Union Of India & Ors. vs Ex Jwo Vijay Shankar

Court
Delhi High Court
Case type
Writ Petition Civil
Decided on
30-03-2026
<div> <br /> <br /> <br /> $~191 <br /> <br /> * <b>IN THE HIGH COURT OF DELHI AT NEW DELHI </b><br /> <br /> % <i>Date of Decision : 30.03.2026 </i><br /> + W.P.(C) 4061/2026 CM APPL. 19946-19947/2026 <br /> UNION OF INDIA &amp; ORS. .....Petitioners <br /> Through: Ms. Uma Prasuna Bachu, SPC <br /> <br /> versus <br /> <br /> EX JWO VIJAY SHANKAR .....Respondent <br /> Through: None <br /> <br /> <b>CORAM:</b> <br /> <b>HON&#x27;BLE MR. JUSTICE V. KAMESWAR RAO</b> <br /> <b>HON&#x27;BLE MS. JUSTICE MANMEET PRITAM SINGH ARORA</b> <br /> <b> </b><br /> <b>MANMEET PRITAM SINGH ARORA, J. </b> <b><i>(ORAL)</i></b> <b> </b><br /> <b> </b><br /> <b>CM APPL. 19947/2026 (exemption) </b><br /> 1. Exemption is allowed subject to all just exceptions. <br /> 2. The application is disposed of. <br /> <b>W.P.(C) 4061/2026 </b><br /> 3. This is a writ petition filed under Article 226 of the Constitution of <br /> India against the order dated 10.03.2025 [‘impugned order’] passed by the <br /> Armed Forces Tribunal Principal Bench, New Delhi [‘Tribunal’] in Original <br /> Application [‘O.A.’] No. 1152 of 2021 titled as <b>Ex JWO Vijay Shankar v. </b><br /> <b>Union of India &amp; Ors.,</b> wherein the Respondent has been granted the <br /> benefit of the disability element of pension for Primary Hypertension <br /> assessed at 30% for life, rounded off to 50% for life, from the date of his <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> <i>W.P.(C) 4061/2026 </i> <i> </i> <i> Page 1 of 8 </i><br /> <br /> <br /> Signed By:HEMANT<br /> PRATAP SINGH<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 17:35<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> discharge from the service. <br /> 4. The facts giving rise to the present petition are that the Respondent <br /> was discharged from the service on 31.01.2020 with permanent low medical <br /> category [‘LMC’] A4G4 (P) after rendering a total 35 years and 06 days of <br /> regular service. <br /> 5. The Release Medical Board [‘RMB’] held on 21.01.2020 assessed the <br /> disability i.e., Primary Hypertension at 30% for life and opined that since the <br /> onset of the disease was at the time when the Respondent was serving at the <br /> peace station i.e., in November 1999, at New Delhi, and also that the <br /> Respondent kept serving in peace area after the onset till retirement, hence, <br /> the aforesaid disability is neither attributable to nor aggravated [‘NANA’] <br /> by the military service as per in terms of the Para 43 of Chapter VI of GMO <br /> 2008. <br /> 6. The Respondent’s claim of disability pension was rejected vide letter <br /> dated 07.09.2021, as the disability was held to be NANA. The Respondent <br /> preferred First Appeal on 27.12.2021 which was also rejected vide letter <br /> dated 22.09.2022. <br /> 7. Subsequently, Respondent filed an O.A. No. 1152 of 2021 before the <br /> Tribunal for the grant of disability element of pension. By the impugned <br /> order, the Tribunal after referring to the judgments of the Supreme Court in <br /> 1<br /> <b>Dharamvir Singh v. Union of India and Ors</b> . and <b>Union of India v. Ram </b><br /> <b>2</b><br /> <b>Avtar</b> has granted the relief of disability pension to the Respondent. <br /> 8. The submission made by the learned counsel for the Petitioners is that <br /> <br /> 1<br /> 2013 (7) SCC 361 <br /> 2<br /> 2014 SCC OnLine SC 1761 <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> <i>W.P.