Indusind Gen Ins Co Ltd vs Baby Sristhi And Orhers

Court
Delhi High Court
Case type
Misc Application
Decided on
30-03-2026
<div> <br /> <br /> <br /> $~47 <br /> * <b>IN THE HIGH COURT OF DELHI AT NEW DELHI </b><br /> <b><i>th</i></b><br /> <b>% </b> <b> </b> <b><i>Date of decision: 30</i></b> <b><i> March 2026 </i></b><br /> <b><i> </i></b><br /> + <b>MAC.APP. 220/2026 &amp; CM APPL. 19842-19844/2026</b> <br /> INDUSIND GEN INS CO LTD .....Appellant <br /> Through: Mr. Pankaj Gupta, Adv. <br /> <br /> versus <br /> <br /> BABY SRISTHI AND OTHERS .....Respondent <br /> Through: <br /> <b>CORAM:</b> <br /> <b>HON&#x27;BLE MR. JUSTICE ANISH DAYAL</b> <br /> <b>JUDGMENT</b> <br /> <b> </b> <b> </b> <b> </b> <br /> <b>ANISH DAYAL, J (ORAL) </b><br /> <br /> rd<br /> 1. This appeal has been filed against impugned award dated 03 <br /> December 2025 passed by Motor Accidents Claims Tribunal [‘ <b><i>MACT</i></b> ’], <br /> North-West, Rohini Courts in MACT No.288/2022 whereby Rs. <br /> 74,54,467.4/-alongwith interest at the rate of 9% per annum from the date of <br /> filing of detailed accident report (‘ <b><i>DAR</i></b> ’) was awarded. <br /> th<br /> 2. The accident in question occurred on 18 September 2021 when <br /> respondent no.1/injured claimant, who was a minor child aged 2 years on the <br /> date of the accident, went with her mother to a nearby Hanuman Mandir and <br /> when they were returning home, a vehicle bearing registration no. DL-1ZD-<br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> <br /> <b><i>MAC.APP. 220/2026 1 of 9 </i></b><br /> <br /> Digitally Signed<br /> By:MANISH KUMAR<br /> Signing Date:06.04.2026<br /> 14:59:23<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> 1980 (hereinafter, ‘ <b><i>offending vehicle</i></b> ’) driven by respondent no.2/driver in <br /> high speed suddenly took a sharp turn, as a result of which, respondent <br /> no.1/injured claimant came under the offending vehicle and sustained <br /> injuries over her head and her left eye was badly injured. She suffered 77% <br /> multiple disabilities. Criminal proceedings were lodged and in the claim <br /> petition before MACT, <i>Shivangi</i> ( <b><i>PW-1</i></b> ), mother and also the eye-witness <br /> was examined who tendered her evidence by way of affidavit <b><i>Ex.PW1/A</i></b> . <br /> 3. <i>Mr. Pankaj Gupta</i> , counsel for appellant/Insurance Company <br /> challenges the award of compensation <i>inter alia</i> on the grounds that <br /> functional disability was taken as 100%, despite medical evidence indicating <br /> 77% permanent disability. <br /> 4. In this respect, Court has examined the MACT’s award at <i>paragraph </i><br /> <i>19</i> , which is extracted as under: <br /> <i>“19. As per the MLC and medical documents, injured </i><br /> <i>suffered grievous injuries with 77% permanent multiple </i><br /> <i>disability in the accident. As per disability certificate issued </i><br /> <i>by Kalawati Saran Children’s Hospital, Bangla Sahib </i><br /> <i>Marg, New Delhi, injured is diagnosed with post traumatic </i><br /> <i>brain injury with right hemiplegia with left side facial nerve </i><br /> <i>palsy with left eye afferent visual pathway defect with ptosis </i><br /> <i>with proptosis with ophthalmoplegia with leucomatous </i><br /> <i>corneal opacity with left temporal bone fracture with left </i><br /> <i>mild sensory neural hearing loss. It is not possible to </i><br /> <i>quantify the compensation admissible to injured for the </i><br /> <i>shock, pain and sufferings etc. which she actually suffered </i><br /> <i>because of the above injuries, but as stated above, an effort </i><br /> <i>has to be made to compensate her for the same in a just and </i><br /> <i>reasonable manner. The petitioner is going to suffer the </i><br /> <i>pain in her entire life. Hence, keeping in view the extent and </i><br /> <i>nature of the injuries suffered by injured and duration of the </i><br /> <i>treatment of her etc., an amount of Rs.3,00,000/- is being </i><br /> <i>awarded to her towards pain and sufferings during the said </i><br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> <br /> <b><i>MAC.APP. 220/2026 2 