The Hdfc Ergo General Insurance Company Limited vs Master Siddanth Sanjay Jamsandekar And Anr

Court
Bombay High Court
Case type
FAST
Decided on
07-04-2026
<div> <b>2026:BHC-AS:16882</b><br /> 1 of 9 910.FA(ST).34194.2016.DOC<br /> IN THE HIGH COURT OF JUDICATURE AT BOMBAY<br /> <br /> CIVIL APPELLATE JURISDICTION<br /> FIRST APPEAL (STAMP) NO.34194 OF 2016<br /> The HDFC ERGO Gen. Ins. Co.Limited Appellant<br /> versus<br /> 1. Mast.Siddanth Sanjay Jamsandekar,<br /> Age 12 years, Mr.Sanjay M.Jamsandekar,<br /> next friend discharged as er order dtd.22-12-2015<br /> R/o.Jamseth Tadiwala Chawl, R.No.3,<br /> Curry Road, Mumbai-400 012.<br /> 2. Kalpnath Hariharanyan Mishra,<br /> Owner of Taxi No.MH-01-X-4050<br /> Municipal Chawl, Hut No.5775, Sewree,<br /> Mumbai-400 015. Respondents<br /> _______<br /> Mr.Abhijit P.Kulkarni with Ms.Sweta Shah for Appellant.<br /> Ms.Varsha Chavan for Respondent no.1.<br /> _______<br /> CORAM: AARTI SATHE , J.<br /> th<br /> DATE: 7 April 2026<br /> ORAL JUDGMENT :-<br /> th<br /> 1. This appeal challenges the judgment and award dated 12 April 2016<br /> (hereinafter referred to as the “impugned judgment and award”) passed by the<br /> Motor Accident Claims Tribunal, Mumbai (hereinafter referred to as “MACT”)<br /> whereby the Respondent No.1 Claimant has been awarded an amount of Rs.<br /> 76,611/- including No-Fault Liability (NFL) amount if any along with interest at<br /> 9% per annum from the date of filing of MACT application till its realization.<br /> 2. Brief facts of the case are as follows: -<br /> th<br /> i. On 30 December 2009, at about 07:10 a.m., Respondent No.1<br /> Claimant who was then a child of 12 years, was walking by the side of Dr. B.A.<br /> Road, Mumbai, when a speeding motor taxi bearing MH-01-X-4050 (hereinafter<br /> referred to as “offending vehicle”) knocked him down. Respondent No.1 Claimant<br /> sustained injuries, and it is the contention of Respondent No.1 Claimant, that the<br /> M.S.Thatte<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 09/04/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 09/04/2026 15:19:43 :::</i></b><br /><br /> 2 of 9 910.FA(ST).34194.2016.DOC<br /> accident occurred due to the rashness and negligence of the driver of the offending<br /> <br /> vehicle. The offending vehicle is owned by Respondent No.2, one Mr. Kalpanath<br /> Hariharanayan Mishra. <br /> ii. The Respondent No.1 Claimant was required to spend considerable<br /> amount for treatment, and it is his contention that he lost one academic year<br /> because of the injuries sustained by him in the accident. It is also his contention<br /> that the disability sustained by him due to the injuries caused by the accident,<br /> affected the prospects of his future earnings. An FIR bearing no. 332 of 2009, was<br /> filed before the Bhoiwada Police Station on the basis of complaint made by<br /> Respondent No.1, Claimant’s Father, who was not a witness to the accident.<br /> Consequently, Respondent No.1 Claimant filed an application bearing no. 547 of<br /> 2010 before the MACT claiming compensation amount towards the injuries faced<br /> by the Respondent No.1 Claimant on account of the accident. <br /> iii. The impugned judgment and award were passed in the aforesaid<br /> application in favour of Respondent No.1 Claimant, awarding a sum of Rs.<br /> 76,611/- including NFL, if any, along with interest at 9% per annum from the date<br /> of filing of the application before the MACT till its realization. By the impugned<br /> judgment and award, the Appellant Company and Respondent No.2 were jointly<br /> and severally made liable to make the payment of the aforesaid amount.<br /> 3. It is in the backdrop of the above facts that I proceed to decide the present<br /> appeal.<br /> 4. Learned Counsel Mr. Abhijit Kulkarni along with Ms. Sweta Singh appeared<br /> on behalf of the Appellant Company. Learned counsel Ms. Varsha Chavan<br /> appeared on behalf of the Respondent No. 1 Claimant.