(C) 4061/2026 </i> <i> </i> <i> Page 2 of 8 </i><br /> <br /> <br /> Signed By:HEMANT<br /> PRATAP SINGH<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 17:35<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> the reliance placed by the Tribunal on the judgment of <b>Dharamvir Singh v. </b><br /> <b>Union of India and Ors</b> . (supra) is totally misplaced as in the said case the <br /> Supreme Court was concerned with the Entitlement Rules for Casualty <br /> Pensionary Awards, 1982 [‘Entitlement Rules, 1982’], whereas the case of <br /> the Respondent needs to be considered under the Entitlement Rules for <br /> Casualty Pensionary Awards to Armed Forces Personnel, 2008 [‘Entitlement <br /> Rules, 2008’]. <br /> 8.1 She contends that the Tribunal has overlooked the Entitlement Rules, <br /> 2008, which govern attributability and aggravation and no longer permit a <br /> blanket presumption in favour of the claimant/officer; and since the RMB <br /> has opined the disease to be NANA, the Tribunal could not have presumed a <br /> causal connection between the disease and the service. <br /> <br /> 8.2 She states in the facts of this case, Respondent was discharged from <br /> services on 31.01.2020 and therefore, the Respondent would be governed by <br /> Entitlement Rules, 2008. <br /> 8.3 She states that the impugned order incorrectly applies the presumption <br /> under the repealed Entitlement Rules, 1982, ignoring the amended regime <br /> under Entitlement Rules, 2008. She states that the Entitlement Rules, 2008, <br /> have done away with the general presumption to be drawn to ascertain the <br /> principle of ‘attributable to or aggravated by military service’. <br /> 9. In the facts of this case, since the Respondent took retirement from <br /> service on 31.01.2020, the Respondent’s claim for disability pension would <br /> <i>indeed</i> be governed by the Entitlement Rules, 2008. <br /> 10. Nevertheless, having perused the reasons recorded in the RMB for <br /> opining NANA, we are unable to agree with the submissions made by the <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> <i>W.P.(C) 4061/2026 </i> <i> </i> <i> Page 3 of 8 </i><br /> <br /> <br /> Signed By:HEMANT<br /> PRATAP SINGH<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 17:35<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> learned counsel for the Petitioners that the Tribunal committed any error in <br /> granting relief to this Respondent. <br /> 11. In another petition, i.e., W.P.(C) 88/2026 titled <b> Union of India v. </b><br /> <b>781466 Ex. SGT Krishna Kumar Dwivedi</b> , decided by this Bench on <br /> 06.01.2026, our attention was drawn to the authoritative judgments of the <br /> coordinate Benches of this Court passed in W.P.(C) 3545/2025 titled <b>Union </b><br /> <b>3</b><br /> <b>of India v. Ex. Sub Gawas Anil Madso</b> and W.P.(C) 140/2024 titled <br /> <b>Union of India vs. Col. Balbir Singh (Retd.</b> ) <b>and other connected </b><br /> 4<br /> <b>matters</b> , which have conclusively held that even under Entitlement Rules, <br /> 2008 an officer, who suffers from a disease at the time of his release and <br /> applies for disability pension within 15 years from release of service, is <br /> ordinarily entitled to disability pension and he does not have any onus to <br /> prove the said entitlement. The judgments emphatically hold that even under <br /> the Entitlement Rules, 2008, the onus to prove a causal connection between <br /> the disability and military service is not on the officer but on the <br /> administration. The judgments hold that the Entitlement Rules, 2008, <br /> however, contemplate that in the event the Medical Board concludes that the <br /> disease, though contracted during the tenure of military service, was NANA <br /> by military service, it would have to give cogent reasons and identify the <br /> cause, other than military service, to which the ailment or disability can be <br /> attributed. The judgments hold that a bald statement in the report of the <br /> Medical Board opining ‘ONSET IN PEACE STATION’ would not be <br /> sufficient for the military department to deny the claim of disability pension; <br /> <br /> 3<br /> 2025: DHC: 2021-DB <br /> 4<br /> 2025: DHC: 5082-DB <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> <i>W.P.