of 9 </i></b><br /> <br /> Digitally Signed<br /> By:MANISH KUMAR<br /> Signing Date:06.04.2026<br /> 14:59:23<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <i>period of her treatment and immobility. Thus, she is </i><br /> <i>awarded a total amount of Rs. 3,00,000/- under this head.” </i><br /> (emphasis added) <br /> <i> </i><br /> 5. Further, the issue of functional disability has also been considered in <br /> <i>paragraphs 21 and 22</i> , which are extracted as under: <br /> <i>“21. In view of the observation made by the Hon&#x27;ble Apex </i><br /> <i>Court of India in case titled Sidram Vs. Divisional </i><br /> <i>Manager, United India Insurance Company (supra) the </i><br /> <i>effect of permanent disability of the injured has to be </i><br /> <i>assessed in order to quantify the future loss of earnings due </i><br /> <i>to disability. As per the disability certificate, petitioner has </i><br /> <i>suffered 77% Permanent multiple disability. Disability </i><br /> <i>certificate has been issued by Kalawati Saran Children’s </i><br /> <i>Hospital, Bangla Sahib Marg, New Delhi. </i><br /> <i>22. Admittedly, petitioner has suffered 77 % Permanent </i><br /> <i>multiple Disability. Given the nature of disability, it is </i><br /> <i>absolutely above, petitioner will ever be able to get any </i><br /> <i>employment for gains. The above disability would definitely </i><br /> <i>hamper her earning capacity in future also. Hence, it would </i><br /> <i>be appropriate to hold that the functional disability of </i><br /> <i>petitioner i.e 77% be considered as 100%. This Tribunal </i><br /> <i>holds that the income of petitioner be treated as to be given </i><br /> <i>to a skilled man in Delhi on the day of accident on </i><br /> <i>18.09.2021 i.e. Rs. 19,473/- per month at the relevant time. </i><br /> <i>As far as the age of petitioner at the time of accident is </i><br /> <i>concerned, DAR reflects that she was aged about 2 years at </i><br /> <i>the time of accident. Therefore, in view of. the law laid </i><br /> <i>down by the Hon&#x27;ble Supreme Court in case of Sarla Verma </i><br /> <i>&amp; Ors. Vs. Delhi Transport Corporation &amp; Anr., (2009) 6 </i><br /> <i>SCC 121, which has also been upheld by the Constitution </i><br /> <i>Bench of the Hon&#x27;ble Supreme Court in a recent judgment </i><br /> <i>dated 31.10.2017 given in the case of National Insurance </i><br /> <i>Company Ltd. vs. Pranay Sethi &amp; Ors. SLP (Civil) No. </i><br /> <i>25590 of 2014, the multiplier of ‘18’ is held applicable for </i><br /> <i>calculating the loss of future earnings of petitioner arising </i><br /> <i>out of the above disability. The petitioner is not entitled to </i><br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> <br /> <b><i>MAC.APP. 220/2026 3 of 9 </i></b><br /> <br /> Digitally Signed<br /> By:MANISH KUMAR<br /> Signing Date:06.04.2026<br /> 14:59:23<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <i>future prospects as per the observations made by </i><br /> <i>Constitution Bench of Hon&#x27;ble Supreme Court in case of </i><br /> <i>National Insurance Company Ltd. Vs. Pranay Sethi, SLP </i><br /> <i>(CIVIL) 25590 of 2014 decided on 31.10.2017.” </i><br /> (emphasis added) <br /> <i> </i><br /> 6. MACT has taken a view that given the nature of disability, respondent <br /> no.1/injured claimant ( <i>minor child</i> ) would never be able to get any <br /> employment for gains and would have an impact on her earning capacity in <br /> the future. This Court is of the opinion that MACT’s view is sustainable <br /> particularly with the severe nature of injuries that, respondent no.1/injured <br /> claimant ( <i>minor child</i> ) suffered disabling her permanently. She would have <br /> to struggle to eke out a decent living for her lifetime. <br /> 7. In <b><i>Raj Kumar v. Ajay Kumar </i></b> (2011) 1 SCC 343, the Supreme Court <br /> held that the Tribunal must assess not merely the extent of permanent <br /> disability but its actual impact on the claimant’s earning capacity, which <br /> may differ from the medical percentage of disability. This requires <br /> evaluating the claimant’s pre-accident vocation, the functions affected, and <br /> whether livelihood can still be earned despite the disability. The Court <br /> emphasised that disability and loss of earning capacity are distinct concepts, <br /> except in cases where evidence shows they coincide. Relevant paragraphs <br /> are extracted as under: <br /> “ <b><i>11.