UNITED INDIA INSURANCE CO. LTD vs CHAMPA DEVI
- Court
- High Court of Himachal Pradesh
High Court of H.P.
1 2026:HHC:47842
IN THE HIGH COURT OF HIMACHAL PRADESH, SHIMLA.
FAO (MV) No. 379 of 2017
Reserved on : 13.10.2026
Decided on : 31.10.2026
Uploaded on : 31.10.2026
United India Insurance Company Ltd. ...Appellant
Versus
Champa Devi & Others ...Respondents
Coram
The Hon’ble Mr. Justice Virender Singh, Judge.
1
Whether approved for reporting? Yes.
For the appellant: Mr. P.S. Chandel, Advocate.
For the respondents: Mr. Gaurav Sharma, Advocate,
for respondent No. 1.
None for remaining
respondents.
Virender Singh, Judge
AppellantUnited India Insurance Company Ltd.
has filed the present appeal, under Section 173 of the Motor
Vehicles Act (hereinafter referred to as ‘the M.V. Act’), against
the award dated 01.04.2017, passed by learned Motor
1
Whether the reporters of Local Papers may be allowed to see the judgment?
::: Downloaded on - 31/10/2026 13:11:16 :::CIS
High Court of H.P.
2 2026:HHC:47842
Accident Claims Tribunal, Una, District Una, H.P. (hereinafter
referred to as ‘the Tribunal’), in MAC Petition No. 41/2016,
titled as ‘Champa Devi Versus Pritika Autocost Ltd. & Others’.
2. By way of the award, dated 01.04.2017, the
learned Tribunal has allowed the above titled claim petition
filed by respondent No. 1 and awarded a sum of Rs.
10,68,000/, along with interest at the rate of 9% per annum,
from the date of filing of the petition, till the deposit of the
awarded amount along with interest. The ultimate liability to
pay the compensation has been fastened upon the appellant
Insurance Company.
3. For the sake of convenience, the parties to the
present are, hereinafter referred to, in the same manner,
lis,
as were, referred to, by the learned Tribunal.
STAND OF THE PETITIONERS BEFORE LEARNED
TRIBUNAL:
4. Brief facts, leading to filing of the present appeal,
before this Court, as borne out from the record, may be
summed up, as under:
4.1 PetitionerChampa Devi has filed the petition
under Section 166 of M.V. Act, seeking compensation on
::: Downloaded on - 31/10/2026 13:11:16 :::CIS
High Court of H.P.
3 2026:HHC:47842
account of death of her son Gurbaksh Singh, in a motor
vehicle accident, involving vehicle No. HP725426,
(hereinafter referred to as ‘the offending vehicle’), owned by
respondent No. 1 Pritika Autocost Ltd., driven by respondent
No. 2 Ashwani Kumar and insured with respondent No. 3
United India Insurance Company Ltd.
4.2 As per the petitioner, her son, at the time of his
death was 26 years of age and he was driver by profession
and as such, he was earning Rs. 12,000/ per month.
4.3 According to the petitioner, on 10.02.2016, at
about 12:00 noon, her son was coming back to his home at
Village Bathu, on his motorcycle, after visiting the petitioner,
at village Badehar, District Una, H.P. When, he reached just
ahead of Swan bridge on Santokhgarh Tahliwal Road,
meanwhile, the offending vehicle, being driven by respondent
No. 2, in a rash and negligent manner, came there and hit the
motorcycle of the son of the petitioner. Consequently, he
sustained fatal injuries and expired.
4.4 The information regarding the accident was given
to the police of Police Station Haroli, and FIR No. 23/2016,
::: Downloaded on - 31/10/2026 13:11:16 :::CIS
High Court of H.P.
4 2026:HHC:47842
dated 10.02.2016, under Sections 279, 337, 304A of IPC,
was registered.
4.5 The postmortem examination of the dead body of
Gurbaksh Singh was conducted by Doctors at R.H. Una, on
10.02.2016.
4.6 The petitioner has also pleaded about her bright
past and bleak future. Since the accident has solely been
attributed to rash and negligent driving of the driver of the
offending vehicle, as such, the petitioner has sought amount
of compensation of Rs. 12,00,000/, from the respondents.
STAND OF THE RESPONDENTS BEFORE LEARNED
TRIBUNAL:
5. When put to notice, the claim petition has been
contested by the respondents.
5.1 Respondents No. 1 and 2 have filed their joint
reply, by taking preliminary objections that the petition is not
maintainable; and the claim petition is bad for nonjoinder of
necessary parties, as the insurer and registered owner of
motorcycle have not been impleaded in the present case.
