Magma Hdi General Insurance Co Ltd vs Naresh Pandit & Ors.

Court
Delhi High Court
Case type
Misc Application
Decided on
23-03-2026
<div> <br /> <br /> $~11 <br /> * <b>IN THE HIGH COURT OF DELHI AT NEW DELHI </b><br /> <b><i>rd</i></b><br /> <b>% </b> <b> </b> <b> </b> <b><i>Date of decision: 23</i></b> <b><i> March 2026 </i></b><br /> <b><i> </i></b><br /> <br /> <b>+ </b> <b>MAC.APP. 271/2021&amp; CM APPL.34953/2021 </b><br /> MAGMA HDI GENERAL INSURANCE CO LTD.....Appellant <br /> Through: Mr. Ved Vyas Tripathi, Advocate <br /> <br /> versus <br /> <br /> NARESH PANDIT &amp; ORS. .....Respondents <br /> Through: Mr. Shrey Chathly, Advocate. <br /> <b> </b><br /> <b>CORAM:</b> <br /> <b>HON&#x27;BLE MR. JUSTICE ANISH DAYAL</b> <br /> <b>JUDGMENT</b> <br /> <b> </b> <b> </b> <b> </b> <br /> <b>ANISH DAYAL, J (ORAL) </b><br /> 1. This appeal has been filed by the Insurance Company seeking <br /> th<br /> reduction of compensation awarded <i>vide</i> judgment dated 20 January 2020, <br /> passed by the Motor Accident Claim Tribunal, West, Tis Hazari Courts, Delhi <br /> [“ <b><i>MACT</i></b> ”] in <i>MACP No.76735/2016</i> , whereby compensation of <br /> <i>Rs.40,14,000/-</i> along with interest @ 9% per annum was awarded. <br /> nd rd<br /> 2. Accident occurred on the intervening night of 2 /3 July 2014, when <br /> <i>Naresh Pandit</i> /injured [ <i>respondent no.1 herein</i> ], aged about 25 years, was <br /> working as a truck driver and, while repairing a punctured tyre of his truck <br /> near <i>G.T Road, in front of Annapurna Apartment, Sahibabad, Uttar Pradesh</i> , <br /> a truck bearing no. <i>JH 02P 8075</i> [“ <b><i>offending vehicle</i></b> ”], driven by respondent <br /> no.3 and owned by respondent no.2, hit the stationary vehicle from behind <br /> causing grievous injuries and leading to <i>above-knee amputation of left leg</i> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Digitally Signed By:RAHUL<br /> KUMAR CHOUDHARY<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 15:04:24<br /> <i>MAC.APP. 271/2021 Page 1 of 11 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <br /> <br /> and <i>fracture to the shaft of right femur</i> . Upon filing claim petition, MACT <br /> relied on the testimony of the injured/respondent no.1 [ <b>PW-3]</b> and <br /> eyewitness/employer [ <b>PW-4</b> ], and the absence of rebuttal evidence, held the <br /> driver to be negligent. <br /> 3. MACT awarded compensation to the respondent no.1/injured on <br /> account of grievous injuries resulting in above-knee amputation of the left <br /> leg and fracture of the right femur, treating the functional disability as 100% <br /> in relation to the whole body. The compensation was computed under various <br /> pecuniary and non-pecuniary heads as follows: <i>Rs. 3,41,334/-</i> towards <br /> <i>medical expenses</i> ; <i>Rs. 50,000/-</i> towards <i>conveyance</i> ; <i>Rs. 35,000/-</i> towards <br /> <i>special diet</i> ; <i>Rs. 50,000/-</i> towards <i>attendant charges</i> ; <i>Rs. 31,37,100/-</i> towards <br /> <i>loss of future earning capacity on account of permanent disability</i> ; <i>Rs. </i><br /> <i>2,00,000/-</i> towards <i>pain, suffering and trauma</i> ; and <i>Rs. 2,00,000/-</i> towards <br /> <i>loss of amenities of life and disfigurement</i> . Accordingly, the total <br /> compensation was assessed at <i>Rs.40,13,434/-, </i> rounded off to <i>Rs.40,14,000/-</i><br /> , along with interest at the rate of 9% per annum from the date of filing of <br /> the claim petition till realization. <br /> <br /> <b><i>Analysis </i></b><br /> 4. The functional disability was taken as 100%, considering that injured <br /> was a truck driver and his permanent disability was