(C) 4061/2026 </i> <i> </i> <i> Page 4 of 8 </i><br /> <br /> <br /> Signed By:HEMANT<br /> PRATAP SINGH<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 17:35<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> and rejected the opinions of the Medical Board. The judgments hold that the <br /> burden to prove the disentitlement of pension therefore remains on the <br /> military department even under the Entitlement Rules, 2008; and emphasise <br /> on the significance of the Medical Board giving specific reasons to justify <br /> their opinion for denial of this beneficial provision to the officer. <br /> <b>12.</b> <b> </b> On the issue of establishing causal connection of the disease with <br /> factors other than military service, we note that the Supreme Court in its <br /> 5<br /> recent judgment in the case of <b>Bijender Singh vs. Union of India</b> <b> </b> has <br /> reiterated that it is incumbent upon the Medical Board to furnish reasons for <br /> opining that a disease is NANA and the burden to prove the causal <br /> connection (as other than military service) is on the Military Establishment. <b> </b><br /> The character of reasons to be recorded by the Medical Board has <br /> been succinctly explained by the Supreme Court in another recent decision <br /> 6<br /> of <b>Rajumon T.M. v. Union of India</b> . The Supreme Court held that merely <br /> stating an opinion, such as ‘Constitutional Personality Disorder’ without <br /> giving reasons or causative factors to support such an opinion, is an <br /> unreasoned medical opinion and thus invalid. The Supreme Court explained <br /> that the said opinion of the Medical Board was merely a conclusion and <br /> would not qualify as a reasoned opinion for holding the disease/disability to <br /> be NANA. <br /> 13. In this background of settled law holding that the onus to prove <br /> disentitlement remains on military establishment vis-à-vis Entitlement <br /> Rules, 2008 and the Medical Board must give cogent reasons for denying <br /> <br /> 5<br /> 2025 SCC OnLine SC 895 at paragraphs 45.1, 46 and 47 <br /> 6<br /> 2025 SCC OnLine SC 1064 at paragraphs 25, 26, 32 and 36 <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> <i>W.P.(C) 4061/2026 </i> <i> </i> <i> Page 5 of 8 </i><br /> <br /> <br /> Signed By:HEMANT<br /> PRATAP SINGH<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 17:35<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> attributability and aggravation, we have examined the facts of this case. <br /> 14. The Respondent was commissioned in the Indian Air force on <br /> 24.01.1985 and the disease of Primary Hypertension was discovered in the <br /> year 1999 [after 14 years of service], while he was serving and therefore, the <br /> disease has indisputably arisen during his military service. As noted above, <br /> the Respondent was discharged from service on 31.01.2020. <br /> 15. The Petitioners have raised the issue of non-entitlement of the <br /> disability element of the pension on the ground that the Medical Board has <br /> held that the disease is NANA by the military service. The opinion rendered <br /> by the RMB, as reproduced in the impugned order, is extracted as under: - <br /> OPINION OF THE MEDICAL BOARD <br /></div><table><tbody><tr><td>1. Please endorse diseases/disabilities in chronological order of occurrence.</td><td></td><td></td><td></td></tr><tr><td>Disability</td><td>Attributable&lt;br&gt;to service&lt;br&gt;(Y/N)</td><td>Aggravated&lt;br&gt;by service&lt;br&gt;(Y/N)</td><td>Reasons/causes/specific conditions&lt;br&gt;and period in service</td></tr><tr><td>(a) Primary&lt;br&gt;Hypertension&lt;br&gt;(1-10)</td><td>NO</td><td>NO</td><td>The onset of the disability was at&lt;br&gt;peace area New Delhi/Nov 1999.&lt;br&gt;Individual kept serving in peace&lt;br&gt;area after the onset the onset till&lt;br&gt;retirement. There is no causal&lt;br&gt;connection between the disability&lt;br&gt;and the service environment. Hence,&lt;br&gt;conceded NANA by mil service in&lt;br&gt;terms of Para 43 of CH-VI Of GMO-&lt;br&gt;2008.</td></tr></tbody></table><div><br /> [Emphasis Supplied] <br /> 16. The Petitioners reiterate that disease is NANA since the onset of the <br /> disease was at a peace area and that there was no stress of the military <br /> service. <br /> This precise reason in the medical opinion has been specifically <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> <i>W.P.