HAWALDAR FERY YADAV vs UNIOF OF INDIA AND 4 ORS

Court
Bombay High Court
Case type
Writ Petition
Decided on
24-03-2026
<div> <b>2026:BHC-OS:7494-DB</b><br /> Neeta Sawant WP 276 OF 2019<br /> <br /> <b>IN THE HIGH COURT OF JUDICATURE AT BOMBAY</b><br /> <b>ORDINARY ORIGINAL CIVIL JURISDICTION</b><br /> <b>WRIT PETITION NO. 276 OF 2019</b><br /> Shri. Hawaldar Feru Yadav <b>…. PETITIONER</b><br /> <b>: VERSUS :</b><br /> 1. Union of India, through<br /> Ministry of Defence<br /> 2. Indian Coast Guard<br /> 3. Naval Group Insurance Fund (NGIF)<br /> 4. Bureau of Naviks<br /> 5. Indian Coast Guard-Delhi Headquarters <b>…. RESPONDENTS</b><br /> <b>Mr. Kiran Bapat, Senior Advocate</b> i/b. Ms. Sayali Bhaidkar, for the<br /> Petitioner. <br /> <b>Mr. Aniruddha A. Garge, </b> for Respondent Nos.1 and 2.<br /> <b> CORAM : S.M. MODAK AND</b><br /> <b>SANDEEP V. MARNE, JJ.</b><br /> <b>DATED : 24 MARCH 2026.</b><br /> <b>JUDGMENT </b> <i>(Per Sandeep V. Marne J.)</i><br /> <br /> 1) By this Petition, filed under Article 226 of the Constitution<br /> of India, the Petitioner challenges the Re-survey Medical Board Report<br /> <b>(RMB)</b> dated 29 July 2009 <b> </b> resulting in reduction of his disability<br /> <b>___________________________________________________________________________</b><br /> PAGE NO. 1 OF 18 <br /> 24 March 2026<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 27/03/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 27/03/2026 18:04:44 :::</i></b><br /><br /> Neeta Sawant WP 276 OF 2019<br /> <br /> pension from 30% to 15 % of last drawn basic pay. Petitioner was earlier<br /> certified to be 100% disabled in the Invalidation Medical Board <b>(IMB)</b><br /> and was accordingly discharged from service on invalidation on medical<br /> ground of being permanently unfit under Rule 26 of the Indian Coast<br /> Guard (General) Rules, 1986 read with Central Civil Services<br /> (Extraordinary Pension) Rules, 1972 by order dated 7 July 2008. Upon<br /> being medically discharged, the Petitioner was sanctioned invalid<br /> pension under Rule 38 of the Central Civil Services (Extraordinary<br /> Pension) Rules, 1972, which is 50% of the last basic pay. Over and<br /> above the invalid pension, Petitioner also became entitled to disability<br /> element which was 30% of last basic pay on account of 100% disability<br /> certified by the IMB. However, a year later, the Petitioner was subjected<br /> to Re-survey Medical Board on 29 July 2009 in which his disability was<br /> reduced in the range of 15-19%. On account of fall in the percentage of<br /> disability from 100% to 15%-19%, the disability element has been<br /> reduced from 30% of last basic pay to 15% of last basic pay. Petitioner is<br /> accordingly aggrieved by the action of the Respondents in subjecting<br /> him to RMB and in reduction in his disability element and has<br /> accordingly filed the present petition. <br /> 2) Briefly stated, facts of the case are that the Petitioner was<br /> selected and appointed on the post of Navik-General Duty in the Indian<br /> Coast Guard, on 13 July 1992. He was thereafter promoted to the post of<br /> Uttam Navik and Pradhan Navik. Petitioner claimed that he performed<br /> rescue operations for saving lives of the people affected by Tsunami in<br /> December 2004 at the coasts of Maldives and Kerala. He claims that he<br /> <b>___________________________________________________________________________</b><br /> PAGE NO. 2 OF 18 <br /> 24 March 2026<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 27/03/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 27/03/2026 18:04:44 :::</i></b><br /><br /> Neeta Sawant WP 276 OF 2019<br /> <br /> became victim of outbreak of epidemic and fell sick in the month of<br /> March 2005 and was admitted to INHS Asvini Naval Hospital at<br /> Mumbai. He was diagnosed with Pulmonary Tuberculosis and was<br /> transferred to MH (CTC) Hospital at Pune which is specifically<br /> designated for treatment of Tuberculosis and Leprosy. He was<br /> discharged from the Hospital and resumed duties at Mumbai<br /> Headquarters in July 2005. In the year 2006, he was transferred to New<br /> Mangalore District Headquarters, where he allegedly suffered on<br /> account of extremely polluted air with presence of significant iron ore<br /> dust in the air resulting in deterioration of his health. The Pulmonary<br /> Tuberculosis of the Petitioner relapsed in July 2007 and he was again<br /> required to be admitted in MH (CTC), Hospital Pune. The Invalidation<br /> Medical Board was constituted under Regulations for the Medical<br /> Services of the Armed Forces Rules, 1983 <b>(RMSAF Rules).