certified at 81% with <br /> regard to both his limbs, as per disability certificate [ <b>Exhibit PW1/1</b> ]. <br /> MACT, in the impugned award, categorically held that injured was a driver <br /> by profession and that his driving license was not challenged. Endorsing this <br /> th<br /> view, this Court while admitting the appeal on 05 October, 2021 noted as <br /> under: <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Digitally Signed By:RAHUL<br /> KUMAR CHOUDHARY<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 15:04:24<br /> <i>MAC.APP. 271/2021 Page 2 of 11 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <i>“7. </i> <i>So far as the contention of the learned counsel </i><br /> <i>for the appellant is concerned with regard to taking the </i><br /> <i>functional disability at 100%, I am of the view that the </i><br /> <i>award prima facie does not suffer from said infirmity for </i><br /> <i>the reasons that injured was a truck driver and he </i><br /> <i>sustained 81% disability with regard to both his limbs </i><br /> <i>and had also suffered amputation above the knee of the </i><br /> <i>left leg. Clearly the claimant would not be in a position </i><br /> <i>to drive a vehicle because of injury sustained in the </i><br /> <i>accident.” </i><br /> <i> </i><br /> 5. The Court also, on the same day directed release of the 100% of the <br /> amount under the head of a <i>loss of future income</i> and directed as under: <br /> <i>“11. </i> <i>The tribunal shall release 100% of the amount </i><br /> <i>awarded under the heads; (1) ‘Expenses relating to </i><br /> <i>treatment, </i> <i>hospitalisation </i> <i>and </i> <i>medicines’, </i> <i>(2) </i><br /> <i>‘Conveyance’, (3) ‘Food (Special Diet)’ (4) ‘Attendant </i><br /> <i>Charges’ and (5) ‘Pain, Suffering &amp; Trauma’ and further </i><br /> <i>the amount awarded under the head of ‘Loss of future </i><br /> <i>earning on account of permanent disability’ as per the </i><br /> <i>scheme of disbursal.” </i><br /> <i> </i><br /> 6. In any event, considering that the vocation of respondent no.1/injured <br /> [ <i>truck driver</i> ] would be seriously affected by the said disability, this Court is <br /> not inclined to accept this plea of appellant/Insurance Company and reduce <br /> the functional disability. <br /> 7. <i>Second issue</i> , raised by <i>Mr. Ved Vyas Tripathi</i> , counsel for Insurance <br /> Company, relates to the grant of non-pecuniary compensation under the head <br /> of <i>loss of amenities</i> and <i>disfigurement</i> at <i>Rs.2,00,000/-.</i> He places reliance on <br /> the decision of the Supreme Court in <b><i>Parminder Singh v. New India </i></b><br /> <b><i>Assurance Co. Ltd. </i></b> (2019) 7 SCC 217, which, while quoting in <i>paragraph </i><br /> <i>5.5</i> extracts from <b><i>Raj Kumar v. Ajay Kumar </i></b> (2011) 1 SCC 343, noted that <br /> the need to award compensation separately under the head of <i>loss of </i><br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Digitally Signed By:RAHUL<br /> KUMAR CHOUDHARY<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 15:04:24<br /> <i>MAC.APP. 271/2021 Page 3 of 11 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <i>amenities</i> or <i>loss of expectation of life</i> may disappear and, as a result, only a <br /> total or nominal amount may have to be awarded under the <i>loss of amenities</i> <br /> or <i>loss of expectation of life</i> . <br /> 8. However, this argument made by <i>Mr</i> . <i>Tripathi</i> , counsel for Insurance <br /> Company, may not be tenable, considering that the Supreme Court in <b><i>Raj </i></b><br /> <b><i>Kumar v. Ajay Kumar </i></b> <b>(</b> <i>supra</i> <b>) </b> made the said observation