<br /> 5. Heard learned counsel on behalf of the parties. Learned counsel appearing<br /> on behalf of the Appellant Company submitted that the impugned judgment and<br /> award have been passed without appreciating the facts and the quantum of<br /> compensation which has been awarded by way of the aforesaid impugned<br /> judgment and award is excessive and arbitrary. The submissions made by learned<br /> counsel for the Appellant Company are summarized as follows: <br /> i) It was contended that the impugned judgment, and award has<br /> M.S.Thatte<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 09/04/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 09/04/2026 15:19:43 :::</i></b><br /><br /> 3 of 9 910.FA(ST).34194.2016.DOC<br /> erroneously held that the Respondent No.1 Claimant was entitled to Rs. 76,611/-<br /> <br /> along with interest at the rate of 9% per annum without appreciating the fact that<br /> the insurance policy itself was fake and bogus and that the Appellant Company had<br /> led evidence to prove the same. <br /> ii) It was further contended that the MACT had erred in rejecting the<br /> computer printouts of the premium register which was submitted before MACT to<br /> show that the policy was not issued by the Appellant Company, on the ground that<br /> the same was not proved by Section 65B of the Indian Evidence Act. It was also<br /> submitted that the format of the policy which the Respondent No.1 Claimant had<br /> tendered and that which has been issued by the Appellant Company were not the<br /> same and to that effect the employee of the Appellant Company, one Mr. Sachin<br /> had deposed that the said policy was fake and bogus. It was submitted that the said<br /> Mr. Sachin categorically pointed out the format policy and explained how the<br /> policy as issued by the Appellant Company was different from the one submitted<br /> by Respondent No.-Claimant. <br /> iii) It was further submitted that the technical aspect of the issuance of<br /> the policy i.e. the format in which it has to be issued and the number of the policy<br /> was not considered by the MACT and this by itself was an error which was<br /> committed by the MACT while passing the impugned order. Further, the MACT<br /> st<br /> did not take into consideration that a police complaint was filed on 01 August<br /> 2014, specifically complaining about the forgery of the said insurance policy. In<br /> view thereof, learned Counsel on behalf of the Appellant Company, submitted that<br /> the MACT had erred in holding that the Respondent No.1 Claimant was entitled<br /> to compensation of Rs. 40,000/- for pain and suffering and further Rs. 5000/- for<br /> special diet and conveyance only on the oral testimony and witnesses without there<br /> being any document produced before the MACT.<br /> iv) The owner of offending vehicle i.e. Respondent No.2 did not come<br /> forward to defend the claim and hence the Learned Counsel on behalf of the<br /> Appellant Company submitted that they were not liable to pay compensation as<br /> the policy relied upon by the Respondent No.1 Claimant was bogus and fake. In<br /> view of the aforesaid submissions, the Learned Counsel on behalf of the Appellant<br /> M.S.Thatte<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 09/04/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 09/04/2026 15:19:43 :::</i></b><br /><br /> 4 of 9 910.FA(ST).34194.2016.DOC<br /> Company submitted that the impugned judgment and award be set aside and the<br /> <br /> appeal be allowed. It is pertinent to note that, at the time of proceedings before the<br /> MACT, the Respondent No.2, who was the owner of the offending vehicle did not<br /> appear, and the impugned judgment and award was passed ex-parte vis-à-vis him. <br /> 6. Per contra , learned counsel on behalf of the Respondent No.1 Claimant<br /> submitted that the impugned judgment and award passed by the MACT is a well-<br /> reasoned award and did not suffer from infirmity, and therefore needed to be<br /> upheld. It was the submission of Learned Counsel for Respondent No.1 Claimant<br /> that the claim amount of Rs. 76,611/- given by the MACT was correct and<br /> justifiable in the facts of the present case. She has further submitted that no FIR<br /> was filed against the person who has used the fake policy. It was also her<br /> submission that the Appellant Company had not filed a certificate under Section<br /> 65B of the Indian Evidence Act in respect of the printouts which the Appellant<br /> st<br /> Company seeks to rely upon in respect of the policy for the period 01 April 2009<br /> th<br /> to 30 August 2009. Since, these printouts which were tendered were electronic<br /> evidence, the same has to be properly proved and certified under Section 65B of<br /> the Indian Evidence Act, and the same was not done by the Appellant Company.<br /> She has sought to place reliance on the decision of the Supreme Court in the case<br /> 1<br /> of Arjun Panditrao Khotkar Vs. Kailash K Gorantyal to support her aforesaid<br /> contention. In view of the aforesaid submissions, the Learned Counsel on behalf of<br /> the Respondent No.1 Claimant, submitted that the MACT had rightly appreciated<br /> the facts and evidence on record, and awarded the correct compensation to the<br /> Respondent No.1 Claimant.