</b> The IMB on<br /> 29 October 2007 certified that the Petitioner was suffering from 100%<br /> disability for one year in the medical examination conducted. Some<br /> correspondence ensued between various authorities. It appears that the<br /> Commandant, New Mangalore District Headquarters had requested<br /> retention of the Petitioner in service in low medical category by letter<br /> dated 31 October 2007. The Commandant further wrote letter dated 25<br /> December 2007 not recommending Petitioner’s case for discharge from<br /> service. During the course of correspondence, opinion from MH (CTC),<br /> Hospital Pune was summoned which was submitted by the Hospital on<br /> 26 March 2008. The report recommended invalidation of the Petitioner<br /> out of service in category ‘P-5’. By order dated 7 July 2008, Petitioner<br /> was discharged from Coast Guard service on invalidation medical<br /> <b>___________________________________________________________________________</b><br /> PAGE NO. 3 OF 18 <br /> 24 March 2026<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 27/03/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 27/03/2026 18:04:44 :::</i></b><br /><br /> Neeta Sawant WP 276 OF 2019<br /> <br /> grounds under Rule 26 of the Coast Guard (General) Rules, 1986.<br /> Petitioner was paid an amount of Rs.1,02,497/- towards survival<br /> benefits under Naval Group Insurance Fund Scheme <b>(NGIF)</b> . By letter<br /> dated 22 September 2008, he was informed that his 100% disability was<br /> assessed only for one year and that the disease was capable of<br /> improvement. It was therefore conveyed to the Petitioner by letter<br /> dated 22 September 2008 that the disability benefits would be paid as<br /> per the outcome of RMB on completion of one year. Petitioner<br /> protested against letter dated 22 September 2008 and questioned as to<br /> how he could be discharged from service and reassessed again<br /> selectively for the purpose of payment of disability benefits by<br /> submitting letter dated 29 September 2008. The Petitioner started<br /> receiving 100% disability pension of Rs.1913/- corresponding to IMB<br /> certified 100% disability during the year 2008-2009 over and above the<br /> invalid pension. <br /> 3) The Petitioner was directed to remain present for RMB by<br /> letter dated 30 January 2009. On 7 July 2009, he received direction from<br /> INHS, Asvini Hospital Mumbai to remain present for RMB. Petitioner<br /> had no option but to remain present at INHS Asvini Hospital Mumbai<br /> on 29 July 2009. During the course of RMB, Petitioner’s disability was<br /> certified to be only in the range of 15-19%. By letter dated 8 June 2010,<br /> the Bureau of Navikas, Cheetah Camp, Mankhurd, Mumbai wrote to the<br /> Officer-in-Charge, Grants Civil Co-ordination (Group-VII), Office of the<br /> Principal CDA (Pension), Draupadighat, Allahabad requesting for<br /> issuance of Corrigendum Pension Pay Order (PPO) corresponding to<br /> <b>___________________________________________________________________________</b><br /> PAGE NO. 4 OF 18 <br /> 24 March 2026<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 27/03/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 27/03/2026 18:04:44 :::</i></b><br /><br /> Neeta Sawant WP 276 OF 2019<br /> <br /> 100% disability from 1 July 2008 to 30 June 2009 and 15-19% disability<br /> from 1 July 2009 till Petitioner’s lifetime. Petitioner was given copy of<br /> letter dated 8 June 2010. It appears that nothing transpired thereafter<br /> for a considerable period of time. From 2017 onwards, Petitioner<br /> started raising queries under Right to Information Act, 2005 <b>(RTI Act)</b> .<br /> In one of the responses dated 2 November 2017, he received a reply<br /> that assessment of disability by IMB is final and for life and that there<br /> can be no periodical review by the RMB for reassessment of disability as<br /> per letter dated 7 February 2001. Petitioner thereafter kept on<br /> corresponding with the Respondents and also raised several queries<br /> under the RTI Act. Not satisfied with the responses, he has petitioned<br /> the Court challenging the RMB conducted on 29 July 2009 and seeking a<br /> direction for payment of 100% disability element/pension from 1 July<br /> 2009. Petitioner has also prayed for payment of insurance amount of<br /> Rs.5,00,000/- corresponding to 100% disability.