</i></b> <i> What requires to be assessed by the Tribunal is the </i><br /> <i>effect of the permanent disability on the earning capacity of </i><br /> <i>the injured; and after assessing the loss of earning capacity </i><br /> <i>in terms of a percentage of the income, it has to be </i><br /> <i>quantified in terms of money, to arrive at the future loss of </i><br /> <i>earnings (by applying the standard multiplier method used </i><br /> <i>to determine loss of dependency). We may however note that </i><br /> <i>in some cases, on appreciation of evidence and assessment, </i><br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> <br /> <b><i>MAC.APP. 220/2026 4 of 9 </i></b><br /> <br /> Digitally Signed<br /> By:MANISH KUMAR<br /> Signing Date:06.04.2026<br /> 14:59:23<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <i>the Tribunal may find that the percentage of loss of earning </i><br /> <i>capacity as a result of the permanent disability, is </i><br /> <i>approximately the same as the percentage of permanent </i><br /> <i>disability in which case, of course, the Tribunal will adopt </i><br /> <i>the said percentage for determination of compensation. (See </i><br /> <i>for example, the decisions of this Court in Arvind Kumar </i><br /> <i>Mishra v. New India Assurance Co. Ltd. [(2010) 10 SCC </i><br /> <i>254 : (2010) 3 SCC (Cri) 1258 : (2010) 10 Scale 298] </i><br /> <i>and Yadava Kumar v. National Insurance Co. Ltd. [(2010) </i><br /> <i>10 SCC 341 : (2010) 3 SCC (Cri) 1285 : (2010) 8 Scale </i><br /> <i>567] ) </i><br /> <b><i>12.</i></b> <i> Therefore, the Tribunal has to first decide whether there </i><br /> <i>is any permanent disability and, if so, the extent of such </i><br /> <i>permanent disability. This means that the Tribunal should </i><br /> <i>consider and decide with reference to the evidence: </i><br /> <i>(i) whether the disablement is permanent or temporary; </i><br /> <i>(ii) if the disablement is permanent, whether it is permanent </i><br /> <i>total disablement or permanent partial disablement; </i><br /> <i>(iii) if the disablement percentage is expressed with </i><br /> <i>reference to any specific limb, then the effect of such </i><br /> <i>disablement of the limb on the functioning of the entire </i><br /> <i>body, that is, the permanent disability suffered by the </i><br /> <i>person. </i><br /> <i>If the Tribunal concludes that there is no permanent </i><br /> <i>disability then there is no question of proceeding further </i><br /> <i>and determining the loss of future earning capacity. But if </i><br /> <i>the Tribunal concludes that there is permanent disability </i><br /> <i>then it will proceed to ascertain its extent. After the </i><br /> <i>Tribunal ascertains the actual extent of permanent disability </i><br /> <i>of the claimant based on the medical evidence, it has to </i><br /> <i>determine whether such permanent disability has affected or </i><br /> <i>will affect his earning capacity. </i><br /> <b><i>13.</i></b> <i> Ascertainment of the effect of the permanent disability </i><br /> <i>on the actual earning capacity involves three steps. The </i><br /> <i>Tribunal has to first ascertain what activities the claimant </i><br /> <i>could carry on in spite of the permanent disability and what </i><br /> <i>he could not do as a result of the permanent disability (this </i><br /> <i>is also relevant for awarding compensation under the head </i><br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> <br /> <b><i>MAC.APP. 220/2026 5 of 9 </i></b><br /> <br /> Digitally Signed<br /> By:MANISH KUMAR<br /> Signing Date:06.04.2026<br /> 14:59:23<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <i>of loss of amenities of life). The second step is to ascertain </i><br /> <i>his avocation, profession and nature of work before the </i><br /> <i>accident, as also his age. The third