5.2 On merits, the factum of accident, as well as, the
registration of FIR has not been disputed. However,
::: Downloaded on - 31/10/2026 13:11:16 :::CIS
High Court of H.P.
5 2026:HHC:47842
according to them, the accident in question had taken place,
due to the negligence of Gurbaksh Singh himself, as he was
riding the motorcycle in rash and negligent manner. The FIR
in question is stated to have been lodged against respondent
No. 2, in order to get the amount of compensation.
5.3 The Insurance Companyrespondent No. 3 has
filed its separate reply, taking preliminary objections, that the
claim petition is not maintainable; respondent No. 2 was not
having valid and effective driving licence to drive the offending
vehicle, at the time of accident; the offending vehicle was
being permitted to ply in violation of the terms and conditions
of the insurance policy; and the petition is bad for nonjoinder
of the necessary parties, as the owner and insurer of the
motorcycle, being driven by the deceased, have not been
impleaded as parties.
5.4 On merits, the contents of the claim petition have
been denied, mainly for want of knowledge.
6. As such, a prayer has been made to dismiss the
petition.
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE LEARNED TRIBUNAL:
::: Downloaded on - 31/10/2026 13:11:16 :::CIS
High Court of H.P.
6 2026:HHC:47842
7. From the pleadings of the parties, the following
issues were framed by the learned Tribunal on 13.06.2016:
1. Whether deceased Gurbaksh Singh died on account of
rash and negligent driving on the part of respondent No.
2? OPP
2. If issue No. 1 above is proved, whether the petitioner is
entitled for compensation and if so, to what amount ?
OPP
3. Whether this petition is bad for nonjoinder of necessary
parties? OPR
4. Whether respondent No. 2 did not possess the valid
and effective driving licence at the time of this accident?
OPR3
5. Whether the vehicle in question was being plied by
respondents No. 1 and 2 in contravention of the terms
and conditions of the insurance policy? OPR3
6. Relief.
8. Thereafter, the parties to the lis were directed to
adduce evidence.
9. After the closure of evidence and hearing the
learned counsel appearing for the parties, the learned
Tribunal has allowed the petition, as referred to above.
STAND OF THE INSURANCE COMPANY BEFORE THIS
COURT:
10. Feeling aggrieved from the award, the Insurance
Company of the offending vehicle has preferred the present
::: Downloaded on - 31/10/2026 13:11:16 :::CIS
High Court of H.P.
7 2026:HHC:47842
appeal, before this Court, on the ground that the FIR in
question has wrongly been registered and police, after
investigation, filed the cancellation report. The award has
also been assailed on the ground that the petitioner cannot
take the benefit of rash and negligent driving of her son. In
this regard, it has also been pleaded that the deceased
himself was tortfeasor, as such, claim petition is not
maintainable. The award has also been assailed on the
ground that the learned Tribunal has wrongly taken the
monthly income of the deceased, as Rs. 5,400/ per month,
despite the fact that no evidence has been produced on the
record. Another fact has also been highlighted in the grounds
that as per the findings of the learned Tribunal, monthly
income of deceased comes to Rs. 5,400/, but, despite the
said fact, his income has been taken as Rs. 6,000/ per
month. Deceased was unmarried and his employment is not
regular, as such, 50% increase for future prospect has
wrongly been given to the income of the deceased. The
learned counsel appearing for the Insurance Company has
::: Downloaded on - 31/10/2026 13:11:16 :::CIS
High Court of H.P.
8 2026:HHC:47842
also submitted that the deceased was working in unorganized
sector.
10.1 Lastly, it has again been highlighted that the
accident, in question, had taken place due to rash and
negligent driving of deceased himself. As such, petitioner is
not entitled for any amount of compensation.
10.2 On the basis of above facts, Mr. P.S. Chandel,
Advocate, appearing for the appellant, has prayed that the
appeal may kindly be allowed by exonerating the Insurance
Company from indemnifying the owner of the offending
vehicle. Similarly, the amount of compensation has also been
sought to be reduced.
11. Per contra, Mr. Gaurav Sharma, Advocate,
appearing for the petitioner, has supported the award passed
by the learned Tribunal and prayed that the amount may
kindly be enhanced, so that the same could fall within the
definition of “just compensation”.
DISCUSSION & ANALYSIS:
12. In order to decide the appeal preferred by the
Insurance Company, it would be just and appropriate to
::: Downloaded on - 31/10/2026 13:11:16 :::CIS
High Court of H.P.
9 2026:HHC:47842
discuss the evidence, so adduced by the parties to the lis,
before the learned Tribunal.