<br /> 4) Mr. Bapat, the learned Senior Advocate appearing for the<br /> Petitioner has submitted that the Respondents have erroneously<br /> subjected the Petitioner to RMB in absence of any provision to that<br /> effect. That disability certified by the original IMB is final and the same<br /> cannot be reassessed from time to time. That decision to discharge<br /> Petitioner was taken on the basis of IMB proceedings with 100%<br /> disability on account of Pulmonary Tuberculosis relapse for one year<br /> and therefore payment of disability element must also be based on the<br /> percentage of disability taken into consideration at the time of<br /> discharge. He submits that Respondents cannot take into consideration<br /> <b>___________________________________________________________________________</b><br /> PAGE NO. 5 OF 18 <br /> 24 March 2026<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 27/03/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 27/03/2026 18:04:44 :::</i></b><br /><br /> Neeta Sawant WP 276 OF 2019<br /> <br /> 100% disability certified in IMB for the purpose of discharge but the<br /> reduced disability of 15-19% certified in the RMB for the purpose of<br /> deciding the quantum of diability pension.<br /> 5) Mr. Bapat further submits that there is no delay in filing<br /> the present Petition as the Petitioner was kept in dark about reduction<br /> of disability element. That after illegal conduct of RMB, the Petitioner<br /> was never informed of any reduction effected in the disability element<br /> and the basis for such reduction. Petitioner is not a highly educated<br /> person and realised the reduction effected in disability element only by<br /> the year 2017 after which he started making correspondence. That<br /> thereafter Petitioner cannot be accused of delay and laches. That in any<br /> case, payment of disability pension is a continuous cause of action and<br /> therefore there is no question of application of principles of delay or<br /> laches. <br /> 6) Mr. Bapat further submits that the Petitioner has been<br /> erroneously paid less amount of insurance of Rs.1,02,497/-, when he is<br /> entitled to be paid insurance amount of Rs.5,00,000/- by taking into<br /> consideration 100% disability. Mr. Bapat would accordingly pray for<br /> making the Petition absolute in terms of prayers made therein.<br /> 7) Mr. Garge, the learned Counsel appearing for the<br /> Respondents opposes the Petition. He submits that the petition is<br /> barred by laches as the cause of action for filing the present petition<br /> <b>___________________________________________________________________________</b><br /> PAGE NO. 6 OF 18 <br /> 24 March 2026<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 27/03/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 27/03/2026 18:04:44 :::</i></b><br /><br /> Neeta Sawant WP 276 OF 2019<br /> <br /> arose in July 2009 and that the Petition is filed after 10 long years. That<br /> there is no explanation for delay pleaded in the Petition. <br /> 8) Mr. Garge submits that the prayer of the Petitioner is<br /> otherwise barred by the principle of estoppel. That Petitioner has<br /> voluntarily appeared for RMB and has endorsed his signature on RMB<br /> proceedings. Having never protested about conduct of RMB, Petitioner<br /> cannot now turn around and question the result of the RMB. That<br /> Petitioner has alternate remedy of filing Appeal against the findings of<br /> the Medical Board which he has failed to avail within reasonable time.<br /> 9) Mr. Garge supports the conduct of RMB contending that the<br /> Petitioner was clearly informed immediately after his discharge that<br /> RMB would be conducted as the disease is curable. He relies on para-24<br /> of Chapter-VII of GMO-MP-02 under which the Hospital is required to<br /> certify whether the disease was capable of improvement or incapable of<br /> improvement. That once certificate of ‘100% disability for one year’ is<br /> issued, the same means that the disease is capable of improvement.<br /> That if the disease is capable of improvement, RMB is required to be<br /> held at the end of one year. He submits that Armed Forces Medical<br /> Regulations are applicable to uniformed personnel of Indian Coast<br /> Guard as per letters dated 24 April 1982 and 29 March 2000. Mr. Garge<br /> would accordingly submit that RMB has been rightly conducted in the<br /> present case since Petitioner was certified with 100% disability only for<br /> period of one year since the disease was capable of being cured. <br /> <b>___________________________________________________________________________</b><br /> PAGE NO. 7 OF 18 <br /> 24 March 2026<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 27/03/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 27/03/2026 18:04:44 :::</i></b><br /><br /> Neeta Sawant WP 276 OF 2019<br /> <br /> 10) Mr. Garge submits that Petitioner is being paid all the due<br /> benefits. That Respondents have sanctioned invalid pension which is<br /> 50% of last basic pay. On the top, the Petitioner is also sanctioned<br /> disability pension/element of 15% of the last basic pay by taking into<br /> consideration his disability in the range of 15-19%. That he has also<br /> been paid the survival benefits of Rs.1,02,497/- under NGIF. He prays<br /> for dismissal of the Petition.