<br /> 7. I have gone through the records, impugned judgment and award and also<br /> considered the submissions made by the learned counsel for Appellant Company<br /> and Respondent No.1, and I am of the view that the impugned judgment and<br /> award is a well-reasoned judgment passed by the MACT. I come to the said<br /> conclusion/decision on the basis of the following reasons: -<br /> i) The MACT, has in the impugned judgment and award recorded that<br /> the accident occurred due to the rashness and negligence of the driver of the<br /> <b>1</b> AIR OnLine-2020-SC-641<br /> M.S.Thatte<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 09/04/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 09/04/2026 15:19:43 :::</i></b><br /><br /> 5 of 9 910.FA(ST).34194.2016.DOC<br /> offending vehicle bearing no. MH-01-X-4050 and this finding has been recorded<br /> <br /> on the basis of the deposition of the Respondent No.1 Claimant, who was a major<br /> when the MACT passed the impugned judgment and award. On the basis of the<br /> deposition made by the Respondent No.1 Claimant, the MACT rightly came to the<br /> conclusion that the offending vehicle came from behind where the Respondent<br /> No.1 Claimant was walking on the road which had no pavement and the driver of<br /> the offending vehicle did not take care to swerve on the right side and keep safe<br /> distance from the Respondent No.1 Claimant an drive safely. <br /> ii) The MACT also held that at the time of accident, the Respondent<br /> No.1 Claimant was only 12 years of age, and no negligence could be attributed to<br /> him. Further, there was no evidence which was brought on record before the<br /> MACT to show that the Respondent No.1 Claimant was in anyway responsible for<br /> the accident and the MACT rightly came to the finding that the accident was<br /> caused by the offending vehicle and not on account of negligence of Respondent<br /> No.1 Claimant. <br /> iii) The MACT also on the basis of appreciation of evidence led before it<br /> rightly came to the conclusion that the Appellant Company had not adduced any<br /> evidence to establish that the driver of the offending vehicle was not holding any<br /> valid and effective driving license at the time of the accident. In view thereof, the<br /> finding of accident being caused by the rash driving of the driver of the offending<br /> vehicle could not be effectively displaced by the Appellant Company before the<br /> MACT. <br /> iv) Insofar as the compensation of Rs. 76,611/- awarded to the<br /> Respondent No.1 Claimant is concerned, the MACT on the basis of appreciation of<br /> the discharge summary of the hospital papers, held that the said paper showed that<br /> the Respondent No.1 Claimant had suffered polytrauma. The Respondent No.1<br /> Claimant was treated at Corporation hospital and was required to purchase<br /> medicines and had tendered receipts regarding payment of hospitalization charges<br /> and tendered receipts regarding purchase of medicine. The total amount<br /> mentioned in the receipts was to the tune of Rs. 6,611/- and therefore the MACT<br /> on the aforesaid receipts awarded the aforesaid compensation towards treatment<br /> M.S.Thatte<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 09/04/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 09/04/2026 15:19:43 :::</i></b><br /><br /> 6 of 9 910.FA(ST).34194.2016.DOC<br /> expenses. <br /> <br /> v) Further, the MACT also awarded a compensation of Rs. 5000/-<br /> towards special diet and Rs. 5000/- for expenses on conveyance to go to the<br /> Hospital, on the ground that the Respondent No.1 Claimant had suffered injuries<br /> to his internal organs, fracture injury and injury to ear. It was on the basis of these<br /> injuries that the MACT came to a conclusion that the Respondent No.1 Claimant<br /> would have spent money for taking nourishing diet and also for conveyance for<br /> attending hospital during OPD treatment on multiple occasions. This finding of<br /> the MACT, to my mind is a correct finding and based on a proper appreciation of<br /> facts and cannot be faulted with. Considering that the Respondent No.1 Claimant,<br /> was a minor at the time of the accident and had suffered injuries and trauma, the<br /> MACT rightly awarded the aforesaid expenses towards special diet and conveyance<br /> to visit the hospital to treat the injuries suffered. <br /> 8. The Supreme Court in Chaus Taushif Alimiya etc. vs. Memon Mahmmad<br /> 2<br /> Umar Anwarbhai and Ors. has awarded expenses towards special diet,<br /> transportation, pain and suffering considering the medical condition of the<br /> Appellants. The relevant paragraphs of the judgment are reproduced below: - <br /> 23. Both the appellants, considering their medical conditions, would be requiring<br /> special diet supplements which may be assessed at Rs. 1,00,000/- each. In this<br /> connection, reference may be made to the judgment of this Court dated 18.10.2022<br /> passed in Civil Appeal No.7605 of 2022 between Divya vs. The National Insurance<br /> Co. Ltd. &amp; Anr.