NAGPUR MUNICIPAL CORPORATION, NAGPUR THR. ITS COMMISSIONER OF MUNICIPAL CORPORATION, NAGPUR vs BHIMRAO S/O TUKARAM MESHRAM AND OTHERS

Court
Bombay High Court
Case type
Writ Petition
Decided on
26-03-2026
<div> <b>2026:BHC-NAG:4818</b><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 1<br /> IN THE HIGH COURT OF JUDICATURE AT BOMBAY<br /> NAGPUR BENCH, NAGPUR.<br /> WRIT PETITION NO.4488 OF 2023 <br /> P ETITIONER :- Nagpur Municipal Corporation, Civil <br /> (Ori. Respondent)<br /> Lines Nagpur, through its Commissioner <br /> of Municipal Corporation, District <br /> Nagpur.<br /> (On RA)<br /> ..VERSUS..<br /> :- 1)<br /> Bhimrao S/o Tukaram Meshram, aged <br /> about 58 years, Occupation : Service, R/o <br /> Plot No.90, Near Hanuman Mandir, <br /> Umargaon, Kalmana, Nagpur.<br /> RESPONDENTS<br /> (Ori. Petitioners)<br /> 2)<br /> Suresh S/o Mahadeorao Pote, aged about <br /> 62 years, Occupation: Service, R/o 18, <br /> Sarswati Nagar, Near Chirag Ice Factory, <br /> Wathoda Layout, Wathoda, Nagpur.<br /> 3)<br /> Chandra W/o Sajatrao Kannake, aged <br /> about 58 years, Occupation: Service, R/o <br /> Ashok Nagar, Gond Mohola, Dr. <br /> Ambedkar Marg, Nagpur.<br /> 4)<br /> Jaganath S/o Tukaram Itankar, aged about <br /> 61 years, Occupation: Service, R/o Plot <br /> No.2136/A13, Near Railway Station, <br /> Bhandewadi, Nagpur.<br /> 5)<br /> Suresh S/o Pundalik Kature, aged about <br /> 60 years, Occupation: Service, Plot <br /> No.122, Hanuman Temple, Bidgaon, <br /> Nagpur.<br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 2<br /> 6)<br /> Fulchand S/o Harichand Jamgade, aged <br /> about 54 years, Occupation: Service, R/o <br /> House No.93, Titur Road, Bhandewadi, <br /> Nagpur.<br /> 7)<br /> Munkunda S/o Kondbaji Ambone, Aged <br /> about 53 years, Occupation: Service, R/o <br /> House No.2283/A, Old Basti Wathoda, <br /> Bezenbagh, Nagpur.<br /> 8)<br /> Pramod S/o Pandurang Ganthade, Aged <br /> about 53 years, Occupation: Service, R/o <br /> Behind Anil Beer Bar, Hiwari Lay out, <br /> Shastri Nagar, Bagdganj, Nagpur.<br /> 9)<br /> Dharmravi S/o Gulabrao Gaigawali, aged <br /> about 54 years, Occupation: Service, R/o <br /> Near Water Tank, Plot No.64, Raut <br /> Nagar, Nagpur.<br /> 10)<br /> Someshwar S/o Tukaram Katore, aged <br /> about 56 years, Occupation: Service, R/o <br /> Bidgaon, Tq. Kamptee, Dist. Nagpur.<br /> (ALL ON RA)<br /> WITH<br /> WRIT PETITION NO.4955 OF 2023 <br /> P ETITIONER <br /> :- Nagpur Municipal Corporation, Nagpur, <br /> Through its Commissioner, Civil Line, <br /> Nagpur – 440001<br /> <br /> … Original Respondent No.2<br /> ..VERSUS..<br /> :- 1)<br /> RESPONDENTS Premchand S/o Mahadevrao Timane, <br /> aged about 55 years, Occ :- Labour, R/o <br /> Nandagiri Road, Near Lal Bahadur <br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 3<br /> Shashtri Garden, Kumbhar Pura, Galli <br /> No.1, Pachpaoli, Nagpur – 440017<br /> … Original Complainant<br /> 2)<br /> The State of Maharashtra,<br /> Through its Secretary, Nagar Vikas <br /> Vibhag, Mantralay, Vistar Bhawan, <br /> Mumbai – 400032<br /> … Original Respondent No.1<br /> WITH<br /> WRIT PETITION NO.5846 OF 2023 <br /> P ETITIONER <br /> <br /> :- Nagpur Municipal Corporation, Nagpur, <br /> Through its Commissioner, Civil Line, <br /> Nagpur – 440001<br /> … Original Respondent No.2<br /> ..VERSUS..<br /> :- 1)<br /> RESPONDENTS Devidas S/o Vyankatrao Bhivgade, aged <br /> about 56 years, Occupation: Labour, R/o <br /> Near Nimje House, House No.1978/A, <br /> Binaki Joshipura Road, Nagpur – 440017<br /> … Original Complainant<br /> 2)<br /> The State of Maharashtra,<br /> Through its Secretary, Nagar Vikas <br /> Vibhag, Mantralay, Vistar Bhawan, <br /> Mumbai – 400032<br /> … Original Respondent No.1<br /> WITH<br /> WRIT PETITION NO.5187 OF 2023 <br /> P ETITIONER :- Nagpur Municipal Corporation, Civil <br /> (Ori. Respondent)<br /> <br /> Lines, Nagpur, through its Commissioner <br /> of Municipal Corporation, District <br /> Nagpur<br /> ..VERSUS..<br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 4<br /> :- 1)<br /> Baliram S/o Jago Shende, aged about 58 <br /> years, Occupation: Service, R/o Juni <br /> Kamptee, Post Godegaon, Tah. <br /> Parshivani, Dist. Nagpur<br /> RESPONDENTS<br /> (Ori. Petitioners)<br /> 2)<br /> Sampat S/o Gautuji Saire, aged about 50 <br /> years, Occupation: Service, R/o Juni <br /> Kamptee, House No.218, Post. <br /> Godegaon, Tah. Parshivani, Dist. Nagpur<br /> 3) <br /> Kishor S/o Madhavrao Lambat, aged <br /> about 52 years, Occupation: Service, R/o <br /> Jaripatka, Behind Bara Kholi, Nagpur<br /> 4)<br /> Shekhar S/o Shriram Ramteke, aged <br /> about 51 years, Occupation: Service, R/o <br /> Pili River, Near I.G.M. Convent, Post <br /> Uppalwadi, Tah. &amp; Dist. Nagpur<br /> 5)<br /> Pradeep S/o Dashrath Kanfade, aged <br /> about 55 years, Occupation: Service, R/o <br /> Post Khairy, Ward No.1, Near Annuttar <br /> Boudh Vihar, Khairy, Tah. Kamptee, Dist. <br /> Nagpur<br /> 6)<br /> Gajanan/Kailas S/o Wamanrao Dhande, <br /> aged about 50 years, Occupation: Service, <br /> R/o Near Ganesh Mandir, 2095, Pardi <br /> Police Station, Bhandara Road, Nagpur<br /> 7)<br /> Anil S/o Chandrakant Jagtap, aged about <br /> 60 years, Occupation: Service, R/o <br /> Behind Green Lawn, Gonhisim, <br /> Bahadura, Nagpur<br /> (ALL ON RA)<br /> WITH<br /> WRIT PETITION NO.4961 OF 2023 <br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 5<br /> P ETITIONER :- Nagpur Municipal Corporation, Civil <br /> (Ori. Respondent)<br /> <br /> Lines, Nagpur, through its Commissioner <br /> of Municipal Corporation, District <br /> Nagpur<br /> ..VERSUS..