<br /> 11) Rival contentions urged on behalf of the parties now fall<br /> for our consideration.<br /> 12) The short issue that arises for consideration in the present<br /> Petition is whether it is open for the Respondents to take into<br /> consideration disability certified at two distinct points of time for two<br /> distinct purposes? To paraphrase, whether Respondents can consider<br /> 100% disability certified in the IMB for the purpose of discharge of the<br /> Petitioner under Rule 26 of the Indian Coast Guard (General) Rules,<br /> 1986 but later consider the reduced percentage of disability certified in<br /> the RMB for the purpose of deciding the quantum of disability<br /> pension/element.<br /> 13) As observed above, Petitioner was suffering from<br /> Pulmonary Tuberculosis and was subjected to IMB in October 2007. The<br /> medical board certified the disability of Pulmonary Tuberculosis<br /> (Relapse). The percentage of disablement was certified as 100%.<br /> However, the duration of disability was certified as ‘one year’. A remark<br /> <b>___________________________________________________________________________</b><br /> PAGE NO. 8 OF 18 <br /> 24 March 2026<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 27/03/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 27/03/2026 18:04:44 :::</i></b><br /><br /> Neeta Sawant WP 276 OF 2019<br /> <br /> was made by the IMB in its Report that certification of disability was as<br /> <i>Para-24 Chapter- VII of GMO-MP-02’</i><br /> per ‘ . After the Report was<br /> submitted on 29 October 2007, the Commanding Officer of the<br /> Petitioner opposed discharge of the Petitioner and some<br /> correspondence ensued in this regard between various hierarchal<br /> levels. It appears that Report from MH (CTC), Hospital Pune was<br /> summoned, which gave report dated 26 March 2008 and which opined<br /> as under : <br /> “A case of PULMONARY TUBERCULOSIS (RELAPSE) normally improving<br /> with ATT. He has relapsed within 2 years of completion of ATT. Hence<br /> recommended to be invalidated out of service in category P-5.’<br /> 14) A separate Certificate dated April 2008 was apparently<br /> issued certifying that the disability was likely to affect performance of<br /> sedentary duties in civic life. Respondents acted on the said Report<br /> dated 26 March 2008 and a decision was taken for discharge of the<br /> Petitioner on medical invalidation. He was accordingly discharged by<br /> order dated 7 July 2008.<br /> 15) While sanctioning the insurance amount by the NGIF, the<br /> Petitioner was informed that his 100% disability was assessed for only<br /> one year and that the disability benefits would be paid as per the<br /> outcome of RMB on completion of one year. Petitioner immediately<br /> protested against conduct of RMB by letter dated 29 September 2008.<br /> Contrary to the Petitioner’s protest, he was subjected to RMB, and his<br /> disability was reduced in the range of 15-19%.<br /> <b>___________________________________________________________________________</b><br /> PAGE NO. 9 OF 18 <br /> 24 March 2026<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 27/03/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 27/03/2026 18:04:44 :::</i></b><br /><br /> Neeta Sawant WP 276 OF 2019<br /> <br /> 16) Petitioner has been sanctioned invalid pension in accordance<br /> with Rule 38 of the Central Civil Services (Extraordinary Pension)<br /> Rules, 1972 which reads thus: <br /> <b>38. Invalid pension</b><br /> (1) Invalid pension may be granted if a Government servant retires<br /> from the service on account of any bodily or mental infirmity which<br /> permanently incapacitates him for the service.<br /> (2) A Government servant applying for an invalid pension shall<br /> submit a medical certificate of incapacity from the following medical<br /> authority, namely:-<br /> (a) A Medical Board in the case of a Gazetted Government servant and<br /> of a non-gazetted Government servant whose pay, as defined in Rule<br /> 9 (21) of the Fundamental Rules, exceeds 3[Two thousand and two<br /> hundred rupees per mensem;<br /> (b) Civil Surgeon or a District Medical Officer or Medical Officer of<br /> equivalent status in other cases.