in the context of <br /> duplication of compensation and not for diluting the award of nominal <br /> amounts towards the non-pecuniary damages. Relevant paragraphs of <b><i>Raj </i></b><br /> <b><i>Kumar v. Ajay Kumar </i></b> ( <i>supra</i> ) <b> </b> are extracted as under: <br /> <i>“13. Ascertainment of the effect of the permanent </i><br /> <i>disability on the actual earning capacity involves three </i><br /> <i>steps. The Tribunal has to first ascertain what activities </i><br /> <i>the claimant could carry on in spite of the permanent </i><br /> <i>disability and what he could not do as a result of the </i><br /> <i>permanent disability (this is also relevant for awarding </i><br /> <i>compensation under the head of loss of amenities of </i><br /> <i>life). The second step is to ascertain his avocation, </i><br /> <i>profession and nature of work before the accident, as </i><br /> <i>also his age. The third step is to find out whether (i) the </i><br /> <i>claimant is totally disabled from earning any kind of </i><br /> <i>livelihood, or (ii) whether in spite of the permanent </i><br /> <i>disability, the claimant could still effectively carry on </i><br /> <i>the activities and functions, which he was earlier </i><br /> <i>carrying on, or (iii) whether he was prevented or </i><br /> <i>restricted from discharging his previous activities and </i><br /> <i>functions, but could carry on some other or lesser scale </i><br /> <i>of activities and functions so that he continues to earn </i><br /> <i>or can continue to earn his livelihood. </i><br /> <i>……… </i><br /> <i>15. It may be noted that when compensation is awarded </i><br /> <i>by treating the loss of future earning capacity as 100% </i><br /> <i>(or even anything more than 50%), the need to award </i><br /> <i>compensation separately under the head of loss of </i><br /> <i>amenities or loss of expectation of life may disappear </i><br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Digitally Signed By:RAHUL<br /> KUMAR CHOUDHARY<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 15:04:24<br /> <i>MAC.APP. 271/2021 Page 4 of 11 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <i>and as a result, only a token or nominal amount may </i><br /> <i>have to be awarded under the head of loss of amenities </i><br /> <i>or loss of expectation of life, as otherwise there may be </i><br /> <i>a duplication in the award of compensation. Be that as </i><br /> <i>it may.” </i><br /> (emphasis added) <i> </i><br /> 9. Even in <b><i>Parminder Singh v. New India Assurance Co. Ltd. </i></b> ( <i>supra</i> ), <br /> the Supreme Court awarded <i>Rs.10,00,000/-</i> as a lump sum amount towards <br /> <i>future medical expenses</i> and <i>attendant charges</i> , looking at the condition of <br /> claimant. For ease of reference, relevant paragraph is extracted as under: <br /></div><table><thead><tr><th>“5.12.</th><th>Given the debilitated state of the appellant, no</th><th></th></tr></thead><tbody><tr><td>amount of money can compensate him. He has been in</td><td></td><td></td></tr><tr><td>this condition since the age of 22 years when the</td><td></td><td></td></tr><tr><td>accident took place, and will remain like this throughout</td><td></td><td></td></tr><tr><td>his life. The appellant has also been deprived of having</td><td></td><td></td></tr><tr><td>a normal married life with a family, and would require</td><td></td><td></td></tr><tr><td>medical assistance from time to time. Being completely</td><td></td><td></td></tr><tr><td>dependent, he would require the help of an attendant</td><td></td><td></td></tr><tr><td>throughout his life. In view of these uncontroverted</td><td></td><td></td></tr><tr><td>facts, we deem it fit and appropriate to award a lump</td><td></td><td></td></tr><tr><td>sum amount of Rs 10,00,000 to the appellant towards</td><td></td><td></td></tr><tr><td>medical expenses and attendant charges.”