<br /> :- 1)<br /> Ajay S/o Domaji Kambade, aged about 58 <br /> years, Occupation: Service, R/o B/H <br /> Tarangan Mangal Karyalaya Quarter 2/60 <br /> Raje Raghuji Nagar, Housing Board <br /> Collony, Hanuman Nagar, Nagpur<br /> RESPONDENTS<br /> (Ori. Petitioners)<br /> 2)<br /> Atul S/o Madhukar Papadkar, aged about <br /> 59 years, Occupation: Service, R/o Raje <br /> Raghuji Nagar, Quarter 6/14, Nagpur<br /> 3) <br /> Manohar S/o Manik Pachbudhe, aged <br /> about 53 years, Occupation: Service, R/o <br /> Plot No.15, Near Hanuman Mandir, <br /> Bidgaon, Nagpur<br /> (ALL ON RA)<br /> WITH<br /> WRIT PETITION NO.5836 OF 2023 <br /> P ETITIONER <br /> <br /> :- Nagpur Municipal Corporation, Nagpur, <br /> Through its Commissioner, Civil Line, <br /> Nagpur – 440001<br /> … Original Respondent No.2<br /> ..VERSUS..<br /> :- 1)<br /> RESPONDENTS Bhimrao S/o Mahadevrao Khobragade, <br /> aged about 54 years, Occ :- Labour, R/o. <br /> Near Budhavihar, Plot No.744/70, <br /> Jagruti Nagar, Shantinagar, Nagpur – <br /> 440002<br /> … Original Complainant<br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 6<br /> 2)<br /> The State of Maharashtra,<br /> Through its Secretary, Nagar Vikas <br /> Vibhag, Mantralay, Vistar Bhawan, <br /> Mumbai – 400032<br /> … Original Respondent No.1<br /> ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------<br /> Mr. J.B. Kasat, Advocate for Petitioner.<br /> Mr. H.D. Dubey, Advocate for respondents/State.<br /> Mr. S.G. Ingole, Adv. with Mr. Syed Sufiyan, Adv. for Respondents. <br /> ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------<br /> CORAM : ROHIT W. JOSHI, J.<br /> <br /> DATE OF RESERVING THE JUDGMENT: 13.10.2025<br /> DATE OF PRONOUNCING THE JUDGMENT: 26.03.2026<br /> 1. Heard. <br /> 2. Since all the cases involve identical dispute with respect <br /> to claim of pension, all these petitions are being decided by <br /> common judgment. The facts of Complaint (ULP) No.25 of 2021 <br /> are taken into consideration for adjudication. <br /> 3. Rule. Rule is made returnable forthwith. Heard finally <br /> with consent of learned counsel for the respective parties. <br /> 4. The present petition is filed challenging the judgment <br /> and order dated 05.12.2022, passed by the learned Member, <br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 7<br /> Industrial Court No.1, Nagpur, in Complaint (ULP) No.25 of 2021. <br /> The petitioner is the employer of the respondents. The parties will <br /> be referred as “NMC” and “the employees” respectively hereinafter. <br /> 5. All the employees had filed Complaint (ULP) No.25 of <br /> 2021 claiming that they were appointed as daily wagers in the <br /> Garden and Water Department of NMC, their initial appointments <br /> being made between the years 1991 to 1996 and that subsequently <br /> they were granted benefit of permanency in the months of June, <br /> July and November, 2006. Their contention is that their services are <br /> governed by Model Standing Orders framed under the Maharashtra <br /> Industrial Relations Act, 1946 and that upon completion of 240 <br /> days of service in a calendar year, they are entitled to the benefit of <br /> permanency in service. The employees therefore prayed that as <br /> against the dates of regularization/permanency granted in the year <br /> 2006, the same should be granted to them from the date on which <br /> each of them completed 240 days of service and that the contractual <br /> service of 240 days should also be counted for the purpose of <br /> payment of gratuity and pension. <br /> 6. The petitioner/NMC opposed the complaint by filing <br /> reply. The said complaint came to be partly allowed vide judgment <br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 8<br /> and order dated 05.12.2022. Perusal of Paragraph Nos.13 and 15 of <br /> the judgment by the learned Industrial Court will demonstrate that <br /> it has categorically held that the claim of the employees for grant of <br /> permanency upon completion of 240 days of service cannot be <br /> entertained, since order of permanency granted in the year 2006 is <br /> accepted by them and no grievance is raised in that regard. The <br /> directions for counting service after completion of 240 days of <br /> service is for the purpose of calculation of pension and gratuity. The <br /> learned Industrial Court has directed the NMC to fix the date on <br /> which each employee completed 240 days of service in a calendar <br /> year and to treat the same as the date of entry in service for the <br /> purpose of computation of pension and gratuity. It is held that the <br /> employees will be entitled to the benefit of pension upon <br /> completion of 240 days of service. This order is challenged by <br /> NMC in the present petition. <br /> 7. As regards gratuity, perusal of order dated 19.07.2023 <br /> passed in the present petition will demonstrate that the NMC has <br /> accepted that employees will be entitled for the benefit of gratuity <br /> even for the contractual period of employment.