<br /> NOTE 1. No medical certificate of incapacity for service may be<br /> granted unless the applicant produces a letter to show that the Head<br /> of his Office or Department is aware of the intention of the applicant<br /> to appear before the medical authority. The medical authority shall<br /> also be supplied by the Head of the Office or Department in which the<br /> applicant is employed with a statement of what appears from official<br /> records to be the age of the applicant. If a service book is being<br /> maintained for the applicant, the age recorded therein should be<br /> reported.<br /> NOTE 2. A lady doctor shall be included as a member of the Medical<br /> Board when a woman candidate is to be examined.<br /> (3) The form of the Medical Certificate to be granted by the medical<br /> authority specified in sub-rule (2) shall be as in Form 23.<br /> (4) Where the medical authority referred to in sub- rule (2) has<br /> declared a Government servant fit for further services of less laborious<br /> character than that which he had been doing he should, provided he is<br /> willing to be so employed, be employed on lower post<br /> and if there be no means of employing him even on a lower post, he<br /> may be admitted to invalid pension.<br /> <b>___________________________________________________________________________</b><br /> PAGE NO. 10 OF 18 <br /> 24 March 2026<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 27/03/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 27/03/2026 18:04:44 :::</i></b><br /><br /> Neeta Sawant WP 276 OF 2019<br /> <br /> 17) There is no dispute to the position that the invalid pension is<br /> 50% of last basic pay. In addition, Petitioner is also eligible for<br /> disability pension/element. Under the Central Civil Services<br /> (Extraordinary Pension) Rules, the disability pension/element is<br /> payable as under : <br /> <b>III. Disability Pension:</b><br /> for cases covered under Categories B and C<br /></div><table><tbody><tr><td>Sr.&lt;br&gt;No.</td><td>Details</td></tr><tr><td>(1)</td><td>Normal pension and gratuity admissible under the CCS (Pension) Rules,&lt;br&gt;1972, plus disability pension equal to 30% of basic pay, for 100%&lt;br&gt;disability</td></tr><tr><td>(2)</td><td>For lower percentage of disability, the monthly disability pension&lt;br&gt;shall be proportionately lower as at present, provided that where&lt;br&gt;permanent disability is not less than 60%, the total pension (i.e., pension or&lt;br&gt;service gratuity admissible under the ordinary pension rules plus disability&lt;br&gt;pension as indicated at (1) above) shall not be less than 60% of basic pay,&lt;br&gt;subject to a minimum of Rs. 2500</td></tr></tbody></table><div><br /> <b>The findings of the Medical Board on the extent of disability</b><br /> <b>would be treated as final and binding unless the employee</b><br /> himself seeks a review by preferring an appeal to an Authority<br /> immediately superior to the one who had constituted the Board. In<br /> case the appeal is accepted and a review Medical Board is constituted,<br /> the findings of the Board would be binding on all parties.<br /> 18) There is no dispute to the position that if the disability is<br /> in the range of 51 to 100%, the disability pension is 30% of last basic<br /> pay and if it is less than 50%, the same is @ 15% of last basic pay. <br /> 19) Since Petitioner was certified to be suffering from 100%<br /> disability, he was entitled to 100% disability element. Since disability<br /> <b>___________________________________________________________________________</b><br /> PAGE NO. 11 OF 18 <br /> 24 March 2026<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 27/03/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 27/03/2026 18:04:44 :::</i></b><br /><br /> Neeta Sawant WP 276 OF 2019<br /> <br /> was 100%, his disability pension has been sanctioned as 30% of last<br /> basic pay till RMB Report (1 July 2008 to 30 June 2009). However, on<br /> account of subsequent reduction of disability extent to 15-19%, the<br /> disability pension is reduced from 30% to 15% of last basic pay from 1<br /> July 2009 onwards. This is clear from the following averments of para-<br /> 41 of the Affidavit-in-Reply of the Respondents :<br /> 41. I say that, with reference to averments made in para (gg) of the<br /> Petition, it is submitted that on receipt of re-survey medical board for<br /> 15-19% disability for life, Petitioner&#x27;s disability pension was revised<br /> 15% of last basic pay (for 100% of disability, the disability pension will<br /> be 30% of last basic pay and may be reduced proportionately for less<br /> disability). Invalid pension sanctioned to petitioner @ 50% of last<br /> basic pay is not affected due to this re-assessment of disability.