Union Of India And Ors. vs Col. Subramanian Ramesh (Retd.)

Court
Delhi High Court
Case type
Writ Petition Civil
Decided on
27-03-2026
<div> <br /> <br /> $~36 <br /> * <b>IN THE HIGH COURT OF DELHI AT NEW DELHI</b> <br /> % <i>Date of Decision: 27.03.2026 </i><br /> <br /> + W.P.(C) 3979/2026 <br /> UNION OF INDIA AND ORS. .....Petitioners <br /> Through: Ms. Arti Bansal, CGSC <br /> <br /> versus <br /> COL. SUBRAMANIAN RAMESH (RETD.) .....Respondent <br /> Through: Mr. O. S. Punia, Adv. <br /> <b>CORAM: </b><br /> <b>HON&#x27;BLE MR. JUSTICE V. KAMESWAR RAO </b><br /> <b>HON&#x27;BLE MS. JUSTICE MANMEET PRITAM SINGH ARORA </b><br /> <b> </b><br /> <b>MANMEET PRITAM SINGH ARORA, J. </b> <b><i>(ORAL)</i></b> <b> </b><br /> <b> </b><br /> <b>CM APPL. 19488/2026 </b><br /> 1. Exemption is allowed, subject to all just exceptions. <br /> 2. The application stands disposed of. <br /> <b>W.P.(C) 3979/2026 &amp; CM APPL. 19487/2026 </b><br /> 3. This is a writ petition filed under Article 226 of the Constitution of <br /> India against the order dated 29.11.2023 [‘impugned order’] passed by the <br /> Armed Forces Tribunal Principal Bench, New Delhi [‘Tribunal’] in Original <br /> Application [‘O.A.’] No. 2652/2022 titled as <b>Col Subramanium Ramesh </b><br /> <b>(Retd) v. Union of India &amp; Ors.,</b> whereby the Respondent has been granted <br /> the benefit of the disability element of pension for Primary Hypertension <br /> assessed at 30%, rounded off to 50% for life, from the date of his retirement <br /> from the service, i.e.17.07.2011. <b> </b><br /> 4. The facts giving rise to the present petition are that the Respondent, <br /> who was enrolled in the Army Medical Corps [‘AMC’] on 14.11.1981, was <br /> <br /> <br /> <i>W.P.(C) 3979/2026 </i> <i> </i> <i> </i> <i> </i> <i> Page 1 of 9 </i><br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:HEMANT<br /> PRATAP SINGH<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 16:18<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> prematurely released from service on his own request on 17.07.2011 in <br /> 1<br /> LMC SIH1A 1P2 (P) E1. <br /> 5. The Release Medical Board [‘RMB’] held on 13.05.2011 assessed the <br /> disabilities, i.e., (i) Primary Hypertension at 30% for life and (ii) Diabetes <br /> Mellitus Type-2 at 14%, compositely assessed at 40% for life. <br /> The RMB opined that since Primary Hypertension was ‘onset in the <br /> peace station’, i.e., Danapur and Diabetes Mellitus Type-2 was due to <br /> ‘Metabolic desirable of genetic origin’. Therefore, it held that the aforesaid <br /> disabilities are neither attributable to nor aggravated [‘NANA’] by the <br /> military service. <br /> 6. The Respondent’s claim of disability pension was rejected by the <br /> Petitioners vide letter dated 22.12.2011, as the disability was held to be <br /> NANA. Thereafter, the Respondent preferred a First Appeal on 26.09.2022, <br /> which was returned vide letter dated 07.10.2022, stating that the appeal was <br /> filed after a lapse of ten [10] years. <br /> 7. Pursuant thereto, the Respondent filed an O.A. before the Tribunal for <br /> the grant of disability element of pension. Pertinently, in the proceedings <br /> before the Tribunal, the Respondent claimed for disability element of <br /> pension <i>qua</i> one [1] ailment, i.e., Primary Hypertension and gave up his <br /> claim for the other ailment, Diabetes Mellitus Type-2. <br /> 8. Vide the impugned order, the Tribunal, after referring to the <br /> judgments of the Supreme Court in <b>Dharamvir Singh v. Union of India </b><br /> <b>2</b> <b>3</b><br /> <b>and Ors</b> . <b> </b> and <b>Union of India v. Ram Avtar</b> allowed the O.A. and granted <br /> <br /> 1<br /> Low medical category <br /> 2<br /> 2013 (7) SCC 361 <br /> 3<br /> 2014 SCC OnLine SC 1761 <br /> <br /> <br /> <i>W.P.