<br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 9<br /> 8. As regards entitlement of regularization in service upon <br /> completion of 240 days of service, this Court has taken a view vide <br /> judgment dated 22.12.2025 in Writ Petition No.496 of 2023 <br /> (Subhash Sukhdev Sahare ..vs.. NMC and another) and other <br /> connected petitions that, in the absence of sanctioned post, the daily <br /> wagers/contractual employees appointed by NMC are not entitled <br /> to claim regularization in service upon completion of 240 days of <br /> service, as per clause 4(c) of the Model Standing Orders <br /> (hereinafter referred to as “MSO”).<br /> 9. The dispute between the parties is now restricted to <br /> pensionary benefits. Perusal of paragraph-3 of the petition further <br /> indicates that, according to NMC, the employees will be governed <br /> by the New Pension Scheme i.e. the Defined Contribution Pension <br /> Scheme (DCPS) and that they cannot claim the benefit of the Old <br /> Pension Scheme. As against this, the contention of the employees is <br /> that they are entitled to seek pension under the Old Pension <br /> Scheme since their initial appointments are prior to the introduction <br /> of the New Pension Scheme. The contention of the employees is <br /> that although their services are regularized in the year 2006 after <br /> the introduction of the New Pension Scheme, since they were in <br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 10<br /> employment, although as daily wagers, prior to the introduction of <br /> the New Pension Scheme, they will be governed by the Old Pension <br /> Scheme and that service rendered prior to the date of regularization <br /> will also have to be taken into consideration for the purpose of <br /> computation of pension.<br /> 10. Applicability of MCS (Pension) Rules, 1982 to <br /> establishment of NMC qua employees who are appointed in service <br /> prior to 01.11.2005 for the purpose of pension is not in dispute. <br /> Both parties have placed reliance on Rules 30 and 57 of the <br /> Maharashtra Civil Services (Pension) Rules, 1982 (hereinafter <br /> referred to as “MCS (Pension) Rules, 1982”) in support of their <br /> respective submissions. Whereas, the contention of complainants is <br /> that service rendered as daily wager is required to be counted <br /> towards pensionable service, the stand of NMC is that the <br /> complainants were not appointed as daily wager against any <br /> sanctioned post and therefore service rendered as daily wagers will <br /> not qualify as pensionable service. It is also contended that the <br /> services of complainants were regularized after 01.11.2005 and <br /> therefore provisions of MCS (Pension) Rules 1982 are not <br /> applicable to them. <br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 11<br /> 11. Perusal of the complaint will demonstrate that the <br /> complainants were appointed initially as daily wager thereafter were <br /> regularized in service as under:-<br /></div><table><thead><tr><th>Complaint&lt;br&gt;No.</th><th>Date of appointment as&lt;br&gt;daily wagers</th><th>Date of&lt;br&gt;regularization</th></tr></thead><tbody><tr><td>1.</td><td>01/07/1991</td><td>19/06/2006</td></tr><tr><td>2.</td><td>20/01/1992</td><td>19/06/2006</td></tr><tr><td>3.</td><td>29/02/1992</td><td>17/11/2006</td></tr><tr><td>4.</td><td>15/04/1996</td><td>13/07/2015</td></tr><tr><td>5.</td><td>15/04/1996</td><td>13/07/2015</td></tr><tr><td>6.</td><td>15/04/1996</td><td>13/07/2015</td></tr><tr><td>7.</td><td>15/04/1996</td><td>13/07/2015</td></tr><tr><td>8.</td><td>15/04/1996</td><td>13/07/2015</td></tr><tr><td>9.</td><td>15/04/1996</td><td>13/07/2015</td></tr><tr><td>10.</td><td>15/04/1996</td><td>13/07/2015</td></tr></tbody></table><div><br /> 12. The learned Industrial Court has granted relief with <br /> respect to payment of pension by placing reliance on judgment of <br /> this Court in the case of Narendra Shaligram Thakre &amp; others ..vs.. <br /> 1<br /> Nagpur Municipal Corporation and another . In the said case, it is <br /> held that the complainants who were employees of NMC, were <br /> entitled to benefit of regularization of service upon completion of <br /> 240 days of service. However, the said relief was not granted to <br /> them since their services were regularized in the year 1994 and the <br /> 1 In WP No.643/1995 decided on 22.03.2006<br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 12<br /> complaint was filed after an inordinate delay. In the said case, this <br /> Court did not grant other monetary benefits to the complainants <br /> except directing NMC to fix a date on which each complainant had <br /> completed 240 days of service for the purpose of granting benefit of <br /> pension and gratuity. The learned Industrial Court has followed the <br /> said course