<br /> Exhibit &#x27;W&#x27; of the petition is admitted.<br /> 20) Thus, Respondents have taken into consideration 100%<br /> disability of the Petitioner certified in the IMB for the purpose of<br /> throwing him out of service on medical invalidation. However, for the<br /> purpose of determining the quantum of the disability pension,<br /> subsequently reduced disability of 15-19% in the RMB is taken into<br /> consideration. Whether this is permissible is the issue for<br /> consideration.<br /> 21) Respondents have justified conduct of RMB by referring to<br /> para-24 of Chapter VII of GMO-MP-02. Petitioner questions<br /> applicability of the said provision, which, according to him, is<br /> applicable for members of Armed Forces and that the same do not apply<br /> to Coast Guard Personnel. On the other hand, Respondents have relied<br /> upon letters dated 29 April 1982 and 29 March 2000 in support of their<br /> <b>___________________________________________________________________________</b><br /> PAGE NO. 12 OF 18 <br /> 24 March 2026<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 27/03/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 27/03/2026 18:04:44 :::</i></b><br /><br /> Neeta Sawant WP 276 OF 2019<br /> <br /> contention that Armed Forces Medical Regulations have been made<br /> applicable for Coast Guard uniformed personnel. In my view, it is not<br /> necessary to delve deeper into this controversy. Even if it is assumed<br /> arguendo that RMB can be conducted in respect of the coast guard<br /> uniformed personnel suffering from Pulmonary Tuberculosis, the issue<br /> is whether RMB can be conducted in respect of Coast Guard personnel<br /> who is already discharged from service. Respondents have not<br /> produced copy of para-24 of Chapter-VII of GMO-MP-02. However, the<br /> same is reproduced in the Note of arguments. Though not very<br /> relevant, we consider it necessary to reproduce relevant part of para-24<br /> Chapter-VII of GMO-MP-02, which reads thus:<br /> 24. The degree of disablement on invalidment from a service hospital<br /> will be regarded as 100 per cent for one year in cases which are<br /> &quot;capable of improvement&quot; and as 100 per cent for two years in cases<br /> which are regarded as &quot;incapable of improvement&quot;. Thereafter, the<br /> assessment will be made as follows:<br /> (a) Capable of improvement: In this condition, assessment depends<br /> upon whether disability is quiescent, arrested or cured/recovered, as<br /> defined in para 81 of chapter VI. A quiescent case, will be assessed at<br /> 50-100 per cent for two years; an arrested case at 20-50 per cent for<br /> three years; and a cured/recovered case at less than 20% final.<br /> (b) Incapable of improvement: If the reassessment Medical Board<br /> confirm the initial findings that the disability is incapable of<br /> improvement a life award for 100 per cent disablement will be<br /> granted. If, on the other hand, the Reassessment Medical Board finds<br /> that there has been an improvement they will classify the disability as<br /> capable of improvement, and the degree of disablement will be<br /> assessed as in (a) above. Disablement for cases after surgical<br /> treatment will depend upon functional incapacity suffered due to the<br /> disease and the effects of surgical treatment. An individual with a<br /> quiescent or arrested lesion may be employed, but the assessment will<br /> not be reduced because the individual is capable of earning his<br /> livelihood.<br /> <b>___________________________________________________________________________</b><br /> PAGE NO. 13 OF 18 <br /> 24 March 2026<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 27/03/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 27/03/2026 18:04:44 :::</i></b><br /><br /> Neeta Sawant WP 276 OF 2019<br /> <br /> 22) Thus, under para-24 Chapter-VII of GMO-MP-02, the IMB<br /> is required to certify whether the patient is to be regarded as disable<br /> ‘100% for one year’ (capable of improvement) or as ‘100% for 2 years’<br /> (incapable of improvement). In the present case, Petitioner has been<br /> certified100% disabled for one year by the IMB meaning thereby that he<br /> was capable of improvement. If that was the case, Respondents ought<br /> to have waited for one year and then subjected the Petitioner for RMB.