13. After framing of the issues, the petitioner has
examined Dr. S.K. Bansal, M.O. R.H. Una, who has proved
the copy of postmortem report of Gurbaksh Singh as Ext.
PW1/A.
14. PetitionerChampa Devi herself stepped into the
witness box as PW2 and filed her duly swornin affidavit Ext.
PW2/A, which is based upon the assertions, as made in the
claim petition. However, in the opening line of her cross
examination, she has admitted that the accident in question
had not taken place in her presence. She also admitted that
she had no proof with regard to the income of deceased. She
admitted that her deceased son used to work as labourer.
Rest she has denied all the suggestions, put to her.
15. The petitioner has also examined one Sanjeev
Kumar, as an eye witness to the accident. According to him,
on 10.02.2016, he along with Munish Kumar had gone to
Santokhgarh. At about 12:00 in the noon, he and Munish
Kumar were on the way back to their home. One
::: Downloaded on - 31/10/2026 13:11:16 :::CIS
High Court of H.P.
10 2026:HHC:47842
motorcyclist, on his motorcycle was ahead of them. Then,
from Tahliwal side, offending vehicle came there, being driven
by its driver in rash and negligent manner and hit the
motorcycle. Consequently, the rider of the motorcycle
sustained grievous injuries. Thereafter, this witness and
Munish Kumar noticed that the rider of the motorcycle, who
sustained injuries is Gurbaksh Singh, who is their covillager.
Gurbaksh Singh was taken to hospital, but, he has expired.
Lastly, he has deposed that the accident, in question, had
taken place due to the rash and negligent driving of the
offending vehicle.
16. In the crossexamination, PW3 has deposed that
the accident, in question, had taken place, just ahead of
Santokhgarh bridge. This witness was going to Tahliwal from
Santokhgarh. He has denied that the rider of the motorcycle
struck the motorcycle against the offending vehicle. Rest, he
has denied the allegations, which has been suggested against
the rider of the motorcycle (deceased). This witness was
present at a distance on 2025 meters from the place, where
the accident, in question, had taken place.
::: Downloaded on - 31/10/2026 13:11:16 :::CIS
High Court of H.P.
11 2026:HHC:47842
17. PW4 HHC Yash Pal, proved the copy of FIR Ext.
PW4/A and he has deposed that the FIR has been registered
against Ashwani Kumar and later on cancellation report was
submitted on 06.05.2016.
18. To rebut this evidence, Smt. Shanti, Civil Ahlmad
from the Court of JMFC, Court No. III, Una has been
examined as RW1, who proved the closure report, which was
submitted on 06.05.2016, and the case is stated to be
pending for 28.02.2017.
19. The driver of the offending vehicle appeared in the
witness box as RW2 and deposed that on 10.02.2016, he was
driving the offending vehicle at a very slow speed and on his
right direction. When, he reached near Swan bridge,
Gurbaksh Singh (deceased) came there in a wrong side, while
riding the motorcycle in very high speed, in a rash and
negligent manner and struck against the offending vehicle.
Thereafter, wrong FIR was registered against this witness,
just to get the claim and later on, after investigation, the
police submitted the cancellation report, by holding that the
accident, in question, had taken place due to rash and
::: Downloaded on - 31/10/2026 13:11:16 :::CIS
High Court of H.P.
12 2026:HHC:47842
negligent driving of Gurbaksh Singh himself. The UTR, is
pending in the Court of learned JMFC Court No. III Una.
20. In the crossexamination, this witness has denied
the suggestion that he was not having a valid driving licence
qua the offending vehicle. In the crossexamination by the
learned counsel for the petitioner, he denied the suggestion
that the owner of the vehicle was an influential person.
21. This is the entire oral evidence.
22. So far as the documentary evidence is concerned,
Ext. PW1/A is the copy of postmortem report, Ext. PW4/A is
the copy of FIR, Ext. R1 is the copy of report under Section
173(2) Cr.P.C., Ext. R2 is the report submitted by SDPO
Haroli to learned CJM Una, Ext. R3 is the copy of statement
of Sanjeev Kumar, who has got his satisfaction recorded
towards the investigation conducted by the police and
thereafter, submitted the cancellation report, Ext. RW1/A is
the copy of Registration Certificate, Ext. RW2/B is copy of
driving licence of respondent No. 2, Ext. RX is copy of
insurance policy, and Mark X is the copy of legal heirs
certificate.
::: Downloaded on - 31/10/2026 13:11:16 :::CIS
High Court of H.P.
13 2026:HHC:47842
23. Along with the appeal, before this Court, the
appellantInsurance Company has placed on record the copy
of report under Section 173(2) of Cr.P.C., submitted by the
police, by virtue of which, closure report, has been submitted.