in the present case as well. <br /> 13. However, as stated above while dealing with contention <br /> with respect to claim of regularization in service upon completion <br /> of 240 days, this Court has held in the case of Subhash Sukhadev <br /> Sahare (Supra) that unless the initial appointment of an employee <br /> working with the NMC is against a sanctioned post, the employee <br /> concerned cannot claim that his service will be regularized upon <br /> completion of 240 days of service in a calendar year as per clause <br /> 4(c) of MSO. It is held that the benefit of the said provision can be <br /> claimed only if initial appointment is against the sanctioned post. <br /> The complainants were not appointed as daily wages against any <br /> sanctioned post. The complainants were not appointed as daily <br /> wagers against any sanctioned post. In view of the aforesaid, relief of <br /> pensionary benefits cannot be granted to the complainants on the <br /> ground that they are entitled for regularization in service from the <br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 13<br /> day on which they completed 240 days service in a calendar year, as <br /> was done in the case of Narendra Shaligram Thakre (Supra).<br /> 14. The complainants have placed reliance on judgment of <br /> the Hon’ble Supreme Court in the case of State of Himachal <br /> 2<br /> Pradesh and another ..vs.. Sheela Devi , which is subsequently <br /> followed in the case of S.D. Jayaprakash and others ..vs.. Union of <br /> 3<br /> India and others . They have also placed reliance on Division Bench <br /> judgment of this Court in the case of Jagjeevan Jaikumar Sanghai <br /> (since deceased) through LRs ..vs.. Parbhani Municipal Corporation <br /> 4<br /> and others to contend that service rendered as daily wager is <br /> required to be taken into consideration for the purpose of <br /> computing pensionable service. <br /> 15. As against this, the learned Advocate for the NMC has <br /> placed strong reliance on Division Bench judgment in the case of <br /> Sanjay N. Revatkar ..vs. Chief officer, Municipal Council, Wardha <br /> 5<br /> and others and a Single Bench decision in the case of Municipal <br /> Council through its Chief Officer ..vs.. Ramesh Haribhauji <br /> 6<br /> Wankhede .<br /> 2 2023 SCC OnLine SC 1272<br /> 3 2025 SCC OnLine SC 973<br /> 4 2018(4) Mh.L.J. 947<br /> 5 In WP No.1533/2011 decided at Nagpur Bench on 07.10.2011<br /> 6 2024 SCC OnLine Bom 2127<br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 14<br /> 16. In the case of Purshuram Vithoba Bhandare ..vs. State of <br /> 7<br /> Maharashtra and others , this Court was dealing with a case of a <br /> daily wager who was appointed on the post of Labour Supervisor in <br /> the year 1964. The said post was sanctioned subsequently in the <br /> year 1980. The petitioner in the said case was granted permanent <br /> appointment on the said post vide order dated 13.09.1980. He <br /> attained the age of superannuation before completing 10 years of <br /> service after 13.09.1980 i.e. the date on which he was appointed on <br /> permanent basis. His pension case was rejected on the ground that <br /> he had not completed qualifying service of 10 years after <br /> 13.09.1980 i.e. from the date of permanent appointment. In this <br /> backdrop, issue arose as to whether services rendered as daily wager <br /> could be taken into consideration. Referring to Rules 30 and 57 of <br /> the MCS (Pension) Rules, 1982 the Division Bench held that since <br /> the petitioner was working on the post from the year 1964, <br /> although as a daily wager, and it was not the case of the State that his <br /> salary was paid from contingency fund, services rendered from the <br /> year 1964 were required to be taken into consideration for <br /> computing pensionable service. Thus, service rendered as a daily <br /> wager from 1964 to 1980 against a non-sanctioned post was <br /> 7 2001(4) Mh.L.J. 587<br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 15<br /> counted as pensionable service. <br /> 17. In the case of Shivappa ..vs.. State of Maharashtra and <br /> 8<br /> others , again Rules 30 and 57 of the MCS (Pension) Rules, 1982 <br /> fell for consideration before Division Bench of this Court. Petitioner <br /> in the said case was appointed as part-time peon in a school run by <br /> the Zilla Parishad. He was thereafter appointed on regular basis vide <br /> order dated 07.07.1990. He attained the age of superannuation on <br /> 30.04.1993. It was the case of the petitioner that he was entitled to <br /> regularization of service in the year 1973 itself, however, he was <br /> wrongly deprived on the said benefit, which was finally granted in <br /> the year 1990. Upon his superannuation, dispute arose as to <br /> whether service rendered prior to 06.07.1990 could be taken into <br /> consideration. Accepting the contention of the petitioner, this Court <br /> has held in paragraph-6 of the judgment as under :- <br /> “6. The only crux in the present matter as the Zilla <br /> Parishad authorities has rejected the claim of present <br /> petitioner relying on Note 2, however, considering