<br /> 24. The compensation, thus, due and admissible to the appellants as discussed above<br /> may be summarized hereunder:<br /> Appellant-Alimiya:<br /></div><table><thead><tr><th>Sr.&lt;br&gt;No</th><th>Heads</th><th>Amount</th></tr></thead><tbody><tr><td>1.</td><td>Future Medical Expenses&lt;br&gt;(including physiotherapy)</td><td>Rs.9,72,000/-&lt;br&gt;(-Rs.3,00,000/)&lt;br&gt;=Rs.6,72,000/-</td></tr><tr><td>2.</td><td>Transportation charges</td><td>Rs.50,000/-&lt;br&gt;(-10,000/-)&lt;br&gt;= Rs. 40,000/-</td></tr><tr><td>3.</td><td>Pain and suffering</td><td>Rs.5,00,000/-&lt;br&gt;(-Rs.1,25,000/)&lt;br&gt;=Rs.3,75,000/-</td></tr></tbody></table><div><br /> <b>2</b> (2023) 17 SCC 771<br /> M.S.Thatte<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 09/04/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 09/04/2026 15:19:43 :::</i></b><br /><br /> 7 of 9 910.FA(ST).34194.2016.DOC<br /></div><table><thead><tr><th>4.</th><th>Loss of marriage prospects</th><th>Rs. 3,00,000/-</th></tr></thead><tbody><tr><td>5.</td><td>Attendant charges</td><td>Rs.10,80,000/-</td></tr><tr><td>6.</td><td>Special diet and nourishment&lt;br&gt;charges</td><td>Rs. 1,00,000/-</td></tr></tbody></table><table><thead><tr><th>Sr.&lt;br&gt;N&lt;br&gt;o</th><th>Heads</th><th>Amount</th></tr></thead><tbody><tr><td>1.</td><td>Future Medical Expenses</td><td>Rs. 50,000/-</td></tr><tr><td>2.</td><td>Transportation charges</td><td>Rs.25,000/-&lt;br&gt;(Rs.10,000/)&lt;br&gt;Rs. 15,000/-</td></tr><tr><td>3.</td><td>Pain and suffering</td><td>Rs.2,50,00/-&lt;br&gt;(-Rs.75,000/-)&lt;br&gt;=Rs.1,75,000/-</td></tr><tr><td>4.</td><td>Loss of marriage prospects</td><td>Rs. 1,50,000/-</td></tr><tr><td>5.</td><td>Attendant charges</td><td>Rs.10,80,000/-</td></tr><tr><td>6.</td><td>Special diet and nourishment charges</td><td>Rs. 1,00,000/-</td></tr></tbody></table><div><br /> 9. Further, the MACT has rightly awarded a compensation of Rs. 40000/-<br /> towards pain and suffering and Rs. 20000/- towards temporary loss of amenities of<br /> life, considering that the Respondent No.1 Claimant had suffered polytrauma and<br /> had also suffered injuries to his internal organs and fractures which had caused him<br /> severe pain. This Court also cannot ignore the fact that at the time when the<br /> accident had taken place, the Respondent No.1 Claimant was of a tender age of 12<br /> years and hence these injuries would have had a serious impact on the physical and<br /> the mental well-being of the Respondent No.1 Claimant at that time. I do not see<br /> any error on the part of the MACT to compensate the Respondent No.1 Claimant<br /> for the pain and suffering he had gone through as a result of the aforesaid accident<br /> and I am also of the view that the same is not an exorbitant compensation which<br /> the MACT has sought to award to the Respondent No.1 Claimant. <br /> 10. Insofar as the contention of the Appellant Company, that the Appellant<br /> Company was not liable to pay the compensation as the policy relied upon by the<br /> Respondent No.1 Claimant was a bogus and fake policy, the MACT has rightly<br /> rejected this contention of the Appellant Company by holding that the policy<br /> which the Appellant Company was seeking to rely upon was a policy of the year<br /> M.S.Thatte<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 09/04/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 09/04/2026 15:19:43 :::</i></b><br /><br /> 8 of 9 910.FA(ST).34194.2016.DOC<br /> 2014-2015 and the policy tendered by the Respondent No.1 Claimant was of<br /> <br /> 2010-2011. The rather flimsy argument/contention raised by the Appellant<br /> Company before the MACT and even before this Court that, the format of the<br /> policy which was tendered by the Respondent No.1 Claimant and that which was<br /> given by the employee of the Appellant Company is different does not impress this<br /> Court and does not go to prove that the policy was a bogus or fake policy. This<br /> particularly in view of the fact that the policies were for different periods and hence<br /> this