<br /> Instead of doing so, they hurriedly discharged the Petitioner from<br /> service by relying on IMB Report which had certified that the Petitioner<br /> was capable of improvement. The IMB Report also refers to para-24 of<br /> Chapter-VII GMO-MP-02. Instead of relying on the IMB Report, it<br /> appears that the Respondents took into consideration one more report<br /> of MH (CTC), Hospital Pune dated 26 March 2008 which recommended<br /> Petitioner’s invalidation out of service. It appears that Respondents<br /> were not sure about the course of action to be adopted on the basis of<br /> disability certified in the IMB Report. Petitioner’s own Commanding<br /> Officer was not in favour of Petitioner’s discharge from service and<br /> repeatedly requested for his retention in low medical category.<br /> Respondents ought to have waited for one year and ought to have<br /> subjected the Petitioner to RMB to find out whether there was any<br /> improvement in his condition. If this was done and Petitioner’s<br /> disability would have been reduced to 15-19% after one year and then<br /> could have been retained in service. Respondents however adopted a<br /> procedure unknown to law by seeking a Report from MH (CTC)<br /> Hospital, Pune on 26 March 2008 which recommended Petitioner’s<br /> medical invalidation out of service and proceeded to pass order of<br /> <b>___________________________________________________________________________</b><br /> PAGE NO. 14 OF 18 <br /> 24 March 2026<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 27/03/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 27/03/2026 18:04:44 :::</i></b><br /><br /> Neeta Sawant WP 276 OF 2019<br /> <br /> discharge and discharged him on 7 July 2008 even before completion of<br /> period of one year and without subjecting him to RMB.<br /> 23) Thus, even if conduct of RMB is held to be permissible,<br /> issue is whether Respondents were justified in not waiting for a period<br /> of one year and not subjecting the Petitioner to RMB before taking a<br /> decision for discharge from service. We need not again delve deeper<br /> into this aspect as Petitioner did not question his discharge from<br /> service and had possibly no option but to accept the same. However,<br /> what is subsequently done by the Respondents is clearly inappropriate<br /> and arbitrary. There was no necessity of submitting Petitioner to RMB<br /> after he was discharged from service. Respondents unnecessarily<br /> conducted Petitioner’s RMB and have used the reduced disability to 15-<br /> 19% as reflected in the RMB for the purpose of reduction of disability<br /> pension from 30% to 15%. This action on the part of the Respondents<br /> is clearly arbitrary, unsustainable and liable to set aside.<br /> 24) In our view, Respondents cannot rely on disability reflected in<br /> IMB (100%) for throwing the Petitioner out of service but thereafter<br /> rely on reduced disability (15-19%) reflected in RMB for the purpose of<br /> deciding his disability pension. This difference in standard applied by<br /> the Respondents is clearly objectionable. We deprecate the same. In<br /> our view therefore, the action of the Respondents in reducing the<br /> pension of the Petitioner on disability certified in the RMB is clearly<br /> illegal and liable to be set aside.<br /> <b>___________________________________________________________________________</b><br /> PAGE NO. 15 OF 18 <br /> 24 March 2026<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 27/03/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 27/03/2026 18:04:44 :::</i></b><br /><br /> Neeta Sawant WP 276 OF 2019<br /> <br /> 25) The Petitioner shall accordingly be entitled to 30%<br /> disability pension i.e. 30% of his last drawn basic pay from the date of<br /> his discharge. <br /> 26) The Petitioner has filed the present Petition with<br /> substantial delay. His disability pension was reduced from 30% to 15%<br /> of last drawn basic pay sometime in the year 2009. After initial protests,<br /> Petitioner started correspondence in this regard only in 2017 and has<br /> thereafter filed the present Petition in the year 2019. We are not<br /> inclined to dismiss the Petition only on the ground of delay since<br /> payment of reduced quantum of disability pension is a continuous<br /> cause of action. We have entertained the petition on merits considering<br /> the position that payment of less amount of disability pension is a<br /> continuous cause of action, which arises every month when Petitioner<br /> is paid lesser amount of disability pension. In that view of the matter,<br /> the ratio of the judgment of the Apex Court in <b><i>M.R. Gupta Versus.