the <br /> factual aspect from the present case as it is seen that <br /> the initial appointment order of the present petitioner <br /> as part time Peon is 24-7-1970; he continued as part <br /> time Peon till 10-7-1990 and thereafter by order dated <br /> 6-7-1990 the petitioner was taken on regular cadre in <br /> the pay scale of Rs. 750-12-870-DR-14-940 by the <br /> 8 2005(3) Mh.L.J. 709<br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 16<br /> Chief Executive Officer, Zilla Parishad. The order <br /> passed by the Chief executive Officer, Zilla Parishad is <br /> also on record and the very wording of the said order <br /> safely makes it clear that the persons who are working <br /> as part time and salary being paid from contingency, <br /> those persons are being taken on regular cadre in <br /> class-4 and being fixed in the pay scale of Rs. 750-12-<br /> 870-DR-14-940. After going through the order dated <br /> 7-7-1990 it can be said that it is the fresh order giving <br /> regular employment to the petitioner, however, as he <br /> was already worked as part time Peon and being paid <br /> from contingency the services being regularised in the <br /> pay scale in class-4 servant. We have gone through the <br /> Note 1 and Note 2 of Rule 57 and we find that the <br /> Zilla Parishad has wrongly applied note 2 in the <br /> present matter while rejecting the claim of the <br /> petitioner to grant pension, as in fact in the present <br /> case, Note 1 of Rule 57 is applicable. Therefore, we <br /> find that the claim as set up by the present petitioner <br /> that he is entitled for pensionary benefits, is definitely <br /> justified.”<br /> 18. The Division Bench directed the respondent/employer in <br /> the said case to consider the case of the petitioner for granting him <br /> pension as per Rule 57 Note 1 of MCR Pension Rules, 1982. <br /> 19. In both these cases, services rendered by employees as <br /> daily wager is directed to be taken into consideration as pensionable <br /> service. <br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 17<br /> 20. In the case of Parshuram Bhandare (Supra), the post on <br /> which the petitioner was working as daily wager was sanctioned in <br /> the year 1980. The petitioner had rendered 16 years service from <br /> 1964 onwards against a post, which was not sanctioned till 1980. <br /> Since the post was subsequently sanctioned and salary was not paid <br /> to the petitioner out of consolidation fund, the Division Bench held <br /> that service rendered from the year 1964 was required to be taken <br /> into consideration for claim of pension. <br /> 21. As against this, in the case of Shivappa (Supra), the <br /> Division Bench found that since salary was paid to the petitioner in <br /> the said case, out of contingency fund, the services rendered as daily <br /> wager were required to be counted as per Note 1 of Rule 57 of the <br /> MCR Pension Rules, 1982, which provides that in cases where <br /> employees who are paid from contingency fund are subsequently <br /> brought on regular pensionable establishment, half of their previous <br /> continuous service should be counted for calculating pensionable <br /> service. It needs to be reiterated that service rendered by Shivappa <br /> till the year 1973 to 1990 was as a part time peon and yet, half of <br /> the said period was directed to be counted towards pensionable <br /> service. <br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 18<br /> 22. The judgments in the cases of Parshuram (Supra) and <br /> Shivappa (Supra) are considered in the case of Waliuddin S/o <br /> 9<br /> Pashasaheb ..vs.. State of Maharashtra and another . The petitioner <br /> in the said case was appointed on daily wager with <br /> respondent/Municipal Council on 01.11.1973 and worked till <br /> 30.09.1974. A reference was made before Industrial Court <br /> contending that employees working on daily wages for a period of <br /> 240 days in a calendar year were entitled to benefit of permanency. <br /> The reference was answered in favour of the workers/daily wagers, <br /> directing that daily wager who has completed 240 days service in a <br /> calendar year should be granted permanency upon completion of <br /> 240 days service. The award was accepted by the Municipal <br /> Council/employer. Accordingly, order dated 21.11.1986 was issued <br /> granting permanency to the petitioner upon completion of 240 days <br /> of service. It was stated in the appointment order that the petitioner <br /> will be continued as daily wager till vacancy in permanent post was <br /> available. Thereafter, vide subsequent order dated 19.12.2000, the <br /> petitioner was granted permanency with effect from 01.12.2000. <br /> The petitioner attained age of superannuation on 28.02.2007. In <br /> this backdrop, dispute arose as to whether the petitioner was <br /> 9 WP No.1542/2008 decided at Aurangabad Bench on 25.08.2010<br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 19<br /> entitled for pension. Referring to Rules 30 and 57 of the MCR <br /> Pension Rules, 1982, the Division Bench held that in view of Note <br /> 1 to Rule 57, the