(C) 3979/2026 </i> <i> </i> <i> </i> <i> </i> <i> Page 2 of 9 </i><br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:HEMANT<br /> PRATAP SINGH<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 16:18<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> the relief of disability pension to the Respondent. <br /> <br /> 9. The submission made by the learned counsel for the Petitioners is that <br /> the reliance placed by the Tribunal on the judgment of <b>Dharamvir Singh v. </b><br /> <b>Union of India and Ors</b> . (supra) is totally misplaced as in the said case the <br /> Supreme Court was concerned with the Entitlement Rules for Casualty <br /> Pensionary Awards, 1982 [‘Entitlement Rules, 1982’], whereas the case of <br /> the Respondent needs to be considered under the Entitlement Rules for <br /> Casualty Pensionary Awards to Armed Forces Personnel, 2008 [‘Entitlement <br /> Rules, 2008’]. <br /> 9.1. She contends that the Tribunal has overlooked the Entitlement Rules, <br /> 2008, which govern attributability and aggravation and no longer permit a <br /> blanket presumption in favour of the claimant/officer; and since the RMB <br /> has opined the disease to be NANA, the Tribunal could not have presumed a <br /> causal connection between the disease and the service. <br /> 9.2. She states in the facts of this case that the Respondent was <br /> prematurely released from services at his own request in the year 2011, and <br /> therefore, the Respondent would be governed by the Entitlement Rules, <br /> 2008. <br /> 9.3. She states that the impugned order incorrectly applies the presumption <br /> under the repealed Entitlement Rules, 1982, ignoring the amended regime <br /> under Entitlement Rules, 2008. She states that the Entitlement Rules, 2008, <br /> have done away with the general presumption to be drawn to ascertain the <br /> principle of ‘attributable to or aggravated by military service’. <br /> 9.4. She states that the Tribunal has failed to appreciate the fact that the <br /> Respondent will be governed by the provisions and conditions mentioned <br /> <br /> <br /> <i>W.P.(C) 3979/2026 </i> <i> </i> <i> </i> <i> </i> <i> Page 3 of 9 </i><br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:HEMANT<br /> PRATAP SINGH<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 16:18<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> under Regulation 53 of the Pension Regulations, 2008 [‘2008 Regulation’]. <br /> <br /> 10. We have heard the learned counsel for the Petitioners and perused the <br /> record. Since the Respondent was prematurely released from service on <br /> 17.07.2011, his claim would be governed by the Entitlement Rules 2008. <br /> 11. In another petition, i.e., W.P.(C) 88/2026 titled <b> Union of India v. </b><br /> <b>781466 Ex. SGT Krishna Kumar Dwivedi</b> , decided by this Bench on <br /> 06.01.2026, our attention was drawn to the authoritative judgments of the <br /> coordinate Benches of this Court passed in W.P.(C) 3545/2025 titled <b>Union </b><br /> <b>4</b><br /> <b>of India v. Ex. Sub Gawas Anil Madso</b> and W.P.(C) 140/2024 titled <br /> <b>Union of India vs. Col. Balbir Singh (Retd.</b> ) <b>and other connected </b><br /> <b>5</b><br /> <b>matters</b> <b>,</b> which have conclusively held that even under Entitlement Rules, <br /> 2008 an officer, who suffers from a disease at the time of his release and <br /> applies for disability pension within fifteen [15] years from release of <br /> service, is ordinarily entitled to disability pension and he does not have any <br /> onus to prove the said entitlement. The said judgments emphatically hold <br /> that even under the Entitlement Rules, 2008, the onus to prove a causal <br /> connection between the disability and military service is not on the officer <br /> but on the administration. The Entitlement Rules, 2008, however, <br /> contemplate that in the event the Medical Board concludes that the disease, <br /> though contracted during the tenure of military service, was NANA by <br /> military service, it would have to give cogent reasons and identify the cause, <br /> other than military service, to which the ailment or disability can be <br /> attributed. The said judgments hold that a bald statement in the report of the <br /> <br /> 4<br /> 2025: DHC: 2021-DB <br /> 5<br /> 2025: DHC: 5082-DB <br /> <br /> <br /> <i>W.P.