</td><td></td><td></td></tr></tbody></table><div><br /> (emphasis added) <br /> <br /> 10. On this ground also, this Court does not find anything amiss in <br /> compensation granted by MACT under the head of <i>loss of amenities</i> and <br /> <i>disfigurements </i> in the sum of <i>Rs.2,00,000/-</i> , particularly considering the <br /> <i>above knee amputation of the left leg,</i> <i>fracture of the shaft of right femur,</i> and <br /> the age of respondent no.1 being <i>25 years</i> on the date of the accident. <br /> 11. <i>Third issue</i> , which has been raised by <i>Mr</i> . <i>Tripathi</i> , counsel for <br /> Insurance Company, relates to the award by the MACT towards <i>future </i><br /> <i>medical expenses</i> , essentially towards the cost of the <i>prosthetic</i> and its <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Digitally Signed By:RAHUL<br /> KUMAR CHOUDHARY<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 15:04:24<br /> <i>MAC.APP. 271/2021 Page 5 of 11 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <br /> <br /> maintenance. This was based on the testimony of <i>Ms. Nupur Bhardwaj, </i><br /> <i>Prosthetist &amp; Orthotist of Ottobock Healthcare India Private Limited</i> [ <b>PW-</b><br /> <b>2</b> ], who provided certain quotations for the above-knee prosthetic. Same was <br /> <i>Rs.5,76,580/-</i> with 10% increase every year and 5% GST. <br /> 12. <i>Mr</i> . <i>Tripathi</i> , counsel for Insurance Company, relies upon the decision <br /> in <b><i>HDFC Ergo General Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Mukesh Kumar </i></b> (2022) 14 <br /> SCC 470, where reliance has been placed on earlier decision in <b><i>Nagappa v. </i></b><br /> <b><i>Gurudayal Singh, </i></b> (2003) 2 SCC 274 <b><i> </i></b> and <b><i>Sapna v. United India Insurance </i></b><br /> <b><i>Co. Ltd., </i></b> (2008) 7 SCC 613,to contend that <i>future medical expenses</i> cannot <br /> be granted as a matter of continuing mandamus and the determination of such <br /> amounts must be made at one go. <br /> 13. The Court is also of the opinion that the compensation towards use of <br /> prosthetics, or any other <i>future medical expenses,</i> cannot be granted by way <br /> of an open-ended direction, but will have to be determined by some <br /> reasonable estimation at the stage of passing the award with such <br /> qualifications as may be necessary. <br /> 14. In the present case, the prosthetic has, till date has not been used by <br /> respondent no.1/injured, as stated by <i>Mr. Shrey Chathly</i> , counsel for <br /> claimant. Claimant is approximately about 37 years of age and, taking into <br /> account the discussion in <b><i>Mohd Sabeer Alias Shabir Hussain v Regional </i></b><br /> <b><i>Manager, UPSRTC, </i></b> 2022 SCC OnLine SC 1701, estimating that he would <br /> require a prosthetic and would continue to use it for approximately 35 years, <br /> with the approximate estimated life of prosthetic being about seven years, he <br /> would require at least five prosthetics. <br /> 15. Cost of prosthetic is considered as per the quotation, extracted as <br /> under: <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Digitally Signed By:RAHUL<br /> KUMAR CHOUDHARY<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 15:04:24<br /> <i>MAC.APP. 271/2021 Page 6 of 11 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Digitally Signed By:RAHUL<br /> KUMAR CHOUDHARY<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 15:04:24<br /> <i>MAC.APP. 