petitioner was entitled to receive pension by taking <br /> into consideration half of the service rendered by him from <br /> 01.11.1973 to 30.09.1974 and 21.11.1986 to 30.11.2000 (service <br /> rendered as daily wager in absence of any sanctioned post) in <br /> addition to service from 01.12.2000 to 28.02.2007 (service <br /> rendered as regular employee against sanctioned post). The Division <br /> Bench held that service rendered from 21.11.1986 till 30.11.2000 <br /> was required to be taken into consideration to the extent of half of <br /> the length of service for counting pensionable service in view of <br /> Note 1 to Rule 57. Half of the service is ordered to be counted in <br /> view of the contention of respondent/Municipal Council that salary <br /> during the said period from 21.11.1986 to 30.11.2000 was paid out <br /> of contingency fund. Thus, in this case, service rendered by the <br /> petitioner as a daily wager which was not against any sanctioned <br /> post was ordered to be taken into consideration for computing <br /> pensionable service.<br /> 23. In the case of Syed Afzaluddin Ustad S/o Abdul <br /> 10<br /> Samad ..vs.. State of Maharashtra and another , the petitioner was <br /> 10 WP No.815/2011 decided at Aurangabad Bench on 24.08.2011<br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 20<br /> initially appointed as daily wager in Municipal Council in the year <br /> 1987. His services were regularized pursuant to direction dated <br /> 29.12.2000 issued by the Government of Maharashtra. The <br /> Government of Maharashtra had declared that the employees whose <br /> services were regularized shall not claim any financial or other <br /> benefit of counting their earlier services rendered as daily wager for <br /> the purpose of computation of pension. The respondent/ Municipal <br /> Council raised a contention that since the petitioner had accepted <br /> all the conditions imposed for regularization of services, he was <br /> estopped from claiming pension on the basis of service rendered as a <br /> daily wager. The contention was rejected by this Court holding that <br /> there cannot be any estoppel against law. Services rendered by the <br /> petitioners as a daily wager were ordered to be considered towards <br /> pensionable service. <br /> 24. In the case of Jagjeevan Jaikumar Sanghai (Supra), the <br /> petitioner was appointed as Junior Clerk as a daily wager in January <br /> 1989. He was granted permanency vide order dated 27.09.2001. He <br /> retired from service on 31.07.2006. Upon his superannuation, a <br /> question pertaining to right to receive pension by counting service <br /> rendered as a daily wager arose for consideration. While granting <br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 21<br /> benefit of regularization, one of the conditions imposed was that he <br /> will not be entitled to claim monetary or service benefit of past <br /> service rendered as a daily wager. The petitioner had also tendered <br /> affidavit accepting the said condition. In view of the aforesaid, legal <br /> issue as to whether past service rendered as daily wager could be <br /> counted towards pensionable service and estoppel arose for <br /> consideration. The Division Bench referred to judgment in the case <br /> of Syed Afzaluddin Ustad (Supra) and rejected the contention by <br /> the employer with respect to estoppel. On merits also, it was held <br /> that service rendered on daily wager since the year 1989 was <br /> required to be taken into consideration as pensionable service. It <br /> will however be pertinent to state that in this case, the petitioner <br /> was working as daily wager against a sanctioned post. <br /> 25. From the above decisions, it appears that this Court has <br /> taken a consistent view that the services rendered by an employee as <br /> a daily wager needs to be taken into consideration for computation <br /> of pensionary services if his services are regularized and he retires <br /> from a service as a regular / permanent employee, even in cases <br /> where service is rendered as a daily wager against an unsanctioned <br /> post. Likewise, even service rendered as part time employee needs to <br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 22<br /> be counted towards pensionable service in case where services of <br /> such part time employee are regularized and he superannuates from <br /> service as a regular employee in a pensionable establishment.<br /> 26. The petitioners have also placed reliance a judgment in <br /> the case of Sheela Devi (Supra). In the said case, the <br /> respondents/employees were in employment in Education and <br /> Ayurvedic Department of State Government as contractual <br /> employees. While they were in employment, the earlier pension <br /> scheme was substituted by a new pension scheme in the year 2004. <br /> Under the new pension scheme, the right to receive pension was <br /> abolished. The respondents who were engaged on contract basis, <br /> were granted regularization in service after advent of new pension <br /> scheme, 2004. The contention of the respondent was that after <br /> regularization of their services, the period of service rendered as <br /> contractual employees was required to be counted for the purpose <br /> of pension. The State Government refused to count period of <br /> contractual service for the purpose of pension. The High Court <br /> allowed the petition filed by the respondents/employees holding <br /> that in view of regularization of their services, the period of service <br /> rendered by the employees on contractual basis, was required to be <br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 23<br /> counted for extending benefit of pension to them. The State <br /> Government challenged the order passed by the High Court before <br /> the Hon’ble Supreme Court. The Hon’ble Supreme Court dismissed <br /> the petition in view of Rule 17 of the Central Civil Services <br /> (Pension) Rules, 1972. Rule 17 of CCS Pension Rules read as <br /> under :-<br /> “17. Counting of service on contract.- (1) A person who <br /> is initially engaged by the Government on a contract <br /> for a specified period and is subsequently appointed to <br /> the same or another post in a substantive capacity in a <br /> pensionable establishment without interruption of <br /> duty, may opt either-<br /> (a) to retain the Government contribution in the <br /> Contributory Provident Fund with interest thereon <br /> including any other compensation for that service;<br /> (b) to agree to refund to the Government the monetary <br /> benefits referred to in Clause (a) or to forgo the same if <br /> they have not been paid to him and count in lieu <br /> thereof the service for which the aforesaid monetary <br /> benefits may have been payable.<br /> (2) The option under sub-rule (1) shall be <br /> communicated to the Head of Office under intimation <br /> to the Accounts Officer within a period of three <br /> months from the date of issue of the order of <br /> permanent transfer to pensionable service or if the <br /> Government servant is on leave on the day, within <br /> three months of his return from leave, whichever is <br /> later.<br /> (3) If no communication is received by the Head of <br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 24<br /> Office within the period referred to in sub-rule (2), the <br /> Government servant shall be deemed to have opted for <br /> the retention of the monetary benefit payable or paid to <br /> him on account of service rendered on contract.”<br /> <br /> 27. It will be pertinent to state that Rule 2(f) of the CCS <br /> Pension Rules provides that the said rule shall not be applicable to <br /> persons employed on contract. However, having regard to express <br /> language of Rule 17, the Hon’ble Supreme Court has held that <br /> benefit of past contractual service will have to be granted to the <br /> employees in view of regularization of their service, having regard to <br /> the mandate of Rule 17 of the CCS Pension Rules.<br /> 28. The said decision is followed by the Hon’ble Supreme <br /> Court in the case of S.D. Jayaprakash (Supra). In the said case, the <br /> respondent/Union of India sought to distinguish the judgment in <br /> the case of Sheela Devi (Supra) on the ground that initial <br /> appointment of the petitioners (employees) was not against any <br /> sanctioned post. The Hon’ble Supreme Court allowed the petition <br /> of the employees and issued direction to consider their case for <br /> grant of pension by counting service rendered on contract basis in <br /> view of judgment in the case of Sheela Devi (Supra). <br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 25<br /> 29. Rule 17 of CCS Pension Rules is identical with Rule 38 <br /> of the MCS (Pension) Rules, 1982. In view of aforesaid, the said <br /> decision will be applicable in the present case as well. <br /> 30. The learned Advocate for the petitioner/NMC however <br /> places reliance on Division Bench judgment in the case of Sanjay M. <br /> Revatkar (Supra). In the said case, the services of the <br /> petitioner/employee who was appointed as daily wager were <br /> regularized on 02.08.2003 with a condition that he will not be <br /> entitled for benefit of past service, either financial or otherwise. The <br /> petitioner retired from service on 31.12.2010. His claim for pension <br /> was rejected on the ground that he had not completed 10 years <br /> qualifying service post after 02.08.2003 i.e. date of regularization of <br /> service. It will be pertinent to mention that in the said case, the <br /> petitioner had filed a complaint before the Industrial Court under <br /> Section 28 of the MRTU and PULP Act, 1971. The office order <br /> issued by the Regional Director of Municipal Administration <br /> whereby permission was granted to create posts for regularization of <br /> service of daily wagers, imposed a condition that the daily wager <br /> should withdraw all Court cases claiming benefit on account of <br /> service renedered as daily wager. The petitioner in the said case had <br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 26<br /> withdrawn the complaint filed by him as required under office <br /> order. In view of this, it is held that the petitioner had acquiesced in <br /> the action and therefore, could not claim benefit of past service <br /> rendered as daily wager. This Court also rejected the contention of <br /> the petitioner that past service was required to be counted in view of <br /> Rule 30 of MCS (Pension) Rules, 1982 on the ground that <br /> qualifying service is required to be counted from the date on which <br /> employee is first appointed against a post, either, substantively or in <br /> officiating or temporary capacity and that the post was created for <br /> the first time on 03.06.2003. For these reasons, services rendered as <br /> daily wager were not counted towards pensionable service. <br /> 31. The said judgment in the case of Sanjay Revatkar (Supra) <br /> does not take into consideration Rule 57 of the MCS Pension Rules, <br /> 1982. Likewise, attention of the Court was not drawn to earlier <br /> decisions in the cases of Parshuram Bhandare, Shivappa, Walliuddin <br /> and Syed Afzaluddin Ustad (Supra). <br /> 32. Apart from this, the decision in the said cases, turns on its <br /> own facts, where the petitioner had withdrawn complaint filed <br /> under MRTU and PULP Act, 1971 with respect unfair trade <br /> practice upon benefit of regularization being conferred upon him. <br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 27<br /> In the present case respondents/complainants have not withdrawn <br /> the complaints filed by them.<br /> 33. As regards judgment in the case of Ramesh Haribhauji <br /> Wankhede (Supra), which is relied upon by Mr. Kasat, learned <br /> Advocate for the NMC, the said decision deals with right of <br /> workmen to claim regularization in service upon completion of 240 <br /> days service in a calendar year as per clause 4(c) of MSO. It is held <br /> that benefit of regularization upon completion of 240 days service <br /> cannot be claimed by the employees of a local body in the absence <br /> of any sanctioned post. Apart from this, while dealing with the <br /> prayer for pension, the said judgment places reliance on judgment <br /> in the case of Sanjay Revatkar (Supra) to hold that the employees in <br /> the said case were not entitled to claim pension. For the reasons <br /> recorded in paragraph 31 above while dealing with Sanjay Revatkar <br /> (Supra), it will not be possible to agree with the view in Ramesh <br /> Wankhede (Supra) regarding the respondents/employees right to <br /> claim pension.<br /> 34. In view of judgments in the cases of Parshuram <br /> Bhandare, Shivappa, Walliuddin and Syed Afzaluddin Ustad <br /> (supra), the services rendered by the complainants as daily wagers <br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 28<br /> will have to be taken into consideration for counting pensionable <br /> service, although the same was not against any sanctioned post. <br /> Likewise, the contention with respect to estoppel in view of <br /> acceptance of orders granting permanency which state that the <br /> complainants will not be entitled to benefits of past service for any <br /> purpose is also liable to be rejected, in view of judgment in the case <br /> of Syed Afzaluddin Ustad (supra). In the considered opinion of this <br /> Court, the service rendered by respondents as contractual employees <br /> is required to be counted for the purpose of pension. Likewise, in <br /> view of judgments of the Hon’ble Supreme Court in the case of S.D. <br /> Jayaprakash and Sheela Devi (supra), the complainants who were <br /> appointed on contractual basis as daily wagers prior to introduction <br /> of New Pension Scheme will be entitled to receive pension under <br /> the Old Pension Scheme as per MCS (Pension) Rules, 1982 . <br /> 35. It is, however, necessary to state that there is no evidence <br /> to ascertain as to whether salary of complainants was paid from the <br /> contingency fund or not. In the event, the salary for contractual <br /> period was paid from contingency fund, half of the service rendered <br /> on contractual basis will be counted as pensionable service. If the <br /> salary was not being paid from contingency fund, entire service <br /><br /> WP.4488.2023 Judgmentn.odt<br /> 29<br /> rendered, as contractual employees will have to be counted as <br /> pensionable service. <br /> 36. In view of the reasons recorded above, the <br /> petitioner/NMC is directed to consider the case of each <br /> complainant/respondent and in cases where the total period of <br /> service rendered, including service rendered as daily wager, even <br /> against an unsanctioned post, is more than the pensionable service, <br /> to compute the amount of pension payable to all the complainants <br /> who have superannuated from service and to make payment of <br /> pension to them as early as possible. Arrears of amount of pension <br /> shall be clear as early as possible and in any case, on or before, <br /> 30.06.2026. With respect to complainants, who are still in service, <br /> pension shall be paid on their superannuation in accordance with <br /> MCS (Pension) Rules, 1982. <br /> Petitions are dismissed with no order as to costs.<br /> (ROHIT W. JOSHI, J.)<br /> C.L. Dhakate<br /> </div>