argument deserves to be rejected at this very threshold. I am also inclined to<br /> accept the submission made on behalf of the Respondent No.1 Claimant and as<br /> rightly held by the MACT, that the printouts of the premium register for the<br /> st th<br /> period 01 April 2009 to 30 August 2009, which the Appellant Company sought<br /> to rely upon to show that the policy was not issued by them were primarily<br /> electronic evidence not supported by the relevant certificate as mandated under<br /> Section 65B of the Indian Evidence Act. <br /> 11. In view of the aforesaid, once the relevant certificate for the electronic<br /> evidence as mandated under Section 65B of the Indian Evidence Act were not<br /> submitted, the same could not be admissible evidence to support the contention of<br /> the Appellant that the policy was not issued by the Appellant. This view now<br /> stands settled in the Supreme Court decision in Arjun Panditrao Khotkar (supra)<br /> where it has been held that a certificate under Section 65B(4) of the Indian<br /> Evidence Act is a condition precedent to the admissibility of evidence by way of<br /> electronic record and secondary evidence is admissible only if led in the manner<br /> stated and not otherwise. The relevant paragraph of Arjun Panditrao Khotkar<br /> (supra) is reproduced below: <br /> “61. We may reiterate, therefore, that the certificate required under Section 65-B(4)<br /> is a condition precedent to the admissibility of evidence by way of electronic record,<br /> as correctly held in Anvar P.V., and incorrectly &quot;clarified&quot; in Shafhi Mohammad.<br /> Oral evidence in the place of such certificate cannot possibly suffice as Section 65-<br /> B(4) is a mandatory requirement of the law. Indeed, the hallowed principle in<br /> Taylor v. Taylor, which has been followed in a number of the judgments of this<br /> Court, can also be applied. Section 65-B(4) of the Evidence Act clearly states that<br /> secondary evidence is admissible only if led in the manner stated and not otherwise.<br /> To hold otherwise would render Section 65-B(4) otiose.”<br /> M.S.Thatte<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 09/04/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 09/04/2026 15:19:43 :::</i></b><br /><br /> 9 of 9 910.FA(ST).34194.2016.DOC<br /> 12. Further, I am in agreement with the view taken by the MACT, that if the<br /> <br /> insurer had not lodged an FIR against the person who has used fake policy, it<br /> cannot escape the lability to pay compensation. Even otherwise, the MACT on the<br /> basis of the policy submitted by the Respondent No.1 Claimant has categorically<br /> held that the said policy certificate bears all the details required to make the<br /> Appellant Company liable to pay compensation to the Respondent No.1 Claimant.<br /> The said policy certificate bears the registration number of the offending vehicle,<br /> make of the vehicle, engine number, chassis number, year of manufacturing,<br /> declared value, capacity, premium, total amount of premium and bifurcation of the<br /> premium, etc. There is nothing on record which has been adduced by the<br /> Appellant Company to disprove the above details and to show that the offending<br /> vehicle was not insured with the Appellant Company.<br /> 13. I am also of the view that the interest rate of 9% per annum has been rightly<br /> awarded by the MACT by relying on the bank rates prevalent for interests which<br /> are awarded on fixed deposits. In view thereof, the interest rate is correct. Also<br /> considering that the Appellant Company is a large insurance company, the rate of<br /> 9% is justified. <br /> 14. In view thereof, the Appeal filed by the Appellant Company is dismissed.<br /> Respondent No.1 Claimant is at liberty to withdraw the amount awarded by way of<br /> the impugned judgment and award along with interest deposited by the Appellant<br /> Company with the MACT as well as with this Court, along with accrued interest<br /> from the date of application till date of realization. Further, if the amount is not<br /> deposited in the MACT or this Court, then the Appellant Company shall pay the<br /> amount within a period of three weeks from the date of uploading of this order, as<br /> awarded by the impugned judgment and award along with interest at the rate of<br /> 9% per annum from the date of application till the date of realization.<br /> 15. Appeal dismissed. No costs. <br /> ( AARTI SATHE , J.)<br /> M.S.Thatte<br /> <b><i>::: Uploaded on - 09/04/2026</i></b> <b><i>::: Downloaded on - 09/04/2026 15:19:43 :::</i></b></div>