <br /> <b>17.</b> <b> </b> The learned District Judge on consideration of the evidence, <br /> concluded that the insurance claim of the Plaintiff/Respondent had been <br /> wrongly rejected and thereby, <b><i>decreed the Suit for Rs.13,77,500/- along </i></b><br /> <b><i>with simple interest @ 12% p.a. </i></b><br /> <b>18.</b> <b> </b> Aggrieved by the judgement, the Appellant Insurance Company has <br /> challenged the judgement by way of this Appeal. <br /> <b>19.</b> <b> </b> <b><i>The grounds of challenge are</i></b> that it has not been appreciated that <br /> there was gross breach of terms and condition of the Policy. The driver was <br /> holding a fake driving licence in which circumstances, Insurance Company <br /> cannot be thrust with any liability. The <i>Circular dated 01.08.2014 of </i><br /> <i>Competent Authority, Nagaland</i> has been erroneously rejected. In terms of <br /> this Circular, the driving licence issued on or before 01.12.2014, are to be <br /> <b><i>RFA 131/2023 Page 5 of 11 </i></b><br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:VIKAS<br /> ARORA<br /> Signing Date:30.03.2026<br /> 19:27:30<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> treated as cancelled, if they were not converted into a smart card. The <br /> driving licence of the deceased driver was in a booklet form issued after <br /> 30.10.2009 and therefore, was not genuine. In these circumstances, the claim <br /> had been rightly rejected. The impugned judgement is, therefore, liable to be <br /> set aside. <br /> <b>20.</b> <b> </b> Learned Counsel on behalf of the Insurance Company had argued on <br /> similar lines as the grounds of Appeal. <br /> <b>21.</b> <b> </b> The <b><i>Respondent had filed Written Submissions</i></b> wherein it was stated <br /> that the learned District Judge had rightly observed that the driving licence <br /> could not be held to be fake merely because it was issued in a booklet form. <br /> The Notification of the Nagaland Transport Authority had been appreciated <br /> in the right perspective. <br /> <b>22.</b> <b> </b> Furthermore, it is not the case of the Insurance Company that they had <br /> duly verified the driving licence from the Regional Transport Office or had <br /> found the same to be forged or false rather; they had relied only on the <br /> Report dated 23.04.2015 of the Insurance Company and the Notification of <br /> Transport Authority, to assert that the driving licence was fake merely <br /> because <i>it was not in the smart card form</i> . <br /> <b>23.</b> <b> </b> Admittedly, the driving licence of the deceased driver was issued on <br /> 14.01.2010 which was prior to the Notification dated 01.08.2014 and the <br /> cut-off date was 30.10.2009. The possibility of the driver holding a valid <br /> driving licence in the booklet form, cannot be ruled out. Moreover, the <br /> driver had a window up to 01.12.2014 for converting his booklet licence into <br /> a new smart card format, but unfortunately he died before then on <br /> 11.07.2014. <br /> <b><i>RFA 131/2023 Page 6 of 11 </i></b><br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:VIKAS<br /> ARORA<br /> Signing Date:30.03.2026<br /> 19:27:30<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <b> </b><br /> <b>24.</b> It was further contended that the verification of the driving licence <br /> had been carried out by the Plaintiff/Respondent, and Report Ex. PW1/H <br /> had been obtained, wherein the driving licence of the deceased driver had <br /> been found to be genuine. This Report was submitted to the Insurance <br /> Company, on 11.05.2014. The said documents have been rightly accepted <br /> by the learned District Judge. The repudiation of the Insurance Claim, was <br /> not justified. <br /> <b>25.</b> <b> </b> The further contention raised by the Appellant was that the driver <br /> was not a resident of Nagaland and was aged 20 years, but these aspects <br /> have not been proven by the Insurance Company in the Court. As per the <br /> driving licence, the date of birth of the deceased driver, Salmu, was <br /> 04.08.1991, according to which he was about 23 years old on the date of the <br /> accident. <br /> <b>26.</b> <b> </b> The judgement of <i>Abdul Salam v. Mazher Khan</i> wherein it was held <br /> that the driving licence issued before 01.12.2014 shall be deemed to be <br /> cancelled if not converted into a smart card, is neither binding on this Court <br /> nor is of any assistance to the Insurance Company. In fact, this judgement <br /> refers to the window for conversion up to 01.12.2014. It is submitted that the <br /> Suit of the Plaintiff has been rightly decreed and there is no merit in the <br /> present appeal. <br /> <b>Submissions Heard and Record Perused. </b><br /> <b>27.</b> <b> </b> It is an admitted fact that the truck of the Plaintiff had been duly <br /> insured with the Insurance Company from 16.09.2013 to 15.09.2014. It is <br /> also not disputed that an <i>accident took place on 11.07.2014</i> wherein the <br /> vehicle was totally damaged and its driver, Salmu, died in the accident. An <br /> <b><i>RFA 131/2023 Page 7 of 11 </i></b><br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:VIKAS<br /> ARORA<br /> Signing Date:30.03.2026<br /> 19:27:30<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> FIR No. <i> 0104/2014</i> was registered in respect of this accident. The claim had <br /> been filed by the Plaintiff for recovery of Rs.13,77,500/-, as being a total <br /> loss of the insured truck. <br /> <b>28.</b> <b> </b> The Defendant/Appellant did not contest any of these facts. However, <br /> the claim was rejected on the sole ground that the driver was holding a <br /> licence from the Nagaland Transport Authority. As per the Notification <br /> dated 01.08.2014 of Nagaland Transport Authority, the booklet driving <br /> licences would not be valid and would be discontinued after the introduction <br /> of smart cards, and this Notification was valid from 30.10.2009. <br /> <b>29.