24. This is the entire evidence.
25. The proceedings under the M.V. Act are summary
in nature, where the liability of the tortfeasor is to be fixed on
the basis of preponderance of probabilities. In this case,
factum of accident has not been disputed. Admittedly,
petitioner was not witness of the accident in question.
However, the petitioner has examined one independent
witness PW3 Sh. Sanjeev Kumar, who not only deposed
about the manner in which, the accident in question had
taken place, but also withstood the lengthy cross
examination, however, nothing could be elicited from this
witness by the respondents, including the Insurance
Company about the fact that he was having any axe to grind
against respondent No. 2. Merely, the police after the
investigation has submitted the closure report, does not mean
that the evidence of PW3, on oath, is liable to be discarded.
::: Downloaded on - 31/10/2026 13:11:16 :::CIS
High Court of H.P.
14 2026:HHC:47842
26. Admittedly, the statements of witnesses, which
had been relied by the police while submitting the
cancellation report, were not recorded on oath. Moreover,
PW3 Sanjeev Kumar, is the person, who has also lodged the
FIR and also appeared in the witness box. If the contents of
FIR are seen, he has categorically leveled the allegations of
rash and negligent driving against respondent No. 2. As
such, his presence on the spot cannot be doubted.
27. So far as the submission of cancellation report is
concerned, there is no evidence on the report to show, as to
how the investigating officer has concluded the above fact. In
the cancellation report, which is on the record as Ext. R1,
although, it has been concluded that during the investigation,
it has been found that the accident in question had taken
place due to the rash and negligent driving of the rider of the
motorcycle, but, the evidence of the respondents is totally
silent as to how the I.O. has come to the said conclusion and
in whose statement this fact has transpired. Along with the
cancellation report, apart from complainant Sanjeev Kumar,
the police has mentioned the name of three persons, as
::: Downloaded on - 31/10/2026 13:11:16 :::CIS
High Court of H.P.
15 2026:HHC:47842
witnesses to the accident. The Insurance Company has not
bothered to examine any of them to prove/probablize the fact
that the accident in question had taken place due to the rash
and negligent driving of the rider of motorcycle No. HP20E
1646.
28. So far as the statement of Sanjeev Kumar Ext. R
3, in which, he has recorded his satisfaction with the
cancellation report, is concerned, considering the low legal
literacy of the Indian masses, no adverse inference could be
drawn against the statement of PW3 Sanjeev Kumar.
Moreover, the Insurance Company was having an occasion to
confront PW3 Sanjeev Kumar with his statement, which has
been recorded before the Court of learned JMFC,Court No. III,
Una, when the police has submitted the closure/cancellation
report. When the document has not been put to the witness,
when, he appeared in the witness box, then, no inference can
be drawn that he has given his satisfaction about the
investigation of the case.
29. The statement before the learned JMFC Court No.
III, Una was recorded on 03.08.2016, whereas, this witness
::: Downloaded on - 31/10/2026 13:11:16 :::CIS
High Court of H.P.
16 2026:HHC:47842
appeared before the learned Tribunal on 02.08.2016. Even,
the Insurance Company has not sought the indulgence of
learned Tribunal to recall the said witness by confronting him
with the said statement. The plea of rash and negligent
driving by the rider of the motorcycle, has been taken by the
respondents, as such, onus was upon them to
prove/probablize that the evidence of Sanjeev Kumar is not
liable to be taken into consideration to accept the contention
of the petitioner.
30. Moreover, the statement before the learned JMFC
Court No. III Una, has no relevance for the decision of the
present case, as the eye witness to the accident, who has also
lodged the FIR, categorically leveled the allegations of rash
and negligent driving of the offending vehicle against
respondent No. 2, when he appears before the learned
Tribunal In such situation, the learned Tribunal has rightly
held that the accident in question had taken place due to the
rash and negligent driving of respondent No. 2, while driving
the offending vehicle.
::: Downloaded on - 31/10/2026 13:11:16 :::CIS
High Court of H.P.
17 2026:HHC:47842
31. Consequently, the plea as taken by the Insurance
Company in the appeal is liable to be rejected. Ordered
accordingly.
32. It is no longer res integra that the endeavour of
the Court/Tribunal is to grant ‘just compensation’. In order
to achieve the above legislative intent, now, this Court would
consider the fact, whether the amount of compensation,
which has been awarded to the petitioner, falls within the
definition of ‘just compensation’ or not.
33. In the present case, the learned Tribunal has
taken the age of deceased Gurbaksh Singh, at the time of his
death, as 26 years. This has been done by the learned
Tribunal on the basis of age as mentioned in the postmortem
report Ext. PW1/A. In the absence of any evidence, contrary
to the said age, no interference is required in the above
findings.