271/2021 Page 7 of 11 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> 16. In <b><i>Mohd Sabeer Alias Shabir Hussain v Regional Manager, UP State </i></b><br /> <b><i>Road Transport Corporation</i></b> ( <i>supra</i> ), the Supreme Court assumed that a <br /> person would ordinarily live till he is 70-years-old if not more, and <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Digitally Signed By:RAHUL<br /> KUMAR CHOUDHARY<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 15:04:24<br /> <i>MAC.APP. 271/2021 Page 8 of 11 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <br /> <br /> accordingly, awarded compensation keeping into account the estimated life <br /> of prosthetic usage. Relevant paragraph is extracted as under: <br /> “ <i>23. As per the current compensation given for the </i><br /> <i>prosthetic limb and its maintenance, it would last the </i><br /> <i>appellant for only 15 years, even if we were to assume that </i><br /> <i>the limb would not need to be replaced after a few years. </i><br /> <i>The appellant was only 37 years at the time of the accident, </i><br /> <i>and it would be reasonable to assume that he would live </i><br /> <i>till he is 70 years old if not more. We are of the opinion that </i><br /> <i>the appellant must be compensated so that he is able to </i><br /> <i>purchase three prosthetic limbs in his lifetime and is able </i><br /> <i>to maintain the same at least till he has reached 70 years </i><br /> <i>of age. For the prosthetic limbs alone, the appellant is to </i><br /> <i>be awarded compensation of Rs 7,80,000 and for </i><br /> <i>maintenance of the same he is to be awarded an additional </i><br /> <i>Rs 5,00,000.</i> ” <br /> (emphasis added) <br /> <br /> 17. Taking a broad assessment of these costs towards the prosthetic limbs <br /> and their maintenance over the lifetime of the claimant, estimating <br /> <i>Rs.6,50,000/-</i> towards <i>prosthetic</i> and <i>Rs.50,000/- </i> towards maintenance, <br /> bringing the total of <i>Rs.7,00,000/- </i> for each prosthetic, compensation for 5 <br /> prosthetics is assessed at <i>Rs. 35,00,000</i> /-. Considering that this amount is <br /> being calculated as of the present date, question of interest on <i>Rs.35,00,000/-</i> <br /> would not arise. <br /> 18. Therefore, total amount of <i>Rs.40,14,000/-</i> (awarded by MACT) along <br /> with <i>Rs. 35,00,000</i> /- (additional compensation for prosthetic and its <br /> maintenance is awarded). Revised computation is as under: <br /> <br /></div><table><thead><tr><th>S.NO</th><th>HEADS</th><th></th><th>AWARDED BY</th><th></th><th></th><th>AWARDED BY</th><th></th></tr></thead><tbody><tr><td></td><td></td><td></td><td>TRIBUNAL</td><td></td><td></td><td>COURT</td><td></td></tr><tr><td>1.</td><td>Reimbursement of medical&lt;br&gt;expenses (A)</td><td>Rs. 3,41,334/-</td><td></td><td></td><td>Rs. 3,41,334/-</td><td></td><td></td></tr></tbody></table><div><br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Digitally Signed By:RAHUL<br /> KUMAR CHOUDHARY<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 15:04:24<br /> <i>MAC.APP. 271/2021 Page 9 of 11 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <br /> <br /></div><table><thead><tr><th>2.</th><th>Conveyance (B)</th><th>Rs. 50,000/-</th><th>Rs. 50,000/-</th></tr></thead><tbody><tr><td>3.</td><td>Special diet (C)</td><td>Rs.35,000/-</td><td>Rs.35,000/-</td></tr><tr><td>4.</td><td>Attendant charges (D)</td><td>Rs. 50,000/-</td><td>Rs. 50,000/-</td></tr><tr><td>5.</td><td>Income of injured (E)</td><td>Rs.10,374/-</td><td>Rs.10,374/-</td></tr><tr><td>6.</td><td>Add Future Prospects (F)</td><td>40%</td><td>40%</td></tr><tr><td>7.</td><td>Multiplier (G)</td><td>18</td><td>18</td></tr><tr><td>8.