step is to find out </i><br /> <i>whether (i) the claimant is totally disabled from earning any </i><br /> <i>kind of livelihood, or (ii) whether in spite of the permanent </i><br /> <i>disability, the claimant could still effectively carry on the </i><br /> <i>activities and functions, which he was earlier carrying on, </i><br /> <i>or (iii) whether he was prevented or restricted from </i><br /> <i>discharging his previous activities and functions, but could </i><br /> <i>carry on some other or lesser scale of activities and </i><br /> <i>functions so that he continues to earn or can continue to </i><br /> <i>earn his livelihood.</i> ” <br /> (emphasis added) <br /> <br /> 8. In <b><i>Raj Kumar v. Ajay Kumar </i></b> ( <i>supra</i> ), the Court summarized the <br /> principles, which are extracted as under: <br /> “ <b><i>19.</i></b> <i> We may now summarise the principles discussed </i><br /> <i>above: </i><br /> <i>(i) All injuries (or permanent disabilities arising from </i><br /> <i>injuries), do not result in loss of earning capacity. </i><br /> <i>(ii) The percentage of permanent disability with reference to </i><br /> <i>the whole body of a person, cannot be assumed to be the </i><br /> <i>percentage of loss of earning capacity. To put it differently, </i><br /> <i>the percentage of loss of earning capacity is not the same as </i><br /> <i>the percentage of permanent disability (except in a few </i><br /> <i>cases, where the Tribunal on the basis of evidence, </i><br /> <i>concludes that the percentage of loss of earning capacity is </i><br /> <i>the same as the percentage of permanent disability). </i><br /> <i>(iii) The doctor who treated an injured claimant or who </i><br /> <i>examined him subsequently to assess the extent of his </i><br /> <i>permanent disability can give evidence only in regard to the </i><br /> <i>extent of permanent disability. The loss of earning capacity </i><br /> <i>is something that will have to be assessed by the Tribunal </i><br /> <i>with reference to the evidence in entirety. </i><br /> <i>(iv) The same permanent disability may result in different </i><br /> <i>percentages of loss of earning capacity in different persons, </i><br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> <br /> <b><i>MAC.APP. 220/2026 6 of 9 </i></b><br /> <br /> Digitally Signed<br /> By:MANISH KUMAR<br /> Signing Date:06.04.2026<br /> 14:59:23<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <i>depending upon the nature of profession, occupation or job, </i><br /> <i>age, education and other factors.</i> ” <br /> (emphasis added) <br /> <br /> <br /> 9. Assessment of functional disability is an exercise, therefore, which <br /> must be done on a case-to-case basis and there is no “ <i>one size fits all</i> ”. No <br /> doubt, some subjectivity is involved, but the matrix of facts provide an <br /> objective basis. <br /> 10. <i>Mr. Gupta</i> , counsel for appellant/Insurance Company has also <br /> challenged the award on the grounds that Rs. 13,00,000/- have been awarded <br /> towards non-pecuniary damages, which is on the higher side. <br /> 11. In this regard, it would be pertinent to note the observations of the <br /> Supreme Court in <b><i>R.D. Hattangadi v. Pest Control (India) (P) Ltd.</i></b> , (1995) <br /> 1 SCC 551 where the Court has examined various heads under which <br /> pecuniary and special damages are awarded. The Court noted that no <br /> amount of compensation can restore the physical frame of the injured <br /> claimant and therefore, the object is to compensate such injury “so far as <br /> money can compensate”, since it is impossible to equate money with human <br /> sufferings or personal deprivations. Relevant observations of the Supreme <br /> Court are extracted as under: <br /> <i>“</i> <b><i>11.