34. So far as the earnings of deceased Gurbaksh
Singh, during his life time, are concerned, the learned
Tribunal has rightly taken the same as Rs. 6,000/ per
month, by assuming Sh. Gurbaksh Singh as daily wager.
::: Downloaded on - 31/10/2026 13:11:16 :::CIS
High Court of H.P.
18 2026:HHC:47842
Merely because the learned Tribunal has taken the daily
income as Rs. 170/, as per the amount given to the
MNREGA worker, does not mean that the conclusion so
drawn is required to be interfered with. However, the learned
Tribunal has fallen into error by giving 50% increase on
future prospects, had he been alive, in view of the decision of
Hon’ble Supreme Court in case titled “ National Insurance
Company Ltd. Versus Pranay Sethi & Others, (2017) 16
Supreme Court Cases 680 ”. The relevant para 59.4 of the
judgment, has been reproduced, as under:
“59.4 In case the deceased was selfemployed or on a fixed
salary, an addition of 40% of the established income should
be the warrant where the deceased was below the age of 40
years. An addition of 25% where the deceased was between
the age of 40 to 50 years and 10% where the deceased was
between the age of 50 to 60 years should be regarded as the
necessary method of computation. The established income
means the income minus the tax component.”
35. 40% increase is liable to be made, on account of
future prospects, as deceased Gurbaksh Singh was working
in unorganized sector. Being guided by the above judgment,
the monthly contribution of deceased towards his family
comes to Rs. 6,000/ + 40% (Rs.2,400/) = Rs. 8,400/.
::: Downloaded on - 31/10/2026 13:11:16 :::CIS
High Court of H.P.
19 2026:HHC:47842
36. Admittedly deceased Gurbaksh Singh was
bachelor, as such, 50% amount is liable to be deducted on
account of personal expenses, had he been alive. Thus, his
contribution comes to Rs. 8,400/ minus 50% = Rs. 4,200/.
37. The learned Tribunal has applied the multiplier of
‘17’, which, according to the judgment of Hon’ble Supreme
Court in “
Sarla Verma Vs Delhi Transport Corportation,
2009 (6) SCC 121 ”, is the appropriate multiplier, applied in
the present case. Thus, the loss of contribution comes to Rs.
4,200/ x 12 x 17 = Rs. 8,56,800/.
38. In this case, the learned Tribunal has awarded a
sum of Rs. 1,00,000/, on account of ‘loss of love and
affection’, Rs. 50,000/, on account of ‘funeral expenses and
cost of litigation’, which are liable to be reduced, on account
of Pranay Sethi’s case (supra).
39. Under the conventional heads, as per the dictate
of Pranay Sethi’s case (supra), the petitioner is also held
entitled for compensation to the tune of Rs. 15,000/; Rs.
15,000/; and Rs. 40,000/, under the heads: ‘loss of estate’,
‘funeral expenses’, and ‘loss of consortium’ respectively.
::: Downloaded on - 31/10/2026 13:11:16 :::CIS
High Court of H.P.
20 2026:HHC:47842
40. Thus, the entitlement of the petitioners is thus
adjudicated, as under:
1. Loss of income = Rs. 8,56,800/
2. Loss of consortium = Rs. 40,000/
3. Loss of estate = Rs. 15,000/
4. Funeral Expenses = Rs. 15,000/
_________________________________________________________
Total = Rs. 9,26,800/.
________________________________________________________
41. The learned Tribunal has awarded the rate of
interest at the rate of 9% per annum, which, to the
considered opinion of this Court, is liable to be reduced while
keeping in view the prevalent rates of interest in the
nationalized banks. Consequently, the same is reduced to
7.5% per annum.
42. No other point has been urged or argued.
43. Having glance of the above discussion, the appeal
of the Insurance Company is partly allowed, by reducing the
amount of compensation from Rs. 10,68,000/ to Rs.
9,26,800/, and the rate of interest is also reduced from 9%
to 7.5% per annum, from the date of filing of the petition, till
the deposit of award amount. The ultimate liability to pay the
::: Downloaded on - 31/10/2026 13:11:16 :::CIS
High Court of H.P.
21 2026:HHC:47842
compensation is on the Insurance Company. The award
passed by the learned Tribunal is modified accordingly.
44. Parties are left to bear their own costs.
45. Memo of costs be prepared accordingly.
46. Record be sent back.
(Virender Singh)
Judge
st
31 October, 2026
(Pramod Kumar)
::: Downloaded on - 31/10/2026 13:11:16 :::CIS