</i></b><br /> <i>1</i><br /> <b><i>Union of India</i></b> would apply to the present case. However, in <b><i>M.R.</i></b><br /> <b><i>Gupta Versus. Union of India</i></b> , the Apex Court has held that limitation<br /> would apply to the relief of recovery of arrears. The principle is<br /> reiterated by the Apex Court in the subsequent judgment in <b><i>Union of</i></b><br /> <i>2</i><br /> <b><i> </i></b> <b><i>India Versus. Tarsem Singh </i></b> <b><i> </i></b> <b><i> </i></b> <b> </b> in which it has been held that though<br /> there is exception to the normal rule of limitation in cases involving<br /> continuous cause of action, there is an exception to that exception<br /> where the arrears need to be restricted to period of 3 years before filing<br /> <b><i>3</i></b><br /> of the proceedings. In <b> </b> <b><i> </i></b> <b><i>Shiv Dass Versus Union Of India,</i></b> <b><i> </i></b> <b><i> </i></b> <b> </b> the Apex<br /> 1 1995 5 SCC 628 <br /> 2 2008 8 SCC 648<br /> 3 2007 9 SCC 274<br /> <b>___________________________________________________________________________</b><br /> PAGE NO. 16 OF 18 <br /> 24 March 2026<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 27/03/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 27/03/2026 18:04:44 :::</i></b><br /><br /> Neeta Sawant WP 276 OF 2019<br /> <br /> Court has held that if a petition is filed beyond reasonable period i.e. 3<br /> years, the Court would either reject the same or restrict the relief which<br /> could be granted in respect of reasonable period of 3 years. In our view<br /> therefore though Petitioner’s entitlement for receipt of higher amount<br /> of disability pension is upheld, the arrears are required to be restricted<br /> to the period of 3 years prior to filing of the petition.<br /> 27) So far as Petitioner’s claim for insurance of Rs.5,00,000/- is<br /> concerned, it appears that the Respondents have paid to the Petitioner<br /> amount of Rs.1,02,497/- towards NGIF. It appears that the said amount<br /> is paid by taking into consideration disability in the range of 15-19% as<br /> reflected in the RMB. Therefore, the Respondents are required to<br /> redetermine the amount payable to the Petitioner under NGIF Scheme<br /> corresponding to 100% disability as reflected in the initial IMB Report.<br /> 28) The Petition accordingly succeeds, and we proceed to pass the<br /> following order :<br /> (i) The action of the Respondents in reducing and paying<br /> disability pension by taking into consideration the<br /> extent of disability in the RMB conducted in June 2009 is<br /> held to be illegal and the same is set aside.<br /> (ii) Respondents are directed to refix the disability pension<br /> of the Petitioner by taking into consideration 100%<br /> disability reflected in the Report of the initial IMB. <br /> <b>___________________________________________________________________________</b><br /> PAGE NO. 17 OF 18 <br /> 24 March 2026<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 27/03/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 27/03/2026 18:04:44 :::</i></b><br /><br /> Neeta Sawant WP 276 OF 2019<br /> <br /> (iii) However, Petitioner shall be entitled to arrears arising<br /> out of difference in the amount of disability pension only<br /> for a period of 3 years prior to the date of filing of the<br /> petition.<br /> (iv) Respondents shall also pay to the Petitioners difference<br /> in the amount of insurance in NGIF, if any, by taking into<br /> consideration 100% disability reflected in the IMB<br /> Report.<br /> (v) All amounts arising out of the judgment shall be paid<br /> over by the Respondents to the Petitioner within a<br /> period of 8 weeks.<br /> 29) With the above directions, the Petition is <b>partly allowed</b> . Rule is<br /> made partly absolute. There shall be no order as to costs. <br /> <br /> <br /> <b>[SANDEEP V. MARNE, J.]</b> <b>[S.M. MODAK, J.]</b><br /> Digitally<br /> signed by<br /> NEETA<br /> SHAILESH<br /> SAWANT<br /> Date:<br /> 2026.03.27<br /> 17:46:36<br /> +0530<br /> NEETA<br /> SHAILESH<br /> SAWANT<br /> <b>___________________________________________________________________________</b><br /> PAGE NO. 18 OF 18 <br /> 24 March 2026<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 27/03/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 27/03/2026 18:04:44 :::</i></b></div>