(C) 3979/2026 </i> <i> </i> <i> </i> <i> </i> <i> Page 4 of 9 </i><br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:HEMANT<br /> PRATAP SINGH<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 16:18<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> Medical Board opining ‘onset in peace station’ would not be sufficient for <br /> the military department to deny the claim of disability pension; and rejected <br /> the opinions of the Medical Board. The said judgments hold that the burden <br /> to prove the disentitlement of pension therefore remains on the military <br /> department even under the Entitlement Rules, 2008, and emphasise the <br /> significance of the Medical Board giving specific reasons to justify their <br /> opinion for denial of this beneficial provision to the officer. <br /> 12. On the issue of establishing a causal connection of the disease with <br /> factors <i>other</i> than military service, we also note that the Supreme Court in <br /> <b>6</b><br /> its recent judgment in the case of <b>Bijender Singh vs. Union of India</b> <b> </b> has <br /> reiterated that it is incumbent upon the Medical Board to furnish reasons for <br /> opining that a disease is NANA and the burden to prove the causal <br /> connection [as other than military service] is on the Military Establishment. <b> </b><br /> The character of reasons to be recorded by the Medical Board has <br /> been succinctly explained by the Supreme Court in another recent decision <br /> <b>7</b><br /> of <b>Rajumon T.M. v. Union of India</b> <b>.</b> The Supreme Court held that merely <br /> stating an opinion, such as ‘Constitutional Personality Disorder’, without <br /> giving reasons or causative factors to support such an opinion, is an <br /> unreasoned medical opinion and thus invalid. The Supreme Court explained <br /> that the said opinion of the Medical Board was merely a conclusion and <br /> would not qualify as a reasoned opinion for holding the disease/disability to <br /> be NANA. <br /> 13. In this background of settled law holding that the onus to prove <br /> <br /> 6<br /> 2025 SCC OnLine SC 895 at paragraphs 45.1, 46 and 47 <br /> 7<br /> 2025 SCC OnLine SC 1064 at paragraphs 25, 26, 32 and 36 <br /> <br /> <br /> <i>W.P.(C) 3979/2026 </i> <i> </i> <i> </i> <i> </i> <i> Page 5 of 9 </i><br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:HEMANT<br /> PRATAP SINGH<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 16:18<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> disentitlement remains on the military establishment even vis-à-vis the <br /> Entitlement Rules, 2008 regime and the Medical Board must give cogent <br /> reasons for denying attributability and aggravation of the disease, we have <br /> <br /> examined the facts of this case. <br /> 14. The Respondent was enrolled in the AMC on 14.11.1981, and the <br /> disease Primary Hypertension was discovered in the year 2005 [after 24 <br /> years of service], while he was serving and therefore, the disease has <br /> indisputably arisen during his military service. <br /> 15. The Petitioners have raised the issue of non-entitlement of the <br /> disability element of the pension, on the ground that RMB has held that the <br /> disease is NANA by the military service. The opinion rendered by the RMB <br /> is extracted as under: - <br /> <br /> The RMB has classified the disease as NANA, on the grounds that its <br /> onset occurred in a peace area, and it was not attributable to any stress or <br /> <br /> <br /> <i>W.P.(C) 3979/2026 </i> <i> </i> <i> </i> <i> </i> <i> Page 6 of 9 </i><br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:HEMANT<br /> PRATAP SINGH<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 16:18<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> exigency of military service. <br /> <br /> 16. These very reasons have been specifically rejected by the coordinate <br /> <b>8</b><br /> Bench of this Court in <b>Col. Balbir Singh (Retd.)