(C) 4061/2026 </i> <i> </i> <i> Page 6 of 8 </i><br /> <br /> <br /> Signed By:HEMANT<br /> PRATAP SINGH<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 17:35<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <i>rejected</i> by the coordinate Bench of this Court in <b>Col. Balbir Singh (Retd.)</b> <br /> <b>7</b><br /> <b>(supra)</b> <b>,</b> while granting disability pension to the officer suffering from <br /> Primary Hypertension, and has been held to be an <i>invalid</i> ground for <br /> denying attributability to the military service. The Division Bench in the <br /> said decision after taking note of Regulation 423(a) of the Regulations for <br /> the Medical Services of the Armed Forces, 2010 held that the fact that the <br /> disability occurred in normal peace conditions is immaterial and by itself is <br /> not sufficient to deny disability pension to the officer. The ratio of the said <br /> judgment is squarely applicable in the facts of this case. <br /> 17. No other reason has been cited in the RMB of the Respondent for <br /> opining NANA. <br /> In these facts, since no other causal connection for the disease has <br /> been found to exist by the RMB, the claim of disability pension has been <br /> wrongly rejected by the military establishment, and the officer has been <br /> rightly held by the Tribunal to be entitled to disability pension. The <br /> Respondent is entitled to the disability pension as per Entitlement Rules <br /> 2008. <br /> 18. We also note that in exercise of the certiorari jurisdiction of this Court <br /> over the decision of the Tribunal, the limited parameters of the jurisdiction <br /> 8<br /> are delineated in the judgment of <b>Syed Yakoob v. K.S. Radhakrishnan</b> . <br /> We have examined the impugned order within the said parameters and find <br /> no ground to interfere with the impugned order. <br /> 19. Additionally, we note that the impugned order is dated 10.03.2025 <br /> <br /> 7<br /> At paragraph nos. 66 to 74 <br /> 8<br /> (1963) SSC OnLine SC 24 at paragraph 7 and 8 <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> <i>W.P.(C) 4061/2026 </i> <i> </i> <i> Page 7 of 8 </i><br /> <br /> <br /> Signed By:HEMANT<br /> PRATAP SINGH<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 17:35<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> and the petition has been filed after nearly a year, without any explanation <br /> for such a delay. The Petitioner was obliged to comply with the impugned <br /> order of the Tribunal within three (3) months with effect from 10.03.2025; <br /> however, the same has not been complied with till date. Keeping in view <br /> that the claim of disability pension is beneficial in nature, the Petitioner <br /> ought to have taken steps to file its challenge within a time bound period, <br /> and certainly before the period of three (3) months had lapsed. There is no <br /> explanation whatsoever for the delay in approaching this Court and <br /> presumably the order of Tribunal have also not been complied with. We <br /> thus, hold that filing of this petition is also barred by delay and laches. <br /> 20. In view of the aforesaid findings, the Petitioners’ challenge to the <br /> grant of disability element of pension to the Respondent, is without any <br /> merits. The Petitioners are directed to comply with the order of the Tribunal <br /> without any further delay. <br /> 21. We therefore find no merit in this petition; the petition is dismissed. <br /> Pending application, if any, stands dismissed. No costs. <br /> <br /> <br /> <b>MANMEET PRITAM SINGH ARORA, J </b><br /> <b> </b><br /> <b> </b><br /> <b>V. KAMESWAR RAO, J</b> <br /> <b>MARCH 30, 2026/IB/</b> rhc <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> <i>W.P.(C) 4061/2026 </i> <i> </i> <i> Page 8 of 8 </i><br /> <br /> <br /> Signed By:HEMANT<br /> PRATAP SINGH<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 17:35</div>