</td><td>Functional Disability (H)</td><td>100%</td><td>100%</td></tr><tr><td>9.</td><td>Loss of earning capacity&lt;br&gt;including future due to&lt;br&gt;disability [(E×12)+F] × G × H =&lt;br&gt;(I)</td><td>Rs. 31,37,100/-</td><td>Rs. 31,37,100/-</td></tr><tr><td>10.</td><td>Pain, suffering and trauma (J)</td><td>Rs. 2,00,000/-</td><td>Rs. 2,00,000/-</td></tr><tr><td>11.</td><td>Loss of amenities of life and&lt;br&gt;disfigurement (K)</td><td>Rs. 2,00,000/-</td><td>Rs. 2,00,000/-</td></tr><tr><td>12.</td><td>Conveyance &amp; special diet&lt;br&gt;(present and future) (L)</td><td>Nil</td><td>Nil</td></tr><tr><td>13.</td><td>Compensation for mental and&lt;br&gt;physical shock (M)</td><td>Nil</td><td>Nil</td></tr><tr><td>14.</td><td>Loss of expectation of life (N)</td><td>Nil</td><td>Nil</td></tr><tr><td>15.</td><td>Artificial limb/prosthetic and&lt;br&gt;maintenance (O)</td><td>Nil</td><td>Rs. 35,00,000/-</td></tr><tr><td>Total compensation&lt;br&gt;(A+B+C+D+I+J+K+O)</td><td></td><td>Rs. 40,14,000/-&lt;br&gt;(Round off Rs.&lt;br&gt;40,13,434/-)</td><td>Rs. 75,14,000/-&lt;br&gt;(Round off Rs.&lt;br&gt;75,13,434/-)</td></tr><tr><td>Interest awarded</td><td></td><td>9% per annum</td><td>9% per annum&lt;br&gt;(No interest on Rs.&lt;br&gt;35,00,000/- awarded&lt;br&gt;towards prosthetic&lt;br&gt;limb)</td></tr><tr><td>Enhanced amount</td><td></td><td>Rs. 35,00,000/-</td><td></td></tr></tbody></table><div><br /> <br /> 19. This Court <i>vide</i> order dated 05th October 2021, directed Insurance <br /> Company to deposit the entire awarded amount of compensation along with <br /> interest before MACT within four weeks, and further directed release of <br /> 100% of amount awarded under the heads of expenses relating to <i>treatment, </i><br /> <i>hospitalisation and medicines, conveyance, food (special diet), attendant </i><br /> <i>charges, pain, suffering and trauma, and loss of future earning</i> on account <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Digitally Signed By:RAHUL<br /> KUMAR CHOUDHARY<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 15:04:24<br /> <i>MAC.APP. 271/2021 Page 10 of 11 </i><br /> <br /><br /> <br /> <br /> of permanent disability be released to the claimant as per the scheme of <br /> disbursal. The balance amount be also disbursed as per the scheme directed <br /> by MACT. <br /> 20. The additional amount of <i>Rs.35,00,000/-</i> shall be deposited by the <br /> Insurance Company before MACT within six weeks and shall be retained in <br /> a fixed deposit. An amount of upto <i>Rs. 7,00,000/-</i> be disbursed by MACT <br /> each time a prosthetic limb is procured by claimant/injured. Such <br /> disbursement on actuals and only upon production of original invoice and <br /> documents issued by authorised seller/dealer and after due verification of the <br /> same by MACT. In the event, the injured/claimant does not claim the said <br /> amount or fails to produce proof regarding procurement of the prosthetic <br /> limb, the unclaimed amount shall be returned to the Insurance Company. <br /> 21. Accordingly, the appeal is disposed of in the above terms. <br /> 22. Pending applications, if any, are rendered as infructuous. <br /> 23. Statutory deposit, if any, shall be refunded to the appellant. <br /> 24. Copy of this judgment shall be sent to concerned MACT. <br /> 25. Judgment be uploaded on the website of this Court. <br /> <br /> <b>(ANISH DAYAL) </b><br /> <b> JUDGE </b><br /> <b>MARCH 23, 2026/ab/</b> tk <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> Digitally Signed By:RAHUL<br /> KUMAR CHOUDHARY<br /> Signing Date:02.04.2026<br /> 15:04:24<br /> <i>MAC.APP. 271/2021 Page 11 of 11 </i><br /> </div>