</b> <b> </b> It has been rightly pointed out by the Respondent that it is not a case <br /> where the driving licence of the deceased driver has been found to be fake, <br /> but it is sought to be invalidated solely in terms of the Notification dated <br /> 01.08.2014, which provided that the booklet form driving licences, shall be <br /> replaced by smart cards and the Circular was effective from 30.10.2009, <br /> after which the booklet driving licence would cease to be valid and would be <br /> discontinued. <br /> <b>30.</b> <b> </b> The driving licence of the deceased driver was in the booklet form <br /> and had been issued on 14.01.2010 and was thereafter, from time to time, <br /> renewed and it was valid at the time of the accident. <br /> <b>31.</b> <b> </b> The sole ground to consider if the driving licence of the deceased <br /> driver was fake, which has to be assessed in terms of the Notification dated <br /> 01.08.2014. The Notification mentioned that enforcing agencies had <br /> detected a large number of fake driving licences being used in the State, <br /> which has caused concern not only to road safety but also criminal activity. <br /> With a view to authenticate the genuine driving licences, it was notified that <br /> <b><i>RFA 131/2023 Page 8 of 11 </i></b><br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:VIKAS<br /> ARORA<br /> Signing Date:30.03.2026<br /> 19:27:30<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> all the drivers holding driving licences as a booklet or in any other manual <br /> format other than the smart card, must report to the office for the purpose of <br /> digitising their data and subsequently issuing it in smart card format. It <br /> further provided that this must be completed before 01.12.2014. <br /> <b>32.</b> <b> </b> In the present case, the driving licence of the driver had been first <br /> issued on 14.01.2010 and had been renewed w.e.f. 08.01.2014 to <br /> 13.01.2016. As per the Notification dated 01.08.2014, the booklet driving <br /> licences had to be converted into a smart card up to 01.12.2014. The <br /> accident happened on 11.07.2014, i.e., prior to the last date for getting the <br /> driving licence converted into a smart card. Therefore, even as per the <br /> Notification, merely because the driver was holding a booklet form, it <br /> cannot be termed as a fake driving licence. The driver had the window till <br /> 01.12.2014 to convert his booklet driving licence into the smart card. Merely <br /> because it was in a booklet form and not a smart card, the driving licence <br /> cannot be termed as fake. <i>Such interpretation is absolutely contrary to the </i><br /> <i>Notification dated 01.08.2014 of the Transport Authority, Nagaland. </i><br /> <b>33.</b> <b> </b> The learned District Judge has rightly noted that the window for <br /> converting the booklet driving licence into the smart card, was still available <br /> with the driver. <br /> <b>34.</b> <b> </b> Further, the Plaintiff had obtained the Report Ex.PW1/H in respect of <br /> the genuineness of the driving licence from the Transport Authority, <br /> Nagaland, wherein the Regional Transport Authority had reported that the <br /> driving licence of the deceased driver was verified and found to be genuine. <br /> <b>35.</b> <b> </b> While the Investigator of the Insurance Company had reported the <br /> same to be fake, but the onus was on the Insurance Company to rebut the <br /> <b><i>RFA 131/2023 Page 9 of 11 </i></b><br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:VIKAS<br /> ARORA<br /> Signing Date:30.03.2026<br /> 19:27:30<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> testimony of the Plaintiff about the genuineness of the driving licence. <br /> Pertinently, no witness was called by the Insurance Company from the <br /> Transport Authority, Nagaland, to produce the records or to show that the <br /> booklet form of driving licence in the name of the deceased driver, was fake. <br /> <b>36.</b> <b> </b> The learned District Judge has rightly concluded that the Insurance <br /> Company had not been able to prove that the driving licence of the deceased <br /> driver was not genuine or that there was breach of any terms and conditions <br /> of the Insurance Policy. <br /> <b>37.</b> <b> </b> <i>Another ground</i> on which the breach of Insurance Policy was claimed <br /> by the Insurance Company, was that the driver was 20 years old and not <br /> eligible to drive the vehicle on public roads. However, the driving licence <br /> issued on 14.01.2010 mentioned the date of birth as 04.08.1991, which <br /> makes him more than 20 years as on 11.07.2014, i.e., the date of the <br /> accident. The contention that he was less than 20 years at the time of the <br /> accident is, therefore, disproved on the basis of the driving licence of the <br /> deceased. <br /> <b>38.</b> <b> </b> The next ground on which the driving licence was claimed to be fake, <br /> was that the driver was not a resident of Nagaland. However, mere assertion <br /> is not sufficient to prove that the deceased was not residing in Nagaland, as <br /> has been rightly observed by the District Judge. No evidence whatsoever has <br /> been led by the Insurance Company to prove that the deceased was not a <br /> resident of Nagaland. The bald assertion that he was not a resident of <br /> Nagaland, is not enough to discharge the onus of proving the driving licence <br /> to be fake by the Insurance Company. <br /> <b><i>RFA 131/2023 Page 10 of 11 </i></b><br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:VIKAS<br /> ARORA<br /> Signing Date:30.03.2026<br /> 19:27:30<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <b> </b><br /> <b>39.</b> In the light of the aforesaid discussion, it is held that there is no merit <br /> in the present <b>Appeal, which is hereby</b> <b>dismissed</b> along with any pending <br /> Application(s), if any. <br /> <b>40.</b> <b> </b> The Appeal is accordingly disposed of. <br /> <b> </b> <br /> <b> </b><br /> <b> (NEENA BANSAL KRISHNA) </b><br /> <b> JUDGE </b><br /> <b>MARCH 30, 2026</b> <b> </b><br /> <i>N</i><br /> <b> </b><br /> <b> </b><br /> <b><i>RFA 131/2023 Page 11 of 11 </i></b><br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:VIKAS<br /> ARORA<br /> Signing Date:30.03.2026<br /> 19:27:30</div>