</i></b> <i> In the case Ward v. James [(1965) 1 All ER 563] it was </i><br /> <i>said: </i><br /> <i>“Although you cannot give a man so gravely injured </i><br /> <i>much for his ‘lost years’, you can, however, </i><br /> <i>compensate him for his loss during his shortened span, </i><br /> <i>that is, during his expected ‘years of survival’. You can </i><br /> <i>compensate him for his loss of earnings during that </i><br /> <i>time, and for the cost of treatment, nursing and </i><br /> <i>attendance. But how can you compensate him for being </i><br /> <i>rendered a helpless invalid? He may, owing to brain </i><br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> <br /> <b><i>MAC.APP. 220/2026 7 of 9 </i></b><br /> <br /> Digitally Signed<br /> By:MANISH KUMAR<br /> Signing Date:06.04.2026<br /> 14:59:23<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <i>injury, be rendered unconscious for the rest of his </i><br /> <i>days, or, owing to a back injury, be unable to rise from </i><br /> <i>his bed. He has lost everything that makes life </i><br /> <i>worthwhile. Money is no good to him. Yet judges and </i><br /> <i>juries have to do the best they can and give him what </i><br /> <i>they think is fair. No wonder they find it well nigh </i><br /> <i>insoluble. They are being asked to calculate the </i><br /> <i>incalculable. The figure is bound to be for the most </i><br /> <i>part a conventional sum. The judges have worked out a </i><br /> <i>pattern, and they keep it in line with the changes in the </i><br /> <i>value of money. </i><br /> <b><i>12.</i></b> <i> In its very nature whenever a tribunal or a court is </i><br /> <i>required to fix the amount of compensation in cases of </i><br /> <i>accident, it involves some guesswork, some hypothetical </i><br /> <i>consideration, some amount of sympathy linked with the </i><br /> <i>nature of the disability caused. But all the aforesaid </i><br /> <i>elements have to be viewed with objective standards. </i><br /> <i>… </i><br /> <b><i>14.</i></b> <i> In Halsbury&#x27;s Laws of England, 4th Edn., Vol. 12 </i><br /> <i>regarding non-pecuniary loss at page 446 it has been said: </i><br /> <i>“Non-pecuniary loss: the pattern.— Damages awarded for </i><br /> <i>pain and suffering and loss of amenity constitute a </i><br /> <i>conventional sum which is taken to be the sum which society </i><br /> <i>deems fair, fairness being interpreted by the courts in the </i><br /> <i>light of previous decisions. Thus there has been evolved a </i><br /> <i>set of conventional principles providing a provisional guide </i><br /> <i>to the comparative severity of different injuries, and </i><br /> <i>indicating a bracket of damages into which a particular </i><br /> <i>injury will currently fall. The particular circumstances of </i><br /> <i>the plaintiff, including his age and any unusual deprivation </i><br /> <i>he may suffer, is reflected in the actual amount of the </i><br /> <i>award. </i><br /> <i>The fall in the value of money leads to a continuing </i><br /> <i>reassessment of these awards and to periodic reassessments </i><br /> <i>of damages at certain key points in the pattern where the </i><br /> <i>disability is readily identifiable and not subject to large </i><br /> <i>variations in individual cases.” </i><br /> (emphasis added) <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> <br /> <b><i>MAC.APP. 220/2026 8 of 9 </i></b><br /> <br /> Digitally Signed<br /> By:MANISH KUMAR<br /> Signing Date:06.04.2026<br /> 14:59:23<br /><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <i> </i><br /> 12. Considering the nature of injuries, which have been caused at such a <br /> young age, the Court is of the view that the assessment of the MACT was <br /> amiss in this issue. <br /> 13. Therefore, in view of the above observations, the appeal is <br /> accordingly, dismissed. <br /> 14. Pending applications, if any, are rendered infructuous. <br /> 15. Compensation awarded by the Tribunal stands confirmed and shall be <br /> deposited, along with the accrued interest, and disbursed, as per the terms <br /> fixed by the Tribunal. <br /> 16. Statutory deposit, if any, be refunded to appellant. <br /> 17. Judgment be uploaded on the website of this Court. <br /> <br /> <br /> <b>ANISH DAYAL, J</b> <br /> <b>MARCH 30, 2026/MK/</b> <i>sp</i> <br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> Signature Not Verified<br /> <br /> <b><i>MAC.APP. 220/2026 9 of 9 </i></b><br /> <br /> Digitally Signed<br /> By:MANISH KUMAR<br /> Signing Date:06.04.2026<br /> 14:59:23</div>