</b> (supra) in the context of <br /> the Entitlement Rules, 2008, while similarly granting disability pension to <br /> the officer suffering therein from Primary Hypertension. The said reasons <br /> have been held to be invalid grounds for denying attributability to the <br /> military service. <br /> The Division Bench in the said decision, after taking note of <br /> Regulation 423(a) of the Regulations for the Medical Services of the Armed <br /> Forces, 2010, held that the fact that the disability occurred in normal peace <br /> conditions is immaterial and by itself is not sufficient to deny disability <br /> pension to the officer. <br /> The ground ‘onset in peace’ is thus an invalid ground and cannot be <br /> relied upon by the Petitioners to justify NANA. <br /> 17. It is pertinent to note that the RMB herein categorically recorded in <br /> response to the question no. 5 (a) and (b) at internal page 163, that the <br /> disability is not attributable or aggravated to the officer’s own negligence or <br /> misconduct. Thus, the conclusion in the RMB that the disease is ‘onset in <br /> the peace station’ is therefore contradictory and bereft of reasons, required <br /> from the Medical Board. <br /> 18. No other ground has been cited in the RMB report of the Respondent <br /> for opining NANA. <br /> In these facts, since no other causal connection has been found to <br /> exist by the RMB, for the disease, we agree with the Tribunal that the claim <br /> <br /> 8<br /> At paragraph nos. 66 to 74 <br /> <br /> <br /> <i>W.P.(C) 3979/2026 </i> <i> </i> <i> </i> <i> </i> <i> Page 7 of 9 </i><br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:HEMANT<br /> PRATAP SINGH<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 16:18<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> of disability pension has been wrongly rejected by the Military <br /> establishment, and the officer has been rightly held entitled to disability <br /> pension as it is attributable to/or aggravated by the military services. <br /> 19. In view of the aforesaid findings, the Petitioners’ challenge to the <br /> grant of disability element of pension to the Respondent is without any <br /> merit. The Respondent has been rightly held to be entitled to the disability <br /> pension under the Entitlement Rules, 2008, by the Tribunal in the impugned <br /> order. The Respondent is entitled to disability pension as per the Entitlement <br /> Rules 2008 and Regulation 53 of the Pension Regulations 2008. <br /> 20. We also note that in exercise of the certiorari jurisdiction of this Court <br /> over the decision of the Tribunal, the limited parameters of the jurisdiction <br /> 9<br /> are delineated in the judgment of <b>Syed Yakoob v. K.S. Radhakrishnan</b> . <br /> We have examined the impugned order within the said parameters and find <br /> no ground to interfere with the impugned order. <br /> 21. Additionally, we note that the impugned order is dated 29.11.2023, <br /> and the petition has been filed after more than three [3] years, without any <br /> explanation for such a delay. The Petitioners were obligated to comply with <br /> the impugned order of the Tribunal within four [4] months, and it appears <br /> from the record that the Petitioners have not complied with the said order. <br /> The Petitioners ought to have approached this Court immediately and cannot <br /> elect to sleep over compliance with the impugned order of the Tribunal. <br /> Such conduct of the Petitioners shows abject disregard for the legal process. <br /> We hold that the filing of this petition is also grossly barred by delay and <br /> laches, and ought to be dismissed on this ground alone. Nevertheless, we <br /> <br /> 9<br /> 1963 SCC OnLine SC 24 [Paragraph 7 and 8] <br /> <br /> <br /> <i>W.P.(C) 3979/2026 </i> <i> </i> <i> </i> <i> </i> <i> Page 8 of 9 </i><br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:HEMANT<br /> PRATAP SINGH<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 16:18<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> have decided the petition on merits to avoid any further delay by the <br /> Petitioners in complying with the impugned order. <br /> 22. We therefore find no merit in this petition; the petition is dismissed. <br /> No costs. <br /> <b> </b><br /> <b> </b><br /> <b>MANMEET PRITAM SINGH ARORA, J </b><br /> <b> </b><br /> <b> </b><br /> <b>V. KAMESWAR RAO, J </b><br /> <b>MARCH 27, 2026/aa </b><br /> <b> </b><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <i>W.P.(C) 3979/2026 </i> <i> </i> <i> </i> <i> </i> <i> Page 9 of 9 </i><br